Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
12.51579345
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
September 1, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 1, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

"Rescued" two OTTBs from these people. Was told that they had papers. Only after paying and receiving them, was I told, no, we dont have their papers, sorry. Also, after paying for the horses, I was told that it would be required for them to go to their recommended hold over barn for QT for 14 days @ $30 per day. They already knew I had transport scheduled (not one of their recommended people) and were just trying to squeeze out more money. I recommend anyone that even THINKS about dealing with these scammers, do your research. Google AC4H and AC4H Scams and you will find out I am not alone. It is criminal that they are allowed to still be in operation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Ac4h is merely using emotional blackmail to sell horses online. She does not work with kill buyers as they will not work with her. She tacks on quite a tidy profit to her actual purchase price plus inflating the cost of health certificates and coggins papers. She is ignorant about horses as is very evident in the videos of her children riding without shoes and helmets. Any lameness is described as "gaited" by Sheidy. Visitors to the website would not know about the mare with her coffin bone rotated through her sole who was "described as foot sored," in the video as she was forced to walk with Sheidy waving a paper behind her. Many, many people have received very ill horses which had to be euthanized due to lack of vet care by Sheidy. Please go to an auction and choose your horse. Do not be fooled by Sheidy's emotional blackmail.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

her efforts to intimidate anyone who is critical. She calls the police and makes false reports as well as reporting anyone who makes a negative comment to FB.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down and charge with fraud, violation of anti-cruelty laws, violation of Dept. of Ag. regulations and make it illegal for Sheidy to own or deal horses.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

She has used the internet to emotionally blackmail well-intentioned, but naive horse lovers.

August 17, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

First off Ms. Schrock is not telling the truth as per usual. Christy's farm is in Pa. The Pocono's in Pa are not several hundred miles as Sally has mentioned in this article from AC4H in Bernville. Please take a moment and look up Sally Schrock or Sarah Schrock on Google she has scammed so many people it isn't funny any more. She is damaging all rescues. Dog and horse rescue. Sally is supported by many fake rescues. She is their mouthpiece and is used as a weapon against AC4H. Sally has even taken to harassing and stalking Christy's minor children. She is truly a sick individual. I have done my research on AC4H and their is NO proof of any wrong doing. This is just an attempt to assassinate Christy and the rescue by some people that really have some serious mental issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I am heartbroken reading these nasty reports about the Sheidy family. They are not brokers... they work with brokers to provide at-risk horses with opportunities to find a home instead of heading to slaughter. Through this program, they have helped thousands of horses. Have they made money? It is impossible that they have made what others claim. The adoption fees they charge cover vet expenses and training. That money goes right back into the next horse. For broker horses, they must answer to the broker... what he is willing to sell the horse for. This family ran the rescue for many years OUT OF POCKET... not a money maker, I assure you. I have heard accusations that no horses are ever rehabbed... this is a complete lie. Over the years I have watched many horses flourish under their care. Granted, sometimes there are miscommunications about horses that seem available and aren't... the broker program is fast-moving and it is incredibly difficult to keep things organized online. I know this personally because I volunteer online to help answer questions... it is incredible how easily communication could be lost. If something goes wrong, it is entirely by accident. Another testament to the honesty of this family: I adopted my own horse from their broker program... I COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED with the care my mare received. My horse kicked herself on the way to quarantine, and the Sheidys PERSONALLY took care of my horse for the next month, constantly emailing me updates and pictures. All of this before I even met my horse. I love this organization... I am proud at the way they have pioneered slaughter rescue - with great success - and I support them wholeheartedly. ***NOTE: I have witnessed many well-meaning people criticize the Sheidys... "You're riding that horse with THAT bridle?!?" or "That horse is too high-priced!" etc... The Sheidys work with what they have to get these horses more exposure... Much of their opposition comes from people who disapprove of a miniscule, minute, insignificant details in the big picture... It makes me sad to see people spread lies because they didn't like that the bridle was too tight or the horse looked stressed - there is ALWAYS a good intention behind everything you see, and the Sheidys will fiercely defend the horses they work so hard to save.** I would like to ask that if you have a bone to pick with the way things are done, please inquire POLITELY how you can help improve a situation you see that needs improving. Thank you so much, and to AC4H and the Sheidys: I am so grateful for all that you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them the funds they need to make operation smoother! For instance: helmets for broker program riders... more types of equipment for use in evalating broker horses... etc. Heck, it would be awesome if they had somebody in charge of pictures and videos... uploading them and organizing them each week is a terribly time-consuming and difficult task that they faithfully complete every week. I wouldn't dare change the organization - just make their job easier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

googling rescues.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I have become an active anti-slaughter advocate, even though I am young, and I am now even more determined to work in rescue in the future. It has greatly influenced my plans for college!

July 6, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I adopted a horse recently through ac4h. I did so because I was fortunate enough to speak to his breeder and really liked the look of the horse. It was an easy enough process and I have to say that personally, any horse that gets taken out of the auction/slaughter pipline is a victory for me. What I will say is that the horse was in good weight in his photos and videos. When he arrived in quarantine (a week later?) he was practically emaciated. Every rib showing, hind end sunken in, hips sticking out, and terrified to be caught. I am not sure what happened to him between the pics being taken and him leaving but he was almost not the same horse. (if he wasn't a paint i would have thought he may not have been the same one). I am also not sure this group is a 'non-profit' as I would think they are profiting form this.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I' m actually trying to find out if anyone knows of a pinto pony mare 14.3 hh who might have gone to AC4H sometime between August 2011 and now....she was unlawfully sold at auction and her owner/ breeder is looking for her.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

All the people writing the negative reviews are just doing it for the drama and are not being truthful. They band together and get all their friends to write fake reviews. If this rescue was not legitimate they would be shut down. They ARE a 501C3 rescue with perfect status with the IRS and local authorities. They run a regular rescue that ANYONE can go visit and also try to help horses that are owned by dealers and kill brokers get into nice homes instead of back to auction or to slaughter. They have helped over 1,000 horses last year and the year before. Without their intervention and assistance most of those horses would have been sent to Canada or Mexico for slaughter. What the haters leave out is that these rescue people only are able to evaluate these horses for ten minutes take pictures and video and then list them on the website. They are not vet checked and when you get a horse that is from the auction or broker you are getting a RESCUE HORSE that may need medical care and special attention because of the abuse they endured. If these people posting couldn't handle doing real rescue then SHAME ON THEM.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

its so sad to see this ac4h take advantage of these sick horses..canada will not take sick lame horses...so they cant ship them to slaughter instead they tell people they are going to be shipped to slaughter and make money off these horses to people who actually care about the horses..my question is when someone pays a bail for a horse to go to a rescue and then the horse has been some how sold by the broker...so they have to take some of the money n put it towards another horse thats more money soo more funrasing is needed..hmmm that doesnt seem right....and why are they sending horses to people who buy them carrying strangles and rhino...? isn't there a law about this? be prepared to pay a big medical bill when u buy a horse from them..if all these people want to say horses why not just go to the auction and out bid christy and brian moore and the other kill brokers brian moore wont pay more then $275 for a horse..so instead of u paying 800 to ac4h u can get the horse for 300 maybe 500 at the auction...before u go get a horse from ac4h go vist a auction and u do the math cut out the middle man completey

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 28, 2011

I adopted a mustang from AC4H in July of this year. He was scheduled to be shipped to cananda on July 4th. I have since gotten another 7 horses myself from them and know of another 20 or so that hav... more

April 8, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

Ac4h is nothing more than a scam run by a family who somehow managed to obtain a 501c3 status. I guess filling out papers and paying a filing fee are all that are required. Their board of directors consist of family members and family friends. They claim they pay $5,000 a month on their 990 form for an old bank barn that only has a couple stalls in it and with a few acres of pasture in rural Pa. Not likely! Sounds like money laundering to me. They claim horses are being saved from slaughter when in reality the horses they sell, for the most part, are ones the meat buyers will not risk having the load rejected at the border to haul there. Old, sick and lame is not the horses that get hauled to slauhgter. Young, fat and healthy is what the meat brokers are hauling and those are purchased with the money they make off gouging the public with horror stories and what basically amounts to equine blackmail. "If you don't send all the money by 9pm saturday night, they will all ship!" They lie at every turn about where the horses are even located. Horses are listed on craigslist for sale by the horse dealers in other states and ac4h tells people they are "broker horses destined for slaughter" when in fact they are owned by a horse dealer who doesn't even have a slaughter contract. .....another family friend of hers. She refuses to send out registration papers to horses she sells and advertises as registered. They fundraise for horses that are supposedly given to "approved homes" only to see those very same horses being sold for thousands of dollars on dreamhorse.com a few months later by her teenage daughters. These people are crooks of the worst kind. Sure Bernard Goldberg did an HBO special on horse slaughter and he interviewed her. I'm sure he wishes he had not done that at least not with such a controversial so called rescue person. When people try to express any of these concerns to her, Ms Sheidy will change tactics and resort to bullying and name calling. She and several of her friends seem to spend most days hanging out in a Yahoo group called Equine Rescue Scams where they are very nasty about anyone who they feel has "crossed" them. They make fun of other rescue groups and individuals. Extremely unprofessional for someone who is supposed to be a professional rescue person. Maybe the Sheidy clan should go out and find other jobs since they obviously are ill equipped to run a horse rescue. I think something that requires an orange jumpsuit would be more appropriate for the lot of them. I only selected one star for this review because no stars was not an option.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I adopted a mustang from AC4H in July of this year. He was scheduled to be shipped to cananda on July 4th. I have since gotten another 7 horses myself from them and know of another 20 or so that have been adopted by friends and aquaintances. Most of the horses are thinner than the original videos as the broker puts out hay that is mostly consumed by the more aggressive horses. That is an easily rectifiable situation. I know of a couple of the horses that have come down with strangles or shipping fever, not unusual in the very crowded conditions that they are housed in on the feedlots and auction houses. Again, another easliy rectifiable solution. The horse that was purchased by Nora was very ill and is under treatment for EPM. That is unfortunate but when I was talking with her, I did try to steer her towards another horse that was more suited for what she said she was looking for, but she made the choice to purchase the horse she ended up with even though she had some questions about her soundness prior to purchase. These horses are on a meat broker lot and have likely been hauled to numerous auctions prior to AC4H coming on the scene. They are given very little history on the horses and have a few minutes to evaluate them and video them for the public to view. The horses would have no audience and would most all be shipped to slaughter if they didn't take the time to network for them. There are many people who spend an inordinate amount of time spreading many lies and rumors about this organization, some of them do the exact thing that they accuse AC4H of, fundraising for broker horses. I do not understand why they feel it is ok for them to raise money to buy horses from meat brokers yet AC4H is "in bed" with brokers. Most of these people are somehow associate with a woman names Sally from Olathe, Kansas who has had all of her animals taken away by the local animal control and her home has been deemed "unfit for human habitation". This woman is most likely and animal hoarder, and as we all know that is a mental illness. I hope she gets some help for her illness. The other people who have latched onto her rantings are, in my opinion, seriously in need of getting a life! Instead of condemming someone else for what they are doing to help horses.... get out and do some good yourself, instead of hiding behind a keyboard, and ficticious names.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting horses from them for placement in new forever homes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more volunteers.

February 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I had a great experience with ac4h. The horse was exactly as shown on the video and photos. He was mild-mannered, very well-fed and sweet. He just truly needed "Another Chance" People that bash animal rescue have to understand that they are up against a ticking clock. And yes, horses do get shipped to Canada all the time to meet a horrendously terrifying death. Watch the videos. I am happy to report that all ended well, they work their butts off over there, and somehow the connection between the kill buyer and the rescue works to the horses' advantage. Sounds weird but horses ARE getting another chance via the program. They do advocate quarantine, as would anyone with auction experience. Get over the politics of it all, and give one horse another chance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopted a horse through them in Feb. 2012

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps pay someone to just work full-time to answer all the thousands of questions the public has about the actual process.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through another friend who has done horse rescue for over a decade also.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers