Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
86 Reviews
1234.941865
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Not being able to read is like being blind even though your eyes are open. One of the greatest rewards is seeing the light bulb go on inside a student's head when she/he realizes that the letters make a word that can express a feeling or a need or a want and that words can be connected to make a thought and the thoughts can be connected to tell their story and then comes the magic of writing it down so they see their words being read by their children and grandchildren and even better being able to finally read those words to the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Working as a tutor with AACLC has been an extremely rewarding experience and one of the most worthwhile projects I have ever undertaken. Daily life is difficult in so many ways for adults with low literacy levels, and learning to read changes their lives. Things that someone who reads takes for granted are difficult if not impossible for an adult non-reader -- applying for a job or even qualifying for most jobs, getting a driver's license, finding items at a grocery store, reading the directions for your prescription medicines, paying bills, voting, reading notices children bring home from school, staying in touch with family and friends by texting or email or Facebook, etc.

The student I have been tutoring for the past six months is a 44-year old mother of six who dropped out of school when she was sixteen, with little reading skills in spite of all of those years in school. She sought out AACLC because her children were growing up and were not going to be around much longer to help her with things that required reading. She and I were both nervous when we met and unsure about what this experience was going to be like, but we quickly found a comfortable routine. We meet at the library twice a week for two-hour tutoring sessions. Her reading and writing skills improve with every session. Working at her own pace and with the undivided attention of a tutor are the reasons that she is learning how to read now, something she was never able to do when she was in school. In addition to seeing a rapid increase in her reading ability, I have seen her whole appearance, personality and demeanor change from quiet and reserved to outgoing, smiling, and confident. She now has a part-time job, her first job in many years, and she looks forward to having access to a wider range of job opportunities as her reading and writing skills continue to grow. This is a strong woman who has a lot to offer our community, and AACLC is the reason she will be able to do that.

Every tutor working through AACLC has a similar story. None of us could be effective tutors without the training, support, and educational materials provided by AACLC. Few adult non-readers would participate in literacy training without the warm, respectful, and supportive outreach that AACLC provides to them. Everyone in our community benefits when an adult non-reader learns to read. We are fortunate that AACLC is a well-run organization that is working to meet this need.

April 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I am a tutor volunteer, and I volunteer as a board member of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council Board of Directors. AACLC is a totally nonprofit, all-volunteer organization providing individual... more

April 14, 2014

For many years, I wanted to volunteer as a tutor, but because of my work schedule, I never could attend the training. When I retired, one of the first things I did was sign up for the tutor training. I love helping others improve their lives. AACLC provides tremendous support to the tutors and students. It is truly an organization that keeps on giving...and giving.
October 25, 2012

I am a tutor volunteer, and I volunteer as a board member of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council Board of Directors. AACLC is a totally nonprofit, all-volunteer organization providing individualized, one-on-one tutor training for adult low- level readers and English as a second language students. I am so impressed with the quality of our volunteers and their commitment to their students and the cause of our organization. So many of our volunteers use their personal funds to serve their students. Nobody is reimbursed or paid for any work they do on behalf of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council. This is a top-notch organization helping so many community residents in need of help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

My husband is a volunteer and I have had the privilege to meet his student as well as the students wife. They both have expressed their gratitude for the help and they are pleased with the progress. His wife stated that he shows more interest in reading. This is a wonderful program for those that require the help with their skills. Thank you, Jeannie Smith
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

I joined the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council in 2011, right after it had been publicized in an article in a local newspaper. The article inspired a good-sized group of people to take the tutor training, and they were really needed. At that time, there was quite a backlog of people who had requested tutoring, but had not yet been matched with a tutor.
Since that time the council has continued to grow, become more organized and reached many more students. There are several tutor trainings each year, multiple workshops, fundraising events and a banquet with inspiring speakers for the students, tutors and their friends and families.
My own student's reading ability has improved greatly, he reads for pleasure on a regular basis now. I have great hopes that his increased skill will help him to be able to support himself, and someday a family of his own.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

As a volunteer, my experience has been exceptional! The staff was outstanding in the trainings and excellent in in all communications. AACLC is a wonderful asset to the community!.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014


When my third son went away to college, I decided to find some kind of volunteer work. I could not think of a more effective way to improve the common good than to help adults to read. The Literacy Council’s work seemed perfect.

After training, I was matched with a young mother of
two. Her children were starting to read. She conquered her fear and shame and asked for help. The Literacy Council was there to support her in her quest for literacy.

An investment in in the Literacy Council supports community volunteers who one-on-one, teach adults to read. Because they can read, they can also read to their children, get better jobs, read the news, become better informed voters, and have more self-confidence so they can come out of the shadows.

I sometimes like to bake bread, and the analogy of baking bread and this organization is hard to resist. A teaspoon of yeast, given some warmth and time, can turn a bowl of flour, salt and water into the staff of life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise it's visibility to attract more tutors and more students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

When I first heard of this organization, I was impressed enough to become a major silent donor. I then decided to become an active participant and am now the president of the board of directors. I am ... more

April 14, 2014

I not only support this organization with my time but also my checkbook. I just paid for our new data base system to track students and tutors monthly progress reports, freeing up volunteers time formally spent completing the reports by hand. I also offer matching funds to double a donors contribution in our on-line campaigns.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

When I first heard of this organization, I was impressed enough to become a major silent donor. I then decided to become an active participant and am now the president of the board of directors. I am committed to the council's purpose of providing one on one reading and writing instruction to adult residents of Anne Arundel Co

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

I was just a bit nervous the day I met my student, but I think she was just as nervous. We met at the library and our first session was very introductory. Today was our second meeting, and after about... more

April 14, 2014

As Student Coordinator for the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I am the voice of the student. I admire the students for their courage to contact us and their determination to continue with their studies, and I congratulate them on their successes. None of this would be possible without our free, one-on-one tutoring, which is exactly the type of assistance they need. I am proud to be associated with the AACLC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was just a bit nervous the day I met my student, but I think she was just as nervous. We met at the library and our first session was very introductory. Today was our second meeting, and after about a half hour into the session, it just "clicked." What an exciting feeling! We felt comfortable enough to have an easy exchange. I could see her enthusiasm and her eagerness to learn, and to re-learn many of the things she was taught in her home country many years ago. And I believe she could sense my sincerity and joy in wanting to help her. The AACLC plays such a beautiful and meaningful role in helping others learn to read and function in our society -- something many of us take for granted. I'm glad I'm a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

I don't know when I've seen a more dedicated team. I shopped around for the best organization for which to volunteer. There is no question I found my home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer