Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

You can't imagine how much AACLC is accomplishing! Both tutors and clients are being sought out by whatever means all of us can think of. We have an active board, a volunteer structure that includes folks in charge of tutor training, tutor oversight, methods for matching tutors and clients, an incredible monthly newsletter, community links with all appropriate agencies, and connections with politicians and local media.

Volunteers are given intensive training and offered regular workshops to increase their capabilities.

AACLC also recognizes its volunteers both formally and informally.

All of these things are accomplished by a group of dedicated volunteers who not only donate their time and talents, but funding as well.

Jill York

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assure that they had some funding - and more recognition for the work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

The Ann Arundel County Literacy Council activities have a profound influence on the clients who want to read and write. Opportunities open to those who become literate. All this is done with a corps of volunteers.
April 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

I am new to the organization but the two trainings I have attended show clearly that they do all in their power to reach their mission's goals and ensure that volunteers have all the tools and support... more

April 16, 2014

Recipients of this service are so grateful and say it can be life changing. I know that the volunteers and staff go well beyond to help the students achieve their goal. It's just as rewarding to the volunteers as the student when they reach their goal.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

I am new to the organization but the two trainings I have attended show clearly that they do all in their power to reach their mission's goals and ensure that volunteers have all the tools and support they need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have now been involved as a tutor with the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council for several months as a volunteer. As a tutor, I work with two adults, teaching them how to read and write. It is most rewarding to see my students progress in their studies and become more educated and confident about their new found skills. One student's goal is to become a nurse, while the other wishes to get a better job to support his family and eventually attend college.

I think the AACLC is a most worthy non profit organization and offers essential services and educational opportunities to Anne Arundel County residents. Currently, there are 70,000 people in my county who do not have the reading and writing skills to obtain a GED. The more support AACLC gets from the county and state, financially and otherwise, the more AACLC will be able to help our citizens reach their educational goals and become independent.

I am very thankful for this opportunity to be involved in such a worthy organization.
Sarah M. Fredericks
Odenton, MD

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been a part of this organization only since last November. In that short time, I have found that many of the people are very dedicated and help make it a successful organization. I am very proud to be a part of such a well run council.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

AACLC offers excellent instruction to prepare tutors. It pairs up tutors to students geographically to optimize convenience for both parties. This also improves the chances that tutors and students will be able to meet regularly. The AACLC office provides training materials and frequently suggests helpful websites. Even the periodic emails with lesson ideas and inspiring stories keeps the focus on the training and success for students. I am very pleased with the support I receive as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

The Anne Arund Literacy Counci is a very important volunteer group that is sincerely dedicated to helping adults of all ages to improve their reading. The "students" and their volunteer tutors develop a
personal relationship as they work together in the reading process. I love working with my
student at the public library and seeing him progress; and, the Literacy Council provides all the training and all the materials that we need. Tell your friends and family what a great organization it is, helping so many of our county residents to become better readers!

L. L..
Second year AACLC tutor
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

If you can imagine not being able to read yet through the efforts of volunteers providing one-on-one tutoring, you not only learn to read but your life takes on a new dimension. That is what AACLC is all about. As a tutor I can speak from experience that this organization provides invaluable service to individuals and in turn to the community.
Lina Vlavianos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

My friend is a volunteer at AACLC and she tells the most wonderful stories about helping people read and how reading opens up a world for them. My friend now has a glow about her; as she's more exciting by what she gets from volunteering.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is a rewarding experience for the student and the tutor. What I found in my short time involved with this group is how other organizations are very open to offering their space and time to assist in the efforts of training students. It's a positive experience when everyone is invested in helping those who need help. I look forward to more time spent in teaching those who need some help with reading and speaking English.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer