Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I am currently working with a 20 year old young man who dropped out of high school after the tenth grade. I cannot praise too highly the quality & quantity of support I receive from those in charge of AACLC: E-mails with suggestions for different techniques and new resources, seminars on specific topics, continuing training opportunities, and responses to e-mail queries within minutes. AACLC even sponsored a dinner party with a motivational speaker for students and tutors earlier this month.

When I started with this student, six months ago, he really couldn't read at all! Meeting twice a week and using the Laubach method prescribed by AACLC, he has completed Book 1 and is truly able to read fluently the materials provided with confidence. That AACLC provides all materials to students and tutors at no charge is amazing. The gift of the tools needed to learn to read truly enhances their value. My student and I are proud of his progress and look forward to broadening and refining his skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing! Great job, everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

I have worked with the board and staff of AACLC to help them revitalize their website. Without exception, I found them to be dedicated, well-trained, knowledgeable, and passionate about their organiza... more

May 25, 2014

I have had the privilege of helping AACLC with their website for two or three years, and I continue to be amazed at how active, committed, and engaged its volunteers and supporters are.

Every month there are new "Success Stories" of lives changed, and often those lives are not just the
students, but the tutors as well. I have an inside glimpse of how many hours of dedicated service are put into this organization, and it is staggering.

If you are a potential donor with a heart for changing lives, especially if you live in the Anne Arundel County area, there could be no better organization for you to consider supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more donors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2012

I have worked with the board and staff of AACLC to help them revitalize their website. Without exception, I found them to be dedicated, well-trained, knowledgeable, and passionate about their organization's mission. Anne Arundel County is fortunate to have such a vibrant group performing such a vital service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I am a volunteer literacy tutor and I fnd the AACLC to be very effective in recruiting adults who need assistance with increasing their speed and ability to read. I have had 3 tutoring students - they have all been able to meet their objectives in terms of increasing their ability to read.

The most motivated of my students have been those who want to read as well as their children do - to be able to assist their children with their homework, answer their questions about reading assignments, etc. All of my students have been able to achieve that objective and more.

Very good organization, that allows one on one tutoring for those who are not able to work in a class environment.
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

This organization does so much to attend to the literacy needs of so many. I have never worked with such dedicated volunteers and seen the lives of their clients impacted so profoundly. Helping people to read or read better has a domino effect on the community. By helping one person, you positively affect everyone around them nurturing independence, productivity and a better quality of life.
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

The Ann Arundel County Literacy Council activities have a profound influence on the clients who want to read and write. Opportunities open to those who become literate. All this is done with a corps of volunteers.
April 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

I am new to the organization but the two trainings I have attended show clearly that they do all in their power to reach their mission's goals and ensure that volunteers have all the tools and support... more

April 16, 2014

Recipients of this service are so grateful and say it can be life changing. I know that the volunteers and staff go well beyond to help the students achieve their goal. It's just as rewarding to the volunteers as the student when they reach their goal.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

I am new to the organization but the two trainings I have attended show clearly that they do all in their power to reach their mission's goals and ensure that volunteers have all the tools and support they need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have now been involved as a tutor with the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council for several months as a volunteer. As a tutor, I work with two adults, teaching them how to read and write. It is most rewarding to see my students progress in their studies and become more educated and confident about their new found skills. One student's goal is to become a nurse, while the other wishes to get a better job to support his family and eventually attend college.

I think the AACLC is a most worthy non profit organization and offers essential services and educational opportunities to Anne Arundel County residents. Currently, there are 70,000 people in my county who do not have the reading and writing skills to obtain a GED. The more support AACLC gets from the county and state, financially and otherwise, the more AACLC will be able to help our citizens reach their educational goals and become independent.

I am very thankful for this opportunity to be involved in such a worthy organization.
Sarah M. Fredericks
Odenton, MD

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been a part of this organization only since last November. In that short time, I have found that many of the people are very dedicated and help make it a successful organization. I am very proud to be a part of such a well run council.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

AACLC offers excellent instruction to prepare tutors. It pairs up tutors to students geographically to optimize convenience for both parties. This also improves the chances that tutors and students will be able to meet regularly. The AACLC office provides training materials and frequently suggests helpful websites. Even the periodic emails with lesson ideas and inspiring stories keeps the focus on the training and success for students. I am very pleased with the support I receive as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

The Anne Arund Literacy Counci is a very important volunteer group that is sincerely dedicated to helping adults of all ages to improve their reading. The "students" and their volunteer tutors develop a
personal relationship as they work together in the reading process. I love working with my
student at the public library and seeing him progress; and, the Literacy Council provides all the training and all the materials that we need. Tell your friends and family what a great organization it is, helping so many of our county residents to become better readers!

L. L..
Second year AACLC tutor
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer