Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.945955
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

If you can imagine not being able to read yet through the efforts of volunteers providing one-on-one tutoring, you not only learn to read but your life takes on a new dimension. That is what AACLC is all about. As a tutor I can speak from experience that this organization provides invaluable service to individuals and in turn to the community.
Lina Vlavianos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

My friend is a volunteer at AACLC and she tells the most wonderful stories about helping people read and how reading opens up a world for them. My friend now has a glow about her; as she's more exciting by what she gets from volunteering.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is a rewarding experience for the student and the tutor. What I found in my short time involved with this group is how other organizations are very open to offering their space and time to assist in the efforts of training students. It's a positive experience when everyone is invested in helping those who need help. I look forward to more time spent in teaching those who need some help with reading and speaking English.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

When I was approached to join the Board of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I checked out the organization carefully. Was I impressed! The achievements of this ALL-VOLUNTEER organization ar... more

April 15, 2014

The Anne Arundel County Literacy Council provides FREE one-on-one tutoring to adult residents of the county who seek to improve their reading and writing skills. Now celebrating 36 years of service, AACLC has assisted more than 2,000 persons and has trained over 1,000 volunteer tutors and assessors. The demand for the services of AACLC is great and continues to increase. It is estimated that 70,000 adults in Anne Arundel County lack the basic skills needed to obtain a high school diploma or a GED. AACLC has tutors trained in both literacy and English as a Second Language. No other literacy program in Anne Arundel County provides this combination of features to facilitate accessible and individualized instruction to residents who are striving to develop the skills that are essential for success in our society.

To track the success of its program and to demonstrate accountability, AACLC has implemented its first-ever database containing information about tutors and students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

When I was approached to join the Board of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I checked out the organization carefully. Was I impressed! The achievements of this ALL-VOLUNTEER organization are inspirational. The AACLC provides FREE one-on-one tutoring to adult residents of the county who seek to improve their reading and writing skills. Now celebrating 35 years of service, the AACLC has assisted more than 2,000 persons. In the past year alone, AACLC tutors performed more than 5,000 hours of literacy instruction. No other literacy program in Anne Arundel County can match the personalized help provided by AACLC. In the time that I have served on its Board, I can testify that the enthusiasm for the work of this organization as evidenced by tutors, Board members and especially its program director is contagious. You hear a lot about wanting to make a difference. By empowering people to develop the basic skills that are essential for success in our society, everyone who takes part in the AACLC does just that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is an incredible group of volunteers who work with adult literacy. This nonprofit organization is a godsend. It shows great respect for both the adult students as well as the volunteers.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

The AACLC is an outstanding nonprofit organization serving adults in Anne Arundel County who wish to learn to read. A large corp of dedicated volunteer tutors work one-on-one with the adult learners/students using especially designed curriculum materials to facilitate optimum learning for each individual. Tutor-student pairs meet in various branches of the Anne Arundel County Library system. An outstanding feature of the program is the close bond that develops over time, between the tutor and student. This bond greatly contributes to the success of the student. Many students have offered their testimony on how the AACLC program has made such a great difference in the quality of their lives in so many way - vocationally, socially and in their own feelings of self-esteem and confidence. Learning to read after living to adulthood without being able to read becomes such a great victory for those who reach their reading goals of success through the outstanding offerings of the AACLC.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

The Literacy Council makes possible what cannot be accomplished in a classroom - a personal dimension to learning.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Outstanding, devoted, selfless volunteers. Great people serving humbly and patiently. Changing the world one person at a time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Not being able to read is like being blind even though your eyes are open. One of the greatest rewards is seeing the light bulb go on inside a student's head when she/he realizes that the letters make a word that can express a feeling or a need or a want and that words can be connected to make a thought and the thoughts can be connected to tell their story and then comes the magic of writing it down so they see their words being read by their children and grandchildren and even better being able to finally read those words to the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Working as a tutor with AACLC has been an extremely rewarding experience and one of the most worthwhile projects I have ever undertaken. Daily life is difficult in so many ways for adults with low literacy levels, and learning to read changes their lives. Things that someone who reads takes for granted are difficult if not impossible for an adult non-reader -- applying for a job or even qualifying for most jobs, getting a driver's license, finding items at a grocery store, reading the directions for your prescription medicines, paying bills, voting, reading notices children bring home from school, staying in touch with family and friends by texting or email or Facebook, etc.

The student I have been tutoring for the past six months is a 44-year old mother of six who dropped out of school when she was sixteen, with little reading skills in spite of all of those years in school. She sought out AACLC because her children were growing up and were not going to be around much longer to help her with things that required reading. She and I were both nervous when we met and unsure about what this experience was going to be like, but we quickly found a comfortable routine. We meet at the library twice a week for two-hour tutoring sessions. Her reading and writing skills improve with every session. Working at her own pace and with the undivided attention of a tutor are the reasons that she is learning how to read now, something she was never able to do when she was in school. In addition to seeing a rapid increase in her reading ability, I have seen her whole appearance, personality and demeanor change from quiet and reserved to outgoing, smiling, and confident. She now has a part-time job, her first job in many years, and she looks forward to having access to a wider range of job opportunities as her reading and writing skills continue to grow. This is a strong woman who has a lot to offer our community, and AACLC is the reason she will be able to do that.

Every tutor working through AACLC has a similar story. None of us could be effective tutors without the training, support, and educational materials provided by AACLC. Few adult non-readers would participate in literacy training without the warm, respectful, and supportive outreach that AACLC provides to them. Everyone in our community benefits when an adult non-reader learns to read. We are fortunate that AACLC is a well-run organization that is working to meet this need.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer