Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.947375
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

You can't imagine how much AACLC is accomplishing! Both tutors and clients are being sought out by whatever means all of us can think of. We have an active board, a volunteer structure that includes folks in charge of tutor training, tutor oversight, methods for matching tutors and clients, an incredible monthly newsletter, community links with all appropriate agencies, and connections with politicians and local media.

Volunteers are given intensive training and offered regular workshops to increase their capabilities.

AACLC also recognizes its volunteers both formally and informally.

All of these things are accomplished by a group of dedicated volunteers who not only donate their time and talents, but funding as well.

Jill York

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assure that they had some funding - and more recognition for the work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

If you can imagine not being able to read yet through the efforts of volunteers providing one-on-one tutoring, you not only learn to read but your life takes on a new dimension. That is what AACLC is all about. As a tutor I can speak from experience that this organization provides invaluable service to individuals and in turn to the community.
Lina Vlavianos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

My friend is a volunteer at AACLC and she tells the most wonderful stories about helping people read and how reading opens up a world for them. My friend now has a glow about her; as she's more exciting by what she gets from volunteering.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is a rewarding experience for the student and the tutor. What I found in my short time involved with this group is how other organizations are very open to offering their space and time to assist in the efforts of training students. It's a positive experience when everyone is invested in helping those who need help. I look forward to more time spent in teaching those who need some help with reading and speaking English.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This organization provides one-on-one tutoring for adults in Anne Arundel County absolutely free! I met a number of students who became successful after working with a tutor, my daughter is a tutor, and I hope to be one soon. I grew up devoring books, and raised my child to enjoy reading. I cannot imagine what it must be like to want to do something so badly, and not having the resources to learn. There are many adults in the the community who do not read, or do not read well, and having someone work with them is a blessing.
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 6, 2013

When I was approached to join the Board of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I checked out the organization carefully. Was I impressed! The achievements of this ALL-VOLUNTEER organization ar... more

April 15, 2014

The Anne Arundel County Literacy Council provides FREE one-on-one tutoring to adult residents of the county who seek to improve their reading and writing skills. Now celebrating 36 years of service, AACLC has assisted more than 2,000 persons and has trained over 1,000 volunteer tutors and assessors. The demand for the services of AACLC is great and continues to increase. It is estimated that 70,000 adults in Anne Arundel County lack the basic skills needed to obtain a high school diploma or a GED. AACLC has tutors trained in both literacy and English as a Second Language. No other literacy program in Anne Arundel County provides this combination of features to facilitate accessible and individualized instruction to residents who are striving to develop the skills that are essential for success in our society.

To track the success of its program and to demonstrate accountability, AACLC has implemented its first-ever database containing information about tutors and students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013

When I was approached to join the Board of the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council, I checked out the organization carefully. Was I impressed! The achievements of this ALL-VOLUNTEER organization are inspirational. The AACLC provides FREE one-on-one tutoring to adult residents of the county who seek to improve their reading and writing skills. Now celebrating 35 years of service, the AACLC has assisted more than 2,000 persons. In the past year alone, AACLC tutors performed more than 5,000 hours of literacy instruction. No other literacy program in Anne Arundel County can match the personalized help provided by AACLC. In the time that I have served on its Board, I can testify that the enthusiasm for the work of this organization as evidenced by tutors, Board members and especially its program director is contagious. You hear a lot about wanting to make a difference. By empowering people to develop the basic skills that are essential for success in our society, everyone who takes part in the AACLC does just that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is an incredible group of volunteers who work with adult literacy. This nonprofit organization is a godsend. It shows great respect for both the adult students as well as the volunteers.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

The AACLC is an outstanding nonprofit organization serving adults in Anne Arundel County who wish to learn to read. A large corp of dedicated volunteer tutors work one-on-one with the adult learners/students using especially designed curriculum materials to facilitate optimum learning for each individual. Tutor-student pairs meet in various branches of the Anne Arundel County Library system. An outstanding feature of the program is the close bond that develops over time, between the tutor and student. This bond greatly contributes to the success of the student. Many students have offered their testimony on how the AACLC program has made such a great difference in the quality of their lives in so many way - vocationally, socially and in their own feelings of self-esteem and confidence. Learning to read after living to adulthood without being able to read becomes such a great victory for those who reach their reading goals of success through the outstanding offerings of the AACLC.
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

The Literacy Council makes possible what cannot be accomplished in a classroom - a personal dimension to learning.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Outstanding, devoted, selfless volunteers. Great people serving humbly and patiently. Changing the world one person at a time

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer