Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
12.49495345
Write A Review
February 5, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

AC4H or should I say AC$H posted a chocolate palomino filly in the salesbarn saying she was going to slaughter. She was beautiful and my heart went out to her. I applied to adopt her paying a 25.00 fee. I was never contacted despite numerous emails and phone calls to Christy Sheidy.

They fundraised 600.00 for her on Facebook, but I was more than happy to pay all the money and then pay to have her shipped to me. They took money from people saying she was going to die if she wasn't bailed out of the feedlot. I kept saying I wanted her. None of my references were ever contacted on my application.

Then it said "Safe, has a home". I was like OK, she has a home, she is safe. Figured maybe they wanted to keep her local or whatever (I am about 800 miles away).

3 weeks later the same filly, just a different photo angle, was posted on Facebook saying she was in the feedlot and now needed 900.00 to get out! I called them on it challenging them to produce the name of the person who adopted Filly number 1, they ignored me and then several people blocked me from their profiles so I couldn't see what they were saying about her. The filly was bailed again. Again it said "Safe- approved home".

To this day no one will say where the filly is. I feel that the scam Christy is pulling is photographing horses in a feedlot and saying "The truck is coming, the truck is coming, SAAAVVEE THEM!!!" and collecting money to bail them out. In the meantime the horse has long been sent to slaughter and she is collecting money to "bail" out a photo of a dead horse.

There have been numerous occasions where she bails two or three times a particular horse. Its documented on Facebook repeatedly.

I am sure she bails enough out to get a few people horses, apparently some people got their horses. But there is too much shady dealings and you are better off putting your trust in a local group.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My tears.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down, put Christy Sheidy in prison for fraud.

February 5, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

All of you naive people, AC4$ is NOT rescuing horses. Where do you think the 20-30 horses a week they claim to save are going? No legit rescue in the country adopts more than a few horses a week max! Minis and small ponies DO NOT go to slaughter. Wake up. AC4$ has deleted video of severely laminitic and lame horses she offered for sale, FOR SALE, people. With rare exception these horses disappear into thin air once money is raised. Many people have been scammed and never received their horse.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my previous 15 years of work i n the field of horse rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have them all arrested for fraud.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

What is unique about this organization?

They hide behind their nonprofit status and perform in exact contradiction to their stated mission.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As a recent adoptee- it is very stessful not knowing if you have enough $ raised to help you recieve the horse you want in time-or if someone else is also trying to buy the same horse-Christy was always quick to answer any questions I had and to help with the paperwork as I had never did this before- Please don't bash her -Her whole family has taken on a alot of work each week to help these animals find good homes and I am very grateful that I have my new horse Dallas- that would of gone to slaughter instead of greeting me every morning popping his head out of his stall waiting for his breakfast!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Christy was always quick to answer any questions I had and to help with the paperwork as I had never did this before

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to update the broker page every day

February 5, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

This is a rep. from the rescue who claims to have superlative knowledge yet lives a state away and whose only experience has been acquiring "a horse" from this rescue yet poses as an expert representative for the rescue. By what stretch of the imagination can her expertise be judged when she does not reside at the rescue, she has no intricate knowledge, she is not there daily and is not privy to the inner sanctum of the organization. So what should we base her expertise on? Is it solely based on phone calls from the rescue org. to her being spoon fed information from the organization to her that her expertise is to be judged upon?

This rep. is now soliciting for people that have had "good" experiences to write reviews and is using the ploy that anyone that has written a negative review (or perhaps an HONEST review) has been done because of another person. What makes this rep. from this rescue assume that people that have had experiences with this rescue, good OR bad; can't represent themselves and needs prodding from another? This rep. must have fairy dust and stars in her head if she REALLY believes that everyone that has an experience with THIS rescue has had a joyful and happy experience! From the facebook group page of this rescue written by the rep (full names removed);
Lisa D.
Need to get the word out, Sally "PiP" S. the animal hoarder and others are sending people to guidestar to file fraudulent reviews. Please to to Guidestar and post YOUR positive experience. Many Thanks!

Take a good look at those words because it is an example of the manipulation this rescue commonly uses. "Sending people to guidestar to file fraudulent reveiws"? Sure, every negative review was written because the rescue wants others to think (the few supporters it has left is my guess) it was done because of another person, "Sally". Not true. People can still think and act for themselves and the comment that it's otherwise is an insult to any savvy donor or potential supporter of a horse rescue.

If you are considering supporting this rescue it would be wise to do some research and inquiries to others. Don't be fooled by this rescue organizations representatives fancy double talk and deflection to confuse with their slick tongues. This rescue has many and varied interests and providing horses to the general public is just one of them and like an iceberg more of the iceberg is beneath the waves where it cannot be seen than it is above. To my logic and IMO.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

"What's my line? "rescue" or "horse sales"?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

"WHO REALLY knows what's going on"?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

February 5, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

This organization is a scam. They are currently under investigation! If you cant tell that by the outrageous prices, the double fundraising, raising funds for vet fees and then not proving it then theres a problem! They claim the meat man makes the prices but they are wrong..a draft horse does not go for a higher price...a draft is bigger bone and less desired by slaughter compaines! Do your research before donating! Go to a local rescue to see the place and animals before donating..these people play upon others emotions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

sucks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut them down

February 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

AC4H like many other rescues has ups and downs, trying to help so many horses is a huge undertaking considering Christy does this on the side besides running her own rescue she tries to help the horses from the kill broker's feed lot. Nobody can say the horses are all fat and happy, they are abused and neglected and need help. This is their last chance and many people who we will call disgruntled seem to think that this whole thing should be easy and that the horses should be perfect. Deciding to make up their own reality instead of walking a mile in somebody else's shoes is doing discredit to the people who are really helping the horses out of this horrible situation. I say that AC4H has done a good job, where would these horses be without their help? Nobody is perfect but many have had wonderful experiences and have got friends for life with the horses they have saved with the help of AC4H.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the happy beginnings of many of these horses. The faces of contentment are enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them be able to afford more help in the office to better serve the horses

February 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

For many months I've watched a group of people actively and vigorously attack and libel this rescue. They spend literally all their time online looking for ways to make it harder for this rescue to do its work.

One of the main woman who continually attacks this rescue was found guilty
of animal neglect and had all of her dogs and cats seized, and her home condemned as unfit for human habitation. Instead of trying to actively fix her personal situation she insisted that the animal seizure and foreclosure on her home were CAUSED by this rescue. Even though the foreclosure proceedings began two years prior to her ever having heard of AC4H. What precipitated this? Her application for adoption was denied when she wanted a horse. Admittedly unemployed at the time, begging for donations on Facebook and other sites online for food and money to feed her many dogs and cats, and she wanted to get a horse! For good reason her application was denied but she would rather have people believe that it wasn't HER fault, that OTHERS caused this.

Through all of the attacks and constant harassment, AC4H has continued to do their work and have continued to save horses from slaughter, the auction circles, and bad homes.

To watch these women gossip and spread rumors on facebook is disheartening. The facts change and the gossip rolls on and on until every one of them is able to regurgitate the same falsehood verbatim while NONE of them know the actual facts of any of the situations. Other rescues will claim they are so different from this rescue while they handle maybe one or two a week and this rescue is saving dozens per week and rehoming them to good homes.

I've watched people constantly ask questions and when their answered it's like no one sees the answer. They want vet records shown for "transparency" and "it's the law" and when they are posted this group of women begin to dissect the vet bill. "Who's giving him this medication?", "It doesn't look like a REAL vet bill", etc. etc. ad nauseam. They want current pictures because they all think the horses disappear, and when they're posted the group starts to ask for more pictures and more frequent pictures. There is no satisfying them and all the time AC4H has tried to accomodate. But what's the point when all these women want is to attack and be hateful. I have seen them:
-Accuse this rescue of foreclosure on a home in a different state.
-Threaten this rescue.
-Libel throughout the internet (to the point where legal action had to be taken)
-Actively discourage potential home offers on horses so the horse does not get homed.
-Actively discourage donations.
-Apply faulty logic and math to promote their ideas.
-Post photos and images of properties with personal information.
-Call AC4H volunteers employers to complain about their activity with this rescue.
-Threaten them with legal action and jail.

Does this sound like a group of women you'd like to take advice from?

The point is this: AC4H has been in operation as a charitable rescue for many years. They have great references, have been involved in many high profile rescues, have been active in anti-slaughter education and have saved thousands of horses lives. You can choose to believe the posts you're reading that are negative and repetitive that have no factual bearing, or you can check out the rescue and contact them yourself and ask them questions that would help you really decide if you want to adopt or donate.

Be bigger than the catty horse women and make your own decisions and do the right thing for the horses.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

All my dealings with this organization have been positive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get rid of all their detractors so they could fully focus their attention on saving horses.

