Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
12.51579345
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
January 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Cease and desist order issued August 2013 by PA Dept of State.
AC4H still does not appear in the PA charities online
database.

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/http;//www.portal.state.pa.us;80/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_145376_1364757_0_0_18/08262013%20Another%20Chance%204%20Horses%20C&D.pdf

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Adopted a very ill donkey and told to hold a garage sale to raise the necessary $14,000 vet care after 5 gutteral pouch surgeries and told he was healthy by the agency. Documentation from several vets can be provided. I still have my boy but he lived at the vet clinic for almost 3 months after we first adopted him.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they have changed....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

September 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
September 7, 2013

Christy Sheidy is the biggest scam artist around. She has a video with a dead horse in it. she doesn't even care. she is a fraud and bad person. she tried to extort money out of us and it didn't work. she is no rescue. she is a horse dealer that hides behind her 501 status. I feel bad for all the people that give money and all the horses that come in contact with her.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make them shut their doors, take down all their websites and band them from ever being around any animal again.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

No way can you judge a horse completely in the few minutes of a video. You take your chances buying a horse in this manner. These horses are kept in a communal setting, and are very likely to arrive ill, or become ill. Its part of the deal. Those of us who know horses know how to handle that, and suffer no undue expenses. Those who don't may hire vets who want to create a big deal and make a lot of money from those who don't. Find a good knowledgeable experienced person to help you thru...will save you a lot.

As far as my rescues, which are now numbering about eight - I have been more than pleased. My current riding horse is an AC4H rescue and he is hands down a better character than my husband's horse, which we bought from a reputable breeder, for five times the money! He came in sick, very frightened, and needed time and care. He is repaying us more than we could have hoped. The rest of our rescues were rehabbed and re-homed and I get pictures and letters regularly from their happy owners.

Good luck and its wonderful if you can help these horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have not walked a mile in their shoes. Hard to say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

http://www.wfmz.com/news/news-regional-berks/fbi-raids-area-another-chance-4-horses-in-berks-county/-/121418/19950308/-/i3688lz/-/index.html

FBI raids area Another Chance 4 Horses in Berks County

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

I'm torn as to this group.I got 2 from there.First one had Strangles and second one was beat the hell up from the Lot or the Transport.I did however receive my Horses.I do understand that when being in the Brokers Lot, AC4H themselves can't do anything for the Horses, they aren't theirs, but the Brokers.I have had great help with the Volunteer I worked with(who btw has a real job and is just THAT, a Volunteer)to help me get my Horses.IF Horses were drugged, I don't think Christy did that.They come through the Auction like that and usually takes a month to get out of their Systems.
I know others that have adopted and received their Horses.Not sure where all this missing Horse stuff comes from.They are however skinny and or sick most of the time.
Way I feel is, any horse you get from anywhere can be drugged or be sick.
However, I have seen Horses on the Site that shouldn't be ridden or are sick and should be Isolated from other Horses and ARE being ridden and not isolated, on top of it, they use the same Tack on everyone.
Point is, these are Kill Broker owned and he will ship them.I don't want to line his pockets, but I also don't want to see Horses that are young and perfectly fine, go through the Slaughter Horror.
so, yes I am torn.I guess everyone needs to make up their own mind as to what is best for them.AC4H isnt the only Organization that works with a Kill Broker.There are SEVERAL.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Because of the generostiy of the people who support the bail out program of broker owned horses, a young friend and i picked up three bailed but unwanted horses. I paid for the coggins and shipping to pick up barn. Yes, they needed to be in Quarantine, and yes one was a very thin yearling. So? Horses in a herd shuffle that are not in routine care get sick and loose weight. Ever heard of shipping fever?
Currently we are very happy with our broker owned buy outs, having fun training them and getting the people shy pony used to use. The 'old mare' only nine, is going to be a sweetie for riding and driving.

I do not understand comments about high prices. Currently they have listed horses for $650 and under that are being ridden up and down a lane outside in the cold weather. From my point of view, and i have been teaching riding for 20 years, the riders know how to ride and the horses are fairly easy. I also know that pleasure horse owners tend to overfeed and under use their animals and end up with too much horse in a very short time. So some of the criticisms can be from what happens after the horse gets to its new home. And other things can be the result of having been in the auction loop.
I am glad to take horses out of the auction loop, being trailer from sale to sale until the broker gets his price and the horse just has to tolerate lousy conditions until homed.
Nonprofits actually can have paid staff, so the idea that the Sheidy family might be making a living off of doing a good deed does not bother me.
People can go to high-faluting training barns and spend $5,000. on an OTTB that is strong and green and still have lameness and illness issues or have a colic and have to put the horse down. Those issues have nothing to do with AC4H, it is called 'horses.'

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wouldn't it be terrible if a reporter. with a hidden camera posed as a potential buyer to expose this organization for what it really is.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 12, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I was involved with TWO horses through AC4H. One was a chestnut TB mare and the other was an older Warmblood gelding. The mare was thin and ill. I sponsored her and provided money for her upkeep. I also offered to adopt her if no one else would and sent in all my paperwork. I never heard more about the horse and she "disappeared" from their pages. I have a bad feeling she was euthanized. The warmblood was to be purchased by myself and another woman. While we were halfway through the paperwork (and after paying for the horse) we found out it had already been sent to Maple Hill farm (a resale barn). I tried to get my money back but my credit card said they did not cover fraud. They said I had not done due diligence on the rescue and it was an obvious case of fraud. I sent my documents to a police investigator in PA who is collecting evidence for this fake rescue which is basically a horse broker business. Do not do business with AC4H.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I have dealt with AC4H on multiple occasions for multiple years. Had purchased or "bailed" several horses from "The Broker's Lot" that the not-for-profit represents and was very happy with my experience.

The thing bout auction horses is that you never know what you will get. Trained,
untrained, healthy, ill. As far as representation, these horses were represented to the best of the company's ability. Without multiple professional trainers, veterinarians and behaviorists, the non profit is doing all they can to represent the horses appropriately with little or no history on a particular horse.

Many horses do not have papers. Horses may have been registered at one point or another, but over the years, these may have been lost due to multiple ownerships and changing of hands.

The bottom line is (When you attempt to purchase an auction horse):

1. Horses are not guaranteed to be healthy
2. Horses may have behavioral issues that cannot be evaluated during their time at the "Broker's Lot"
3. Horses may have long term or short term health issues resulting in high veterinary costs or death
4. Horses may or may not have papers. If they have papers, they may not be accurate
5. Layover and health certificates may run over $100.00 that is expected - count for inflation
6. Transportation can vary in price, and the not-for-profit tries to find the best possible haulers for the job at a decent price.


From my experience, Christy Sheidy has been very accommodating, reasonable, and if a horse was shipped to the wrong location, she would arrange to get it shipped back and fund the shipment with out-of-pocket money.
Horses always arrived hydrated, and well fed, despite the fact that a few had been in poor shape. These horses are also regularly medicated, if they need to be, especially on a long drive to their destination.

I am disappointed to see so many negative reviews. It appears that there are multiple disgruntled persons who perhaps have misrepresented their intentions. The other half seem to have issues with the not-for-profit's yearly income, representation etc.

In all honestly, caring for horses is very expensive and at the end of the year, there is not much left from the numbers you see on a tax return. For many, a few thousand dollars is plenty of money, without realizing that this money has been already spoken for (bills).

Most of these negative reviews come from people who are not accustomed to caring for a rescue animal, do not have the ability to physically operate with thousands of dollars, and such money, never passes through their hands.

Caring for a rescued horse means that YOU WILL spend thousands of dollars on improving its life, keeping him alive or curing a chronic ailment which requires both time, work and, sadly MONEY.

It is also my belief that the economy had made many people "head shy", that want the best "bang" for their buck, and are missing the point. The point is such that this is what the economy is like at the moment, and that we all need to adjust, and stop having more requirements, stop becoming more bitter and blame it on the other person or a corporation.

The economy is making many people very unhappy with life, and even spending a few dollars more means that their dissatisfaction will be made more intense.

So why not think about the LIFE you are paying for ? Even if it meant that it lasted for only a few short months, and you have paid several thousand dollars to save it - is it really about the money ? Or did people lose their VISION and are concentrating on MONEY because that is what is happening in our world today ?

For me it was a life-changing experience. This is how I discovered the world of unwanted horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers