Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.946675
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
April 20, 2014

more

April 20, 2014

I am currently working with a 20 year old young man who dropped out of high school after the tenth grade. I cannot praise too highly the quality & quantity of support I receive from those in charge of AACLC: E-mails with suggestions for different techniques and new resources, seminars on specific topics, continuing training opportunities, and responses to e-mail queries within minutes. AACLC even sponsored a dinner party with a motivational speaker for students and tutors earlier this month.

When I started with this student, six months ago, he really couldn't read at all! Meeting twice a week and using the Laubach method prescribed by AACLC, he has completed Book 1 and is truly able to read fluently the materials provided with confidence. That AACLC provides all materials to students and tutors at no charge is amazing. The gift of the tools needed to learn to read truly enhances their value. My student and I are proud of his progress and look forward to broadening and refining his skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing! Great job, everyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I am a volunteer literacy tutor and I fnd the AACLC to be very effective in recruiting adults who need assistance with increasing their speed and ability to read. I have had 3 tutoring students - they have all been able to meet their objectives in terms of increasing their ability to read.

The most motivated of my students have been those who want to read as well as their children do - to be able to assist their children with their homework, answer their questions about reading assignments, etc. All of my students have been able to achieve that objective and more.

Very good organization, that allows one on one tutoring for those who are not able to work in a class environment.
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

This organization does so much to attend to the literacy needs of so many. I have never worked with such dedicated volunteers and seen the lives of their clients impacted so profoundly. Helping people to read or read better has a domino effect on the community. By helping one person, you positively affect everyone around them nurturing independence, productivity and a better quality of life.
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

The Ann Arundel County Literacy Council activities have a profound influence on the clients who want to read and write. Opportunities open to those who become literate. All this is done with a corps of volunteers.
April 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

I am new to the organization but the two trainings I have attended show clearly that they do all in their power to reach their mission's goals and ensure that volunteers have all the tools and support... more

April 16, 2014

Recipients of this service are so grateful and say it can be life changing. I know that the volunteers and staff go well beyond to help the students achieve their goal. It's just as rewarding to the volunteers as the student when they reach their goal.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

I am new to the organization but the two trainings I have attended show clearly that they do all in their power to reach their mission's goals and ensure that volunteers have all the tools and support they need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have now been involved as a tutor with the Anne Arundel County Literacy Council for several months as a volunteer. As a tutor, I work with two adults, teaching them how to read and write. It is most rewarding to see my students progress in their studies and become more educated and confident about their new found skills. One student's goal is to become a nurse, while the other wishes to get a better job to support his family and eventually attend college.

I think the AACLC is a most worthy non profit organization and offers essential services and educational opportunities to Anne Arundel County residents. Currently, there are 70,000 people in my county who do not have the reading and writing skills to obtain a GED. The more support AACLC gets from the county and state, financially and otherwise, the more AACLC will be able to help our citizens reach their educational goals and become independent.

I am very thankful for this opportunity to be involved in such a worthy organization.
Sarah M. Fredericks
Odenton, MD

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I have been a part of this organization only since last November. In that short time, I have found that many of the people are very dedicated and help make it a successful organization. I am very proud to be a part of such a well run council.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

AACLC offers excellent instruction to prepare tutors. It pairs up tutors to students geographically to optimize convenience for both parties. This also improves the chances that tutors and students will be able to meet regularly. The AACLC office provides training materials and frequently suggests helpful websites. Even the periodic emails with lesson ideas and inspiring stories keeps the focus on the training and success for students. I am very pleased with the support I receive as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

The Anne Arund Literacy Counci is a very important volunteer group that is sincerely dedicated to helping adults of all ages to improve their reading. The "students" and their volunteer tutors develop a
personal relationship as they work together in the reading process. I love working with my
student at the public library and seeing him progress; and, the Literacy Council provides all the training and all the materials that we need. Tell your friends and family what a great organization it is, helping so many of our county residents to become better readers!

L. L..
Second year AACLC tutor
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

You can't imagine how much AACLC is accomplishing! Both tutors and clients are being sought out by whatever means all of us can think of. We have an active board, a volunteer structure that includes folks in charge of tutor training, tutor oversight, methods for matching tutors and clients, an incredible monthly newsletter, community links with all appropriate agencies, and connections with politicians and local media.

Volunteers are given intensive training and offered regular workshops to increase their capabilities.

AACLC also recognizes its volunteers both formally and informally.

All of these things are accomplished by a group of dedicated volunteers who not only donate their time and talents, but funding as well.

Jill York

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assure that they had some funding - and more recognition for the work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give the gift of literacy for life by teaching another person to read. You meet with your student at the local library for 1 to 2 hours per week, at convenient times for both you and your student. Volunteer