February 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization runs multiple programs all aimed at rescuing horses and/or saving them from auction or slaughter. In addition to horses available at the rescue, it offers a unique weekly program of broker horses. They also list horses available from owners, and educate the public on horse slaughter.
Both the previous owner of the horse I obtained through the broker program and I, am very, very glad that AC4H exists!
My new horse had been raised from birth and owned by the same woman for 10 years. When she lost her job she thought she had found a good home for her beloved horse. Within 2 months the horse was sold through an auction and ended up at a broker lot. As this was a registered horse, AC4H took the time to contact the previous owner and let her know what had happened to her horse. She was HORRIFIED and wanted to do whatever she could to help her beloved former family member. The previous owner and I shared bail and expenses for this horse, and a wonderful horse came to live with me. The previous owner and I have stayed in touch. We are both very grateful to AC4H for bringing us together, and keeping a very dear horse from a very bad situation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

becoming more educated about horse slaughter and the dangers of auction. I have also experienced their dedication to rehoming horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more time and staffing.

February 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011

I have had nothing but positive experiences with AC4H. I have been to the rescue and the horses are well taken care of. Christy and her family make many personal sacrifices for the horses. I have reviewed the 990s and the independent audit and asked questions. All questions were answered in an appropriate manner. AC4H has been around a very long time. Most of the negative posts are the result of a smear campaign started by a mentally unstable person by the name of Sally Schrock. I encourage you to google her name and learn all about her. She blames everyone for everything and never takes responsibility for her own actions. She was denied a horse for good reason. She blamed the person with whom she was communicating with on the internet for her mother's death. AC4H is just her latest misguided crusade in a long line of many.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have horses from the rescue and broker lot. I have also visited the rescue several times.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give the people in this organization more hours in a day to help more horses.

February 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Great rescue! Not only was I inspired to volunteer by Christy but I also adopted 2 horses. Always ready to help and answer questions when I needed help. I adopted 2 horses and 2 of my friends adopted horses. All 4 horses would have shipped to slaughter if CHristy was not out there in the trenches working to save these horses.
SHe lives for the horses and works tirelessly to end slaughter thru education and awareness. This rescue was also featured on Inside Edition and HBO Real Sports.
The reputation of AC4H speaks for itself! I am PROUD to volunteer for this great organization and with every link posted, my pride grows!

Another Chance 4 Horses, Inc. has been featured on Inside Edition, HBO, The Thoroughbred Times, The New York Times, The Blood horse magazine, Paulick Report, our local media the Reading Eagle, Channel 69 and much more.

Here is the Ac4H public service announcement http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_Z0esljiRo
HBO -RACEHORSE SLAUGHTER PT. 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04mvw6tTHrs

HBO HORSE SLAUGHTER PRT. 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSboR03WnjI

Just a miscellaneous link I found The Journey Of The Inside Edition Horses http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdmszOvpjJg
Taken at New Holland, you can see Rick holding one of the horses and it should look very familar to you. :)
Inside Edition interview and picshttp://s218.photobucket.com/albums/cc273/AC4H/Inside%20Edition%20Interview/
The articles below attest to the sterling reputation of AC4H and the difference this organization has made!
http://www.paulickreport.com/blog/van-driver-paraneck-horses-were-walking-skeletons/
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/18/sports/18horses.html
http://xwebapp.ustrotting.com/absolutenm/templates/?a=34569&z=56
http://www.topix.com/forum/sports/horse-racing/TTKIJB3NTLD7B85NH
http://hooflinks.blogspot.com/2008/05/hbo-special-on-horse-slaughter.html
http://www.greenhorn-horse-facts.com/january-winner-gus-the-lucky-buckless-bucker.html
http://www.topix.com/forum/sports/horse-racing/TMTC9BEE7EJELR9D4
http://examiner.gmnews.com/news/2008-02-21/Front_Page/001.html
http://readingeagle.com/article.aspx?id=94886
http://www.5rracehorsecf.org/page/3/
http://www.ac4h.com/SenatorLandrieuNewHollandAuction.htm
DC campaign http://www.ac4h.com/DCPics.htm
Branded mustang saved from slaughter http://www.examiner.com/pet-rescue-in-national/branded-mustang-saved-from-slaughter-by-rescue-groups
http://www.examiner.com/pet-rescue-in-national/another-chance-4-horses-saves-thoroughbreds-from-slaughter
http://humanityforhorses.blogspot.com/2008/12/race-horses-still-being-sent-to.html
http://www.guidestar.org/pqShowGsReport.do?npoId=100702987&partner=amex
http://www.freewebs.com/horserescuecoalition/
http://borderlandrescue.blogspot.com/2010/07/horse-industry-future.html
http://readingeagle.com/article.aspx?id=89683

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

as a volunteer and adopter. I've been to the office and the adoption facility. THe facility is spotless and the horses well cared for. Just visit the website and see the pics for yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Always need more volunteers

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers