Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.368425
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

I have donated annually to the SPCA since 2000. I noticed that this was a no kill shelter and thought I would do some research. In doing my research, I came across a beautiful cat that I wanted to adopt. I filled out the application and the person reviewing the application said that I was denied because they could not locate records to the animals that I recently inherited this year (May and August) due to loss of my mother AND my brother. I have no idea where these records would be, but I have taken responsibility for their animals and given them a loving home. I wanted to adopt a cat and had to call back to find out the status because nobody called me. The woman I contacted was incredibly rude telling me that they sent me an email because she was copied on it. I asked what it said and she didn't want to tell me. I asked if she could resend it or tell me about it since I was supposed to have received it anyway. She then told me that I was denied. I asked why and she told me that she was at work and would not discuss it. So I asked her to call me back when she had a chance when she was not at work. She said ok, and about a month later, I'm still waiting on my phone call... I'm not holding my breath on that. Her name was Cathy...

(Ginny in the shelter was very kind and seemed to genuinely love animals and treated people kindly as well. She was the only person that wasn't unpleasant in my experience. )

It breaks my heart to see animals sharing a cage with other animals for MONTHS and this organization begging for money to fund their building and care for these animals when they won't allow these pets to go into a loving home and won't take the time to understand each individual case before deciding whether it not someone is worthy of a pet.

I do not recommend doing business with this organization because my application for a pet was handled poorly. The employee/volunteer that I spoke with was very disrespectful and condescending. She had also never heard of pet armor (same active ingredient as frontline), and she said that I needed records of using frontline on the pets that I inherited. Frontline and pet armor are two over the counter treatments that I would have to keep receipts for in order to adopt a pet... Ridiculous!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teach the people dealing with the public how to speak to people and handle each application on a case by case basis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

Our ARNO experience was beyond all expectations. Thanks to ARNO our Pokie has a loving home and a new best friend. The folks at ARNO are professional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

We have ARNO to thank for our beautiful pup Penny, who was abandoned and left on the streets to fend for herself when her previous owner moved away and deserted her. Thinking she was someone's lost dog, I posted numerous messages on various shelters' Facebook pages as well as Craigslist. ARNO contacted me and worked tirelessly to trap her, nursed her back to health, gave her shelter, and provided her with medical care. It is truly incredible and absolutely touching to see that they do this for many other animals, as many as they can reasonably and possibly care for. It's important to remember they are a volunteer-driven, no-kill shelter that relies on the kindness of devoted animal lovers and charitable donations for their cause. I don't know if I've ever seen a more selfless group of people; they truly love these animals and work around the clock to provide care, comfort, protection, and love for these poor babies. On any given day at the shelter they're washing blankets and towels, scrubbing kennels and floors, walking and offering human kindness to their animals, and that's not to mention their tireless campaign to help each and every pet find a loving, forever home. Of course, we asked to adopt our Penny and every day we are thankful to ARNO for bringing her to us. She is such a joy and now lives happily with us and our four other dogs. Thank you ARNO, for ours and Penny's happy ever after. We are so humbled by everything you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

i Adopted my youngest ca, Kentucky, from Arno, She had been at one of their outreach events. The process was a bit intimidating at first a form with references and such but I understand its important to find good permanent homes especially for No-Kill shelters. Once I was approved I just had to wait until she was spayed and I got to take her home. She's adorable and sweet and everyone's favorite cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

ARNO has now become a part of our extended family because they introduced us to the newest addition of our family. I was very impressed with their evaluation methods and couldn't be happier with the outcome! They are an amazing outreach within the stray community! So caring, compassionate and loving. My vet calls them New Orleans' Angels on Earth!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I contacted ARNO about a pair of pair of (what I thought were) stray dogs that I would see every other morning on my way to work. They responded to me right away and asked me to provide specific information such as the dogs' physical condition/appearance, exact locations, times, etc. The next time I saw the dogs, they were wearing their tags, and I determined that they were not strays. I contacted ARNO to let them know about that and they were very appreciative of the news. They also told me that if I ever saw the owner, I was within my rights to warn them about letting their dogs roam the streets without tags. Although ARNO did not physically get involved with this situation, I was very impressed with their responsiveness and willingness to assist these dogs. I have never met any of the staff in person, but based on this experience as well as their Facebook posts about their work, I believe that they are some of the most selfless and generous people I know. ARNO is the epitome of a GREAT nonprofit and they deserve all of the success in the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

socialize dogs who have never known human kindness; walk, run and play with dogs for their enrichment; pet, brush and play with cats for their enrichment; clean kennels; do dishes (disinfect food & water bowls) and disinfect litterboxes; help at shelter with laundry or repairs. Volunteer