Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
12.51579345
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
January 29, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

These so called rescues support 'brokers' more than they want to save the horses. The brokers behind these horses are in it for the money. If you go to the auctions yourself, you will see many of these horses sell for under $100. The brokers buy these horses and put ridiculous prices on them. I personally have saved many horses from kill pens and re-homed them for only $50 over my expensives. And that was only to buy the next one. I would NEVER put these high prices on them! NOR, would I support such a 'broker' and help put money in their pockets. I would be ashamed to list myself as a rescue group and at the same time support these so called 'brokers!' Many brokers are the resuers friends and/or family and they all have their hands in the money bowl. They feed on the emoitions of people who truly wnat to save these horses. People that want to save horses from slaughter need to go to the auctions themselves and purchase them directly. They will be A LOT cheaper, and no one is making a huge profit!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We purchased a horse through AC4H broker program. Communication was prompt and friendly, layover and transport were easy to arrange. Tommy arrived safely and in remarkably good condition for a New Holland horse. Coggins was delivered with horse (we didn't pay for an HC since shipper didn't require and we were buying him regardless.) Price was roughly on par with Camelot, higher than EOTL and lower than Sundew. Thank you for helping us save Tommy's life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

In October 2012 I donated through the "ChipIn" to help save a mare headed for slaughter. Her bail was only $275 and she appeared to be a former school horse who was very well trained. She was thin and needed some general maintenance, but appeared to be sound otherwise. She was offered a home by Lilly Pond Foal Rescue who cared for her until she was adopted permanently by an individual. When she first arrived at Lilly Pond she became ill and required two days on IV's at the vet. After that ordeal she recovered quickly and was soon adopted to a permanent home. Throughout the process I was in touch with Lilly Pond Foal Rescue and with the individual young lady who ultimately adopted her. Being involved in a small way by donating to the mare's rescue and vet care was a wonderful experience and I thank AC4H and Lilly Pond Foal Rescue for their efforts on behalf of the horses. I will continue to support their courageous work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

AC4H has been around for over 10 years and has never had any complaints against them. There's this loon Sally Schrock who is an admitted animal abuser and neglecter who had all of her animal taken away from her because her home was condemned. She was denied adopting a horse and since then she and her insane friends continue a hurtful campaign against this rescue. Use your common sense first and just google Sally Pip Schrock and read all about her. It's a sick obsession this crazy loon has. It hurts all horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

OMG Avoid these people AT ALL COSTS and DO NOT give your money to them! It lines THEIR/Christy's pockets and thats about all. its NOT a rescue tho she may talk a good game and have a few poster horses to promote herself with, its just another word for MAKE-A_BUCK off bleeding hearts. They work with a BROKER and MANY of these AT RISK in need horses are in fact NOT at risk-meat buyers do exsist but they only will pay SO MUCH per head/per pound and will not pay the 500-600 as much as 2000 etc that she asks for her horses so they are in no threat off becomeing pony steak. You just need to do a little internet research to find that out. At first out of the goodness of my heart I put a "down payment" on a few "needy horses" that I wanted to ultimately own. Well those funds went to HELP the horses and they ended up somewhere else so those fund were magically GONE tho I was thinking it was a downpayment on some broker program horses. I was mad but the anger passed. A year later, I "purchased/adopted" 4 horses from them and paid to have them trailered quite a long distance to me. I was ASSURED by Christy that the one was ABSOLUTELY beginner safe and the rest were gentle etc. (all by text as it seems she cannot speak on the phone) They sent me pics of them in quareentine but somehow after 3 weeks there none had put on ANY weight-hmmm. What I saw where these horses standing next to horses with snotty noses (severe enough to be possibly strangles) and were given just a handful of hay cubes on the manure soaked stalls at their "farm" or "holding area" which is someone in the middle of no where and not on their farm-or they call it THE OTHER FARM where the horses arent even seen daily???. When they arrived, The one had a blown knee and had to be put down within 72 hours. The other one was a neurotic and severe weaver with a HUGE swollen hock. She was also aged, very thin and nuts (this was suppossed to be the beginner safe one hand picked by Christy. HAHA. Totally NOT ridable by anyone!) After the farrier and vet looked at this one I contacted Christy wanting to rehome it locally-basically wanting to put it out to pasture to die in peace as nothing more could be done for it. She said I HAD TO SEND IT BACK TO HER. I said no way Im putting a half dead horse on a trailer to go for a 900 mile trailer ride are you NUTS?? We had to put that one down. Her emails become threatening and harrassing (to the point I was in tears and contacted an atty. She couldnt give me a straight answer as to why you would abuse a horse by putting it on a trailer to send it 900 miles after it had just sadly been trailered 900 miles and was DYING!) Her yahoo group harrassed me. I had to change my email. The 3rd one was lovable on the ground but he was a severe cribber (not disclosed to me) and also unridable by anyone without velcro on their butts, he also was not drivable as advertised and had white line disease (also arrived with shoes DANGLING off him). I kept him for almost 3 years as a pasture pet, he coliced once a month without fail and I FINALLY found a home for him that didnt mind his regular colics and cribbing behavior (even with a collar on). The 4th one was SEVERELY foundered, not disclosed to me. When the farrier went to work on her he was horrified. She was put out to pasture where she remains on my farm as a lawn ordament. I basically called in our family attorney over the one horse when she wanted me to trailer it back tho it was dying and he laughed and said he would be MORE than happy to take her on, that I legally owned these horses and that was that. I have almost haldd a century of horse exp. yet I was duped. This horses werent TRUE rescues in any sense of the wrod as a TRUE rescue actually rehabs and knows the horses it offers for adoption. I lost $1000's not in just buying them and trailering them and vet and farrier and feed expense but in having them put down almost as soon as they arrived!!! I do hope people will see the light about this gal and do their homework. If you want a horse from an auction, go there youself, do NOT trust this Christy person! Shes just a horse trader hiding behind "being a rescue". Rescues dont work with a broker to sell neglected/sick and dangerous horses to the public! (Brian Moore I believe is the name of the broker but Im not 100% and have heard she works with several for that under the table cash in pocket profit) The sad part is is that MANY of the horses offered wil either a) get someone hurt and are NOT what they say they are or b) have so much wrong with them that they NEED to be put down on site. This is a SCAM not a rescue. Youve been warned. REAL RESCUES will go to the auction themselves if they want to look for a horse that needs TLC and then they will take it and totally REHAB it before offering it out. Most "rescue" horses now days come from private owners on hard time. Christy tho continues to try to get grants to help fund her horse buying needs, but in the process she not only hurts people she HURTs the horses! Not to long ago I saw 2 locally that came from AC4H offered for sale..same thing, they were not what she led the person to believe they were, they were younger horses and not in ill health but they were plum dangerous, and the lady was giving them away for free. That speaks volumes. Just because her daughter can ride a horse up and down the aisle of barn while she coos in the background to make a 2 second video doesnt mean the horse was safe. In my case a BEGGED for a video wanting to see the one horse I wanted ride...and she could not provide it HMMMMM that should have been a red flag for me but I was too big hearted trusting and stupid. I hope others will learn from my exp. pardon my typos. Ive read thru enough of these comments to see the truth and I have to wonder why someone isnt shutting her down. The 5 star comments are coming from family and friends only afraid to loose their pocket cash. SOMEONE NEEDS TO SERIOUSLY INVESTIGATE THIS NFP AND PUT THEM OUT OF BUSINESS. If she wants to be a horse trader....fine, thats her business, but AC4H needs to be PUT OUT OF BUSINESS AS A RESCUE because they are NOT a RESCUE!I do have to ad I was contcted by a TB org. wanting a referrnece on Christy as she had applied for a grant with them. I told them my story. I had pics and video and vet and farrier report with dates to back me up...they declined her grant on what others had told them and I was the person to just slam the door shut for them and BOY did that make me feel GOOD. They found that she was NOT acting in favor of the horses!!!! YAY And the only way I can post this and feel good, is that Ive moved since this experince. JUST AVOID this whole clan and let the law step in...karma will find her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 3, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

This is the first time i delt with AC4H, i never heard good things about them, but i beleived it was just rumors until now.. They were slow for contact, and i had to deal with multiple people; each of them told me a something a little different. I picked the horse i wanted, got approved, and agreed on a day to pick her up. After driving all the way to the location i was greeted by a man i had no prior contact with. We went into a barn where the horses were standing in filth, then he brought me the wrong horse! I showed him a picture of the mare i had gotten, and he said she was not there. After texting Christy, Phil, and talking to the man who was at the location(who even tho he said he didnt know much about what these people did, he knew enough of their names), they had no good answer as to what could have happened to her. So after i waisted my entire day driving, over $150 in fuel, wear and tear on my truck and trailer all they had to say was, "i dont know where she could have went, sorry". I feel so bad for all these sponsors that give their money to these people, trying to do good by these horses. How many of them actually end up in a homes??? I doubt these people can even know for sure, and i doubt theyd get their money back. I messaged concerned to see if they have found what happened to the mare, and i have had NO contact from them!! Seriously, rediculous.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

There was a time when I believe this organization had its heart in the right place. I do believe the broker program tainted the integrity and focus of the rescue. I personally adopted a horse that didn’t come directly from the broker. This was a horse that Christy had at her personal farm for some time. Shortly after arrival at my farm, the sweet mare was diagnosed with EPM. I knew Christy had experience dealing with EPM so I called and left a message to ask about her experience with the medication that she used as there are commonly 2 choices of treatment. She never returned my call. I figured, ok, she doesn’t want to give out medical advice. I get it.
Suddenly, my $900 mare became a $4000 mare after a year of vet bills and Marquis (EPM medication) and had to be euthanized. That’s when my disappointment set in.
The disappointment was not about the cost or the heartache of watching the mare decline. I didn’t hold the fact that the mare had EPM against the rescue. That’s a gamble I took when adopting. Nor did I complain to AC4H about the financial burden. Again, every horse owner needs to be prepared for catastrophic health issues. The financial burden was mine and mine only. I emailed the rescue a couple of times throughout the year that we had the horse to let them know of the mare’s condition. I figured they would still have concern about her after caring for her for some time. Then, a final sincere email was sent to let them know that the mare lost her battle and was put down. I never received a reply.
Think about it. If you owned a horse then sold it, wouldn’t you still care about its well being enough to at least reply when you receive updates? “I’m sorry for your loss” or “She was a sweet mare. Something? Anything?
That was the red flag. Once the money exchanged hands, their concern for the well being of the horse they had once cared for ended. Period. Were they just too busy turning over more broker horses to reply? Were they afraid I was going to blame them? I don’t know what their reasoning was for not replying but it felt as calloused as buying an old clunker from a buy here pay here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Two people I know that adopted horses from Christy Sheidy AC4H they are currently being campaigned as show horses and are dong extremely well Both are TB's off the track. These were broker owned horses. If not given the chance to be seen on the broker pages they would have shipped to slaughter. Christy gives those horses a chance at life. The previous person stated they are being investigated by the FBI, this is just more false allegations and libel....Christy also educates the public about the horrors of horse slaughter and works continually with schools in her area to help educate the children about it. Our family and friends will always support and donate to AC4H

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

AC4H is a complete scam. A majority of the horses listed are at no risk for slaughter. Jesse Austin and Brian Moore are their "kill buyers". Jesse Austin does not even have a slaughter contract and has not sent to slaughter in years. Brian's listed horses are horses bought for resale. The horses he buys for slaughter have no "second chance". The Sheidys tack on $100+ on every horse they list. They also charge $55 for a $22 coggins along with a mandatory "donation". The are totally incompetent on basic horse knowledge such as determining height,age,breed, and sometimes even color! The kids are brats and constantly bicker and have very little respect for horses. Everything they do is to make money, they don't care about the horses at all! Also, NONE of the broker owned horses are located at their farm! They are at the brokers farms! Jesse Austin's in in Louisa,VA and Brian Moore's is close to Allentown,PA. The only time they are in direct care of any of the broker horses is when they are dropped off Sunday might by the brokers until they are picked up from the new owners. They receive MINIMAL bedding (like maybe one scoop per stall), a flake of hay, and a bucket of water. They claim they have sooo many expenses....the only expense they have for the broker owned program is renting the pickup barn for $100 a week. Also, they push horses that aren't even the type to be at risk of slaughter! Minis, ponies, greys, studs, anything under 600lbs, shippers don't ship! Instead of being scammed by them, contact the actual owner of the horse (most likely Jesse Austin or Brian Moore) and buy it from them for at least $100 less. Also, THEY ARE UNDER INVESTIGATION BY THE FBI! Don't believe me??? Contact Cedar Ridge Farm and ask! They are on Facebook!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Have known this place for a few years. They save some horses but specialise in being horse dealers. Get a cut from the brokers for horses they sell. Are not up front with reporting problems with horses. Collect money from donors on horses no longer available. Substitute horses without approval. Take in donor paid for horses and then resell them. These people are not honest tho they'd like you to think they. They have scamming down to a science. Gotta admire them for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers