Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.368425
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

ARNO is the only organization I would help. They do so much with so little and thier dogs and cats are their first priority. A fantastic group that works so hard to save so many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They have limited space in a wharehouse. I wish I could buy them a state of the art shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

I started my saga as a rescuer of cats after Katrina. I can't tell you how many wonderful hours I spent at ARNO is ungodly hot weather cleaning the kitty cages and talking to all the babies. It is certainly some of the best times of volunteering career. With little or no money they take as many animals as possible and try to find them homes. The surroundings are not perfect, but this is not a perfect world. If it was, there would be no strays and the shelters would have unlimited funds. ARNO does what it says "Saving one until there are none".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Oh gosh with unlimited funds I'd have runs (inside and outside) for the dogs and huge kitty condos where the cats could be free to interact and play. I would also have air conditioning. That being said my only complaint was that too much was spent on emergency care for very sick animals. I feel that money could be spent more wisely helping many animals instead of one. BUT this is an opinion that many rescue organizations that are no kill do not agree with. It's just my opinion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I decided to volunteer at ARNO one day thinking I had nothing to do that Saturday. That one day got me hooked. I have been there almost every Saturday since then for the past year and a half. ARNO is the only no-kill shelter in the area and it is clear that everyone really cares about the animals in our care (even the little field mice that come around). Some of our animals have been at ARNO for a couple of years but they don't even know they are missing anything. They get all the love they could ever want until they find their forever home. Although ARNO cannot always take in dogs and cats that are brought by, we still do what we can to get them to a home safely (ask the person who found them to foster until we can find them space, post pictures of them on facebook letting others know where he is and get him seen). Over the time I have been there, ARNO has taken in an emaciated bull dog/pit mix found by my sister's job, a lab mix and her 8 newly born puppies found under my head start center in New Orleans East, and 2 pit bulls I found in New Orleans East. All have been adopted except for the last two pit bulls, which will hopefully be adopted soon as well. ARNO was unable to take in the last two mentioned dogs right away due to a lack of space, but everyone worked with me to post them on facebook continuously until we found them fosters and we could pull them from the kill shelter they had to be left at. ARNO has rescued many dogs and cats and will continue to rescue many more with the help of you, the volunteers and the donors. Noone can ever question if the volunteers at ARNO care about and love these animals. ARNO is also one of only a couple places in the U.S. that takes in and rehabilitates feral dogs to trust the humans they never knew. In the past 6 months, at least 3 feral dogs were adopted into loving homes where they know more love than they would have ever dreamed of. These same dogs would not have made it out of another shelter alive, as they are the ones hiding in the back of their runs and getting overlooked because they are just too scared. I honestly can't say enough good things about ARNO. ARNO is always looking for more donations and more volunteers so they can keep it going and if you can't donate money or time or food and can't foster, sharing the word about ARNO and their mission will help us to find more of the animals homes and save more lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

ARNO is a no-kill, volunteer-driven charity that directs 100% of its monetary proceeds to animals. Some resident dogs & cats have lived at ARNO for years & more show up on their doorstep daily so the facility is bursting at the seams. Incredibly dedicated volunteers are scheduled to work 3 shifts a day, 7 days a week, to care for their overflowing population (walking dogs, cleaning cat & dog cages, bathing animals, doing laundry, sorting clothing donations, washing dishes, etc). The vet bills are staggering, some of which are for animals that were so injured or ill when they arrived that it was considered unlikely that the dog or cat would live. I can't say enough positive things about this charity & the volunteers who work tirelessly for their furry residents. ARNO needs your help in the form of volunteer hours, providing foster & adoptive homes, money to keep the lights on & food in the bowls, supplies & much more. But don't take my word for it - please visit their facility to learn more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I've always loved animals. They make me smile. They make me happy. I learned of ARNO after Katrina because I was so upset about everything that happened and I was so concerned about all the animals that were left behind... I wanted to help even a little. So I volunteered then, but only for one day, I'm sad to say. But a year ago I went back and have been going there as a regular volunteer. I love those babies. ARNO is a no kill shelter, we need more places like that, more safe heavens for the lost, the unwanted, the abused. The people at ARNO are wonderful, and everyday I'm amazed with their spirit, their kindness, their love for all those creatures. Every day I wish I was more like them, more like Kathy, more like Lise, more like Charlote, more like Ginnie, more like Laura. Everyday I keep trying to be better and help them save lives. ARNO IS A HOME FOR