Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.945215
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I was looking for a new volunteer opportunity when I came across the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council's good work. I knew being a writer and someone who really loves "words" that this could be a good fit. Everyone needs a basic understanding for reading, writing, and comprehension to excel in today's world and I enjoy helping others accomplish those skills.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Anne Arundel County Literacy Council is one of the best organizations I have ever volunteered for. First, there is tremendous support for volunteers which begins with an excellent training program for the volunteer. Training is run by very experienced experts in literacy, with varying backgrounds in reading and adult education. Assignment of students to tutors is personalized for maximum benefit to both parties so that matches are optimized for efficacy from the beginning. Because Anne Arundel County Literacy Council enjoys strong support from local organizations both public and private, its activities are well-attended and run smoothly. Anne Arundel County Literacy Council is a great organization because it is so well organized and has a mission that really matters. The impact of enhanced literacy is not only life-changing on an individual level for student and tutor, but also has significant resultant beneficial effects for the society and the economy on a macro level when the student's improved literacy leads directly or indirectly to better employment opportunities and a higher standard of living.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Lisa, the director is amazing and very helpful! The training was long, but all of the volunteers made an unbelievable effort to make it as informative and engaging as possible (the coffee helped). They are very organized, and I am so happy to be a part of AACLC.
I think the only thing that
makes this non-profit limited is their funding that doesn't always provide the books we need for students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

My principal contact has been in ESOL. Here I've had the pleasure of both learning and helping.. The personal contacts and the stories of those folk about their own earlier countries and experiences has been most interesting and informative. The recognition of progress that the students exhibits is a fine reward for the time spent with them. Give it a go!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I am a volunteer student coordinator for this organization for the past 5 months. It is so rewarding and fulfilling, when we can match a student with a tutor and make them read and write better down the road. I believe that education is the key to success and not only changes the life of a person but also his/her future generations and people around them. This is why I am part of this organization and will continue to do so in whatever way I can for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I came across this organization when I was looking for a meaningful way to help people less fortunate. With a solid background in teaching, this looked like the perfect solution to my search. I have never felt more rewarded for my endeavors. I am a tutor, an assessor, and on the Board of Directors as a Tutor Representative. Seeing the sparkle in students' eyes when they realize they are accomplishing their dream is so exciting. Our teaching materials and support system are excellent. I am thoroughly committed to this organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Anne Arundel County Literacy Council provides an invaluable resource throughout Anne Arundel County. It is staffed by a group of dedicated volunteers who are deeply committed to literacy for all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have worked with the board and staff of AACLC to help them revitalize their website. Without exception, I found them to be dedicated, well-trained, knowledgeable, and passionate about their organization's mission. Anne Arundel County is fortunate to have such a vibrant group performing such a vital service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been teaching English as a Second Language to people from Vietnam for about 7 years now. This is the most rewarding work I have ever done. My students are incredibly motivated and hard-working....and they succeed! A former student, one of the brightest young women I've ever met, learned enough English to get into Community College. She graduated with flying colors and is now at University of Maryland (while working full-time, bringing over her parents and 3 siblings, and somehow finding time to meet a lovely young man and become engaged!) We just trained 40 new tutors. The need is huge! Our volunteer support staff is amazing, but I fear for them and for all of us if they exhaust themselves. Support would be welcome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Talk about an organization that does what it says it's going to do, eliminates bureaucratic aggravation, and enables people-to-people connections that change lives--and you're talking about the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council (AACLC). Like an empathetic matchmaker, the all-volunteer AACLC pairs people who love reading with adults who have been frustrated in their efforts to learn how to read. After meeting several times a week over the course of one or many years, true progress is made and friendships forged. The time I spend with the young man I'm tutoring simply flies and I know that both of us deeply value this experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer