Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I have been volunteering as a dog walker for almost a year, and every experience I've had with AWLA has been positive. I've seen the care they take in improving the health & well-being of newly arrived dogs, the effort they take in training volunteers so everyone is consistent with treatment of dogs, the scrutiny of adopters so the dogs have a "forever home," and the professionalism of all the staff. I look forward to my volunteer shifts to brighten my day! It's a valuable resource for Arlington County and Northern Virginia!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask the County to allocate more money to increase their resources!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In early January of this year I made the heartbreaking decision to have my beloved Jade euthanized at VCA Alexandria Hospital. I was told that it may take longer than usual, but that I would be notified when I could pick up her ashes at VCA . As you can imagine, this was an extremely difficult time for me and my family. However, I took some comfort in knowing that Jade would be coming back home. After not hearing from the VCA for 6 weeks, I called them. I was then referred to Ms. Wilson at Animal Welfare League of Alexandria. Ultimately, I was not able to receive Jade’s ashes. However, what is even more distressing is the way I was treated by Ms. Wilson. During our conversation, I was not just told that her ashes had been disposed of but that to test for rabies they had to “cut off her head” to test her brain. Now in addition to losing my sweet girl, I have the mental image of her being decapitated and thrown away like trash. There were other inappropriate comments made during this conversation – however that was by far the most devastating. The image that she provided has haunted me since Thursday and has caused a tremendous amount of pain. I often donate to animal rescue organizations, however, I believe that the leadership of these organizations sets the tone for their activities. The leadership of the Animal Welfare League of Alexandria has acted in a way that is contrary to their mission! I often donate to animal rescue organizations; however, I believe that senior leadership sets the tone for their activities. Given that, I am greatly concerned about the direction of this organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2011

more

August 4, 2011

This is my local resuce, and I am proud to volunteer there. Their volunteer program is incredibly well run, and has a vast array of projects and areas to volunteer in.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The shelter's great Training and Behavior Department Chair impacts operations of the whole shelter in such a positive way, trying to find ways to make sure that the animals have the best experience possible while waiting for thier adopters to find them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise enough money to give them their own indoor/outdoor training facility!

November 19, 2010

more

November 19, 2010

This is a fabulous shelter. They did an excellent job of providing us support when we adopted our lab mix in the summer of 2002. The visit at the shelter was engaging and positive. The follow up home visit was great. They provided follow up support to answer questions about crate training about a month after adoption. We continue to donate to the shelter and receive their newsletter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving a wonderful companion as a part of our family, who is a great fit!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have any changes to recommend.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers