Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.945955
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We need, more than ever, to know how to read and write in order to stand on our own feet and compete in a world that challenges us every minute of our days, bombarding us with all sorts of information that we need to be able read and understand in order to make better choices that, not only affect ourselves, but our families and our country.
I am a volunteer tutor because I truly believe that literacy is a basic need of the human being because it helps the other basic needs like food, water, clothes, shelter and medicines become more achievable.
A great example of this is the connection between illiteracy and poverty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it into a State department with secure funding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

As a volunteer tutor with AACLC, I see the positive impact that the gift of literacy has on so many driven, talented adults in Anne Arundel County. AACLC and its volunteer staff are improving lives for illiterate adults in our county each and every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

The Anne Arundel Literacy Council has been a tremendous support to me as a new reading tutor.
When I need advice other tutors come to my aid and give me the benefit of their experience and give me ideas on how to proceed with my student. The training provided by the AALC has been
wonderful.
You couldn't ask for better real-life instructors to help you through the process. You always have someone there. Other tutors really care about helping you and your student succeed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we had more frequent training sessions. They are great! Even if they were just occasional informal get-togethers, that would be helpful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

Amazing, dedicated folks helping others to realize the joys of reading. It's not just about books. It is about a way of life that is closed to you without this skill. It's about the inability to read a storybook or instructions to your child. It's about filling out the most basic of applications. It's about reading the directions on a prescription bottle or how to handle toxic or dangerous material. Mostly, I believe, it is about feeling included in the world around you. AACLC opens doors.

Sandy Burch

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

The Anne Arundel County Literacy Council is amazing! I have always loved to read and felt compelled to help others learn. I completed the two days of tutor training….the instructors were experienced and passionate about their work and were able to share first-hand knowledge and tips to teach adult learners to read. The training included presentations, practice exercises, and what it takes (patience, flexibility, commitment) to be successful. So far I have had three one-on-one learning sessions with the student who was matched with me. I can tell this will be hard, but also rewarding. What could be more valuable than making a difference in someone’s life?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have just completed two full days of training to be a tutor. I was very impressed with the thoughtful and thorough presentations of the experienced tutors and with their willingness to share personal experiences and helpful advice. It was apparent that everyone who has been involved with this organization believes deeply in its mission and derives great satisfaction from their interactions with their students. I have spent many years developing educational materials for teachers and students, but I have never had the chance to be in classrooms to personally witness the growth that occurs from their use. Therefore, I look forward to having a long-term one-on-one teaching experience with a single student. It seems that the AACLC leaders work very hard to help all of the tutors be successful and enjoy their work. I appreciate their unwavering commitment to the ongoing training and enthusiastic support of their volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

The AALC provides one-on-one tutorial support for any adult in Anne Arundel Co. wishing to improve his/her literacy skills. The program itself has the flexibility to adapt to learners at many levels with varying needs. Everyone involved is friendly and dedicated. As a new tutor I am finding this non-profit to be a truly rewarding experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

The change in the lives of students helped borders on miraculous!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

There are over 70,000 people in Anne Arundel county who are not functionally literate in English. Adults with improved literacy are more likely to avoid crime, remain healthier, become employees, and raise children who are better prepared for school. Helping people become more functionally literate – whether immigrants or native-born – is one of the most rewarding things I've done. It's rewarding because I can touch one person at a time and really see a difference in that person's self-confidence that comes with achievement. An English tutor can see the relief, satisfaction, pleasure and new optimism that comes from acquiring a skill that will let that person become a contributing member of their community - often to get a better job and help take care of their family. The AACLC is critically important to the health and welfare of the county's residents who need help to help themselves and their families overcome the roadblock to success that functional illiteracy poses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The Anne Arundel County Literacy Council is a well organized group of people trying to help adults learn to improve their reading and writing. With time these adult learners may improve their life at home work and school. The leadership group helps the tudors in many ways with materials, workshops and lectures. My adult student seems to be friendly, upbeat, organized and motivated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer