Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I am new to CASA, having just completed the training. The training itself gives a new volunteer some insight on the complexity of the tasks ahead and knowledge of the situations to be encountered. I have also observed the organization closely for the last couple of years as my wife worked with her case, and as I heard many stories of the major roles played by CASA volunteers in the disrupted lives of children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I first volunteered at a CASA event after hearing about their cause and not thinking that I had enough time. I soon discovered that every little bit helped the children who needed help the most. Whether it is volunteering in to office, expressing a creative side through design work for events or working hands on with the children and volunteers, every moment I spend and every dollar I give, I know that I am helping an abused child, a child that through no fault of their own got the rotten end of the stick. Watching their work and hearing about the children as they grow and settle make me proud to be a part of Anne Arundel County CASA. It is through the one on one support of CASAs that these children know someone is giving them a voice and looking out for their best interest, letting them know that someone cares.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I joined CASA over ten years ago. The training I received was extremely professional and thorough. The on-going supervision and support have been exceptional. Children in the foster care system have a social worker and a legal aide attorney representing them; however, these professionals have very heavy workloads and are limited in the amount of time they can devote to each child. The CASA volunteer has just one child, or group of siblings, at a time, and, thus, is able to thoroughly delve into all aspects of the child's life . . . family, school, health care, etc. I was very pleased and impressed to discover how much value the judges place on the recommendations of the CASAs. In many instances, the CASA volunteer is the only constant in a child's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Anne Arundel County CASA is truly a special organization. The passion and dedication of the volunteers is unsurpassed. Many of the volunteers dedicate more than 20 hours per week working directly with one child who desperately needs their help. Their work prevents these children from being further abused and neglected and in many cases literally saves these childrens' lives. Our community is very fortunate to have such a tremendous group working so hard to better the lives of the children who need our help the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

CASA of Anne Arundel County not only is staffed by those committed to protecting the abused and neglected children in the foster care system, they and their volunteers tirelessly pursue any and all means to raise funds to train additional CASA volunteers; raise awareness of CASA and its critical mission, and expand the number of trained advocates to meet their goal that every child in the system has a voice through their CASA advocate. This is not a "job" for the staff and their volunteers, but rather a commitment and a passion to save children and better our society now and for generations to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a CASA volunteer for 14 years. The training is excellent and the supervision extremely helpful. I've had five cases, with a total of 12 children ranging in age from 1 to 21. Sometimes the parents had custody of their kids but were under supervision for past neglect. In others, the children were with relatives, group homes or foster families. In most cases, the CASA is the one constant in the child's life. Social workers, lawyers, and even judges change, but the CASA sticks with the kids. I find that judges rely very heavily on the CASA's to provide the information needed to make life changing custody decisions. It's a very gratifying experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Being a CASA has opened my eyes to the needs of children in Foster Care. AACCASA has given me the awesome opportunity to make a difference in the life of a foster child. The training, the supervision and support given to the volunteers by the organization is excellent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I am a CASA. What is that you ask? It is a Court Appointed Special Advocate for children who have been removed from their home due to neglect or abuse. We are the eyes and ears for the judge who makes life altering decisions about these children only based on what they hear in court. This program was started by a judge who felt he just didn't have enough accurate information to make those decisions. We are highly trained volunteers who are assigned to one child (or multiple if children are in same family) at a time. We interview and interact with everyone relevant in the child's life and report our findings to the judge. We also create a bond with our children...we are the only person who may be with the child the entire time the case is open. Often they go from foster home to foster home or group homes, they change social workers, they change attorneys, they change schools, family and friends come and go, but their CASA is constant. We are there for consistent support, guidance and hope. A child who has been removed from an abusive situation is scared and has been betrayed by those they love the most. They don't know who they can trust, who is telling the truth, who is actually looking out for their best interest. Once a CASA is assigned, they can trust that there is at the very least one person who will do whatever is necessary to make sure they are getting the best care possible. If it is in the child's best interest to be reunified with the family, we help with that. If it is in the child's best interest to seek other living arrangements, we help with that. It is our goal to find a safe permanent home that is in the best interest of that child. We volunteer to change a child's world from hurt to hope. There is no greater reward.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

After working with the Executive Director, it is easy to see her commitment along with the entire staff and volunteers to making a difference for children in need of guidance. Without this organization, children stuck in the court system could fall by the wayside and left to fend for themselves in unfortunate conditions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is one terrific organization. It does fantastic work with a segment of society (abused and neglected children) that are truly victims and need help from dedicated people with great hearts who know what they are doing. That describes Anne Arundel County CASA to a "T". Their dedicated volunteers and staff are incredible. The "one on one" model of pairing one volunteer with one child absolutely works. This is an organization that deserves your support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers