Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

CASA is an EXCELLENT organization that gives the necessary care and compassion to abused and neglected children. I have been a CASA for almost 5 years in Anne Arundel County. In those years, I have advocated for two teenage girls. I cannot think of any other way I would rather give my time to. It is an absolute honor to work as a volunteer with CASA. Such a worthwhile cause. The CASA volunteer can make a true difference in a child's life. Recently I attended the annual CASA conference and got the opportunity to hear first hand from a panel of young ladies that were previously in the Court system. Their stories and life experiences truly broke my heart, however I was touched at their positive attitudes and awesome triumphs!!! They noted how their experiences made them who they are today and how their CASA made such a HUGE impact in their lives; so much so that they were still in touch with their CASA even though they have "aged out" of the system. The CASA staff are awesome and you always have their support and guidance every step of the way. I adore my CASA supervisor! There are so many abused and neglected children in the world who need a loving, supportive and caring person in their life. Being a CASA has blessed my life because it allows me to give back, which I think is so important to do! I would encourage others to become a CASA…. there are children that need you and can benefit from the love and care you have to give! Most rewarding!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I am retired and wanted to do something with my time that was useful and would make a difference. So, after hearing about CASA on the Dr. Phil show, I volunteered. I have been a CASA for almost two years and it has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I advocate for a three-year old and his 11 month old sister. I have been able to build a trust with these children and to provide a consistency in their life. Their current placement is leading to adoption and it is so rewarding to see the love these children receive from the foster parents and the love they return. How great to be part of this! My time could not be better spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

One day while watching Dr. Phil, he talked about CASA and what a wonderful organization it was. He encouraged his audience to become a CASA volunteer. I was recently retired and had some time on my hands, so looked into it. I have never been sorry. Yes, it takes time. Yes, it takes some money. Yes, it takes patience, creativity, and understanding. But, whatever it takes, is multiplied many times in the return it gives me, and I hope and pray in the return it gives an abused or neglected child. Anne Arundel County CASA does a wonderful job reaching children in need. The children are not alone and the volunteers are not alone. CASA truly makes a difference in the lives of the children and the volunteer. Dr. Phil was right. CASA is indeed a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

This is a wonderful organization that takes the time to give the necessary care and compassion to abused children in the Arundel County Court system. I have been a CASA for 2 years and have advocated one teenager. She has had some really bad things happen to her and now she in a small group home for girls receiving the therapy and guidance she needs to be a healthy whole young lady. The staff is extremely supportive and caring; I could not think of a better organization to get involved in. AA County CASA, Inc. truly helps the court system ensure that details do not get lost in paperwork. Sometimes the smallest detail can be life changing for a child. Please join there are children that need you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a CASA my first and only case involved an infant placed in foster care because her Mother was homeless. A year later the adoption process has started for her foster parents to become her parents. What a loving and happy ending for my first CASA baby.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I am new to CASA, having just completed the training. The training itself gives a new volunteer some insight on the complexity of the tasks ahead and knowledge of the situations to be encountered. I have also observed the organization closely for the last couple of years as my wife worked with her case, and as I heard many stories of the major roles played by CASA volunteers in the disrupted lives of children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I first volunteered at a CASA event after hearing about their cause and not thinking that I had enough time. I soon discovered that every little bit helped the children who needed help the most. Whether it is volunteering in to office, expressing a creative side through design work for events or working hands on with the children and volunteers, every moment I spend and every dollar I give, I know that I am helping an abused child, a child that through no fault of their own got the rotten end of the stick. Watching their work and hearing about the children as they grow and settle make me proud to be a part of Anne Arundel County CASA. It is through the one on one support of CASAs that these children know someone is giving them a voice and looking out for their best interest, letting them know that someone cares.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I joined CASA over ten years ago. The training I received was extremely professional and thorough. The on-going supervision and support have been exceptional. Children in the foster care system have a social worker and a legal aide attorney representing them; however, these professionals have very heavy workloads and are limited in the amount of time they can devote to each child. The CASA volunteer has just one child, or group of siblings, at a time, and, thus, is able to thoroughly delve into all aspects of the child's life . . . family, school, health care, etc. I was very pleased and impressed to discover how much value the judges place on the recommendations of the CASAs. In many instances, the CASA volunteer is the only constant in a child's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Anne Arundel County CASA is truly a special organization. The passion and dedication of the volunteers is unsurpassed. Many of the volunteers dedicate more than 20 hours per week working directly with one child who desperately needs their help. Their work prevents these children from being further abused and neglected and in many cases literally saves these childrens' lives. Our community is very fortunate to have such a tremendous group working so hard to better the lives of the children who need our help the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

CASA of Anne Arundel County not only is staffed by those committed to protecting the abused and neglected children in the foster care system, they and their volunteers tirelessly pursue any and all means to raise funds to train additional CASA volunteers; raise awareness of CASA and its critical mission, and expand the number of trained advocates to meet their goal that every child in the system has a voice through their CASA advocate. This is not a "job" for the staff and their volunteers, but rather a commitment and a passion to save children and better our society now and for generations to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers