Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 18, 2013

As a CASA I can make a difference in the life of a child in foster care. The Anne Arundel County CASA organization makes this possible by training me and providing professional social worker oversigh... more

September 18, 2014

After taking a year off from being a CASA for some family health issues, I have just started a new case, my fifth since becoming a CASA in 2006. I cannot find words to say how much coming back to this work means to me - to help change for the better the life of an abused or neglected child is the most rewarding (and sometimes, heartbreaking) volunteer job EVER. Despite a foster care system that tries to do the best for these kids, it is impossible for the caseworkers to know the kids the way a CASA does - DSS staff have so many kids on their caseloads, while a CASA focuses on one child or sibling group at a time. Fulfilling the dual role of mentor to the child(ren) and eyes and ears for the court is challenging, and the support we CASAs receive from the professional staff at AA Co. CASA is a big part of how we can do this work to the best of our ability!
April 18, 2013

As a CASA I can make a difference in the life of a child in foster care. The Anne Arundel County CASA organization makes this possible by training me and providing professional social worker oversight - thanks to them, I am helping to change the world, one child at a time!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

My CASA experience started with my training and first case in 2006. I have had four cases so far in my 6+ years as a CASA - one of the most rewarding and, at times, hardest volunteer jobs I've ever had. The professional staff at AA County CASA are the best - knowledgeable, supportive, caring, accessible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 18, 2013

After leaving the workplace I found I had time on my hands and wanted to do something useful. Becoming a CASA certainly has fulfilled that wish. I advocate for two teenage siblings who have become par... more

August 13, 2014

Becoming a CASA has been the single most rewarding experience of any volunteer activity which I have been involved. It cannot be understated how vital our role as CASA's are in the cycle that kids in foster care must endure. Multiple placements, change of caseworkers, change of status within the system, multiple school changes due to placement changes, health and mental issues, abuse, neglect, possible substance abuse or sexual abuse. This is a day in the life of a foster child. As CASA's we become institutional knowledge of the child within the ever changing world around them. Without our reports to the court, the picture of the child would be incomplete. And I have witnessed first hand how our reports are treated by the system. The CASA report is the first report the Master reads. It is the most objective look at the child, but it is also the most intimate look, revealing personality traits and items or help the child may need. These kids deserve what every child deserves, love, stability, consistency, a safe environment. We cannot erase what parental failure has wrought, but we can certainly speak up on their behalf so their voice is heard.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow CASA's to also be able to assume the role of "parent advocate" for school matters. As it stands now it is considered a conflict of interest. I don't see why, the CASA often knows more about the child then the overworked DSS worker, and placement providers vary from case to case. It should not be mandatory certainly, but if asked to assume that role I think it a CASA should be able to accept that additional volunteer activity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2013

After leaving the workplace I found I had time on my hands and wanted to do something useful. Becoming a CASA certainly has fulfilled that wish. I advocate for two teenage siblings who have become part of my life on a weekly basis and who I am happy to say have learned to trust me. Trust is a hard concept for children who have been exposed to the worst possible parenting, have experienced loss of innocence at a young age and have grown up in several placements. We all look forward to our weekly get togethers, and another small point, they actually answer the phone when I call rather then text!

The siblings are currently in separate placements, as a CASA I now see how critical we are in terms of continuity in their lives. After a year, I am the only one who is still part of their lives as caseworkers, therapists, and placements change frequently. Remaining objective can sometimes be difficult, these kids are absolutely amazing, resilient and lovable. Every child should have someone to stand up for them. That's the beauty of the CASA program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

I've been a CASA for about 9 months. I have the privilege of advocating for two siblings, a boy age 14 and a girl age 15. These kids are awesome! They have had to deal with so much in their short lives, from parents who are addicts to their own addictions and they are both thriving with the help of a network of people dedicated to seeing them in a loving home. I love taking them places, like museums, shopping for their clothes, touring college campuses, or their favorite, Chipotle. They are both bright and beautiful and deserve all the best. I am gratified that during court hearings the judge/master reads my report first and I'm here to say that it was clearly given weight in the proceedings. It is gratifying to see how critical an objective person is in bringing personal knowledge of the kids, from interviewing parents, foster parents, school resources, medical professionals etc. to the process of weighing what is right or wrong for them. I'll also say that my DSS worker has expressed thanks on many occasions for my being there for the kids. Her work load is huge and CASA's are a big help to DSS. I am very glad I took this huge step to become a CASA. Oh, and our supervisors are awesome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I was a Court Appointed Special Advocate for twin girls in the foster care system for nine years (from the time they were12 until they aged out of the system at 21). CASA trained me and helped me navigate the social services system, the education system throughout this period and reviewed my twice yearly reports to the court. I visited the girls regularly, attended the planning meetings for them, did regular school visits, had contact with their therapists etc. I think my greatest achievement was re-uniting them with their biological parents (the girls had been adopted due to the mother's age at birth and the adoptive parent abused the girls). Anne Arundel CASA is a wonderful organization; the staff operate as a team, and there is no fat in the organization. Fellow volunteers are wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

From the first night of training it was clear that the staff of the AACCASA was totally committed to the vision of the Seattle judge who had the idea of a CASA for each child in foster care. The executyive director, Rebecca Tingle, continually creates opportunities to make the program known throughout the community. As a volunteer I always feel totally supported in what I am doing. The staff is knowledgable about the social service system and the court system. They are able to clarify any questions that I have.
The emphasis is about the children not the "great job" the agency is doing. I volunteer for other non-rofits and am always glad to see that AACCASA ia following its purpose in everything they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

This is my first year as a Court Appointed Special Advocate. The training was excellent,and the support is excellent in helping me to work with my young teen and the other professionals who help him with his special needs. My motivation is to support this youngster as he works to develop into a young man.

L L
CASA volunteer
April 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

CASA is a wonderful organization that provides one on one support for abused and neglected children in the fostercare system. These children often do not have a voice and their needs can be overlooke... more

April 22, 2013

CASA provides a very valuable service to abused and neglected children that are having to navigate the foster care system. These children are often faced with traumatic and complex family situations and their needs can easily slip through the cracks as the "system" tries to help them. A CASA is necessary keep the needs of the child in mind and support the often overburdened social workers.

CASA is very supportive with training of its volunteers and with acknowledging their importance for each of these children. As a volunteer, I feel totally supported by CASA staff in helping me do my best for these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

CASA is a wonderful organization that provides one on one support for abused and neglected children in the fostercare system. These children often do not have a voice and their needs can be overlooked. CASA volunteers assure that each of these children is heard and receives the best support possible in their quest for a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2012

CASA volunteers are often the one constant in a child's life. Most of the children served have been neglected or rejected by family and society; the CASA volunteer provides a much needed advocate fo... more

April 19, 2013

CASA makes a real difference in the lives of the children it helps. Often, the CASA volunteer is the most significant positive adult influence in the lives of children who have known only negativity and despair. Society and families have thrown these chlldren on the trash heap; CASA volunteers pick them up, dust them off and love them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

CASA volunteers are often the one constant in a child's life. Most of the children served have been neglected or rejected by family and society; the CASA volunteer provides a much needed advocate for the child who is there because he or she want to be there, not because it is a job. Although often frustrating, working with these children is the most rewarding activity one can ever have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

I've been a CASA in Anne Arundel County for 3 years, having served in a similar capacity in another Maryland jurisdiction for 6 year before that. Orientation, training, and ongoing supervision are ha... more

April 18, 2013

I've been a CASA for 10 years, the last 3 of which have been in Anne Arundel Ct., MD. With training and regular supervision, I've been able to effectively support 3 children in the county's child welfare system. All have faced significant challenges but my role as the person who is asked by the court to focus on their best interests has allowed me to make what I believe is an important contribution to their well-being. It is an unique opportunity to work one-on-one with a child who needs the support a CASA volunteer can offer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

I've been a CASA in Anne Arundel County for 3 years, having served in a similar capacity in another Maryland jurisdiction for 6 year before that. Orientation, training, and ongoing supervision are hallmarks of this organization and key to working effectively with children (and families) with many challenges. It gives me a chance to commit to one or two children at a time and do everything I can to ensure that they get the care and services they need to move to a better place in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

Volunteering as a CASA has helped me learn, understand, sympathize, support, and nurture my community and so many of the children and families in it.

It's been a worthwhile endeavor that I will never give up and never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

CASA gives the volunteer an opportunity to impact a child's life. All of the CASA kids have had a very hard start in life. CASA volunteers become a mentor, a person these kids can depend on and a friend. It remains the most rewarding volunteer work I have ever done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers