Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.945215
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

When I was approached to join the Board of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I checked out the organization carefully. Was I impressed! The achievements of this ALL-VOLUNTEER organization ar... more

April 15, 2014

The Anne Arundel County Literacy Council provides FREE one-on-one tutoring to adult residents of the county who seek to improve their reading and writing skills. Now celebrating 36 years of service, AACLC has assisted more than 2,000 persons and has trained over 1,000 volunteer tutors and assessors. The demand for the services of AACLC is great and continues to increase. It is estimated that 70,000 adults in Anne Arundel County lack the basic skills needed to obtain a high school diploma or a GED. AACLC has tutors trained in both literacy and English as a Second Language. No other literacy program in Anne Arundel County provides this combination of features to facilitate accessible and individualized instruction to residents who are striving to develop the skills that are essential for success in our society.

To track the success of its program and to demonstrate accountability, AACLC has implemented its first-ever database containing information about tutors and students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

When I was approached to join the Board of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I checked out the organization carefully. Was I impressed! The achievements of this ALL-VOLUNTEER organization are inspirational. The AACLC provides FREE one-on-one tutoring to adult residents of the county who seek to improve their reading and writing skills. Now celebrating 35 years of service, the AACLC has assisted more than 2,000 persons. In the past year alone, AACLC tutors performed more than 5,000 hours of literacy instruction. No other literacy program in Anne Arundel County can match the personalized help provided by AACLC. In the time that I have served on its Board, I can testify that the enthusiasm for the work of this organization as evidenced by tutors, Board members and especially its program director is contagious. You hear a lot about wanting to make a difference. By empowering people to develop the basic skills that are essential for success in our society, everyone who takes part in the AACLC does just that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

The AACLC is an outstanding nonprofit organization serving adults in Anne Arundel County who wish to learn to read. A large corp of dedicated volunteer tutors work one-on-one with the adult learners/students using especially designed curriculum materials to facilitate optimum learning for each individual. Tutor-student pairs meet in various branches of the Anne Arundel County Library system. An outstanding feature of the program is the close bond that develops over time, between the tutor and student. This bond greatly contributes to the success of the student. Many students have offered their testimony on how the AACLC program has made such a great difference in the quality of their lives in so many way - vocationally, socially and in their own feelings of self-esteem and confidence. Learning to read after living to adulthood without being able to read becomes such a great victory for those who reach their reading goals of success through the outstanding offerings of the AACLC.
April 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

When I first heard of this organization, I was impressed enough to become a major silent donor. I then decided to become an active participant and am now the president of the board of directors. I am ... more

April 14, 2014

I not only support this organization with my time but also my checkbook. I just paid for our new data base system to track students and tutors monthly progress reports, freeing up volunteers time formally spent completing the reports by hand. I also offer matching funds to double a donors contribution in our on-line campaigns.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

When I first heard of this organization, I was impressed enough to become a major silent donor. I then decided to become an active participant and am now the president of the board of directors. I am committed to the council's purpose of providing one on one reading and writing instruction to adult residents of Anne Arundel Co

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I came across this organization when I was looking for a meaningful way to help people less fortunate. With a solid background in teaching, this looked like the perfect solution to my search. I have never felt more rewarded for my endeavors. I am a tutor, an assessor, and on the Board of Directors as a Tutor Representative. Seeing the sparkle in students' eyes when they realize they are accomplishing their dream is so exciting. Our teaching materials and support system are excellent. I am thoroughly committed to this organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Anne Arundel County Literacy Council provides an invaluable resource throughout Anne Arundel County. It is staffed by a group of dedicated volunteers who are deeply committed to literacy for all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am a volunteer board member. The work of the literacy Council is urgently needed in our county as well as other counties in our State. It helps to improve the lives of the students and their families. It improves their self esteem, helps them to get better jobs and is a pathway to higher earnings and a better standard of living. It is a winning situation for all. The highest of praise goes to the individuals who tutor the people who are in need of reading skills for they are truly angels to the students and their community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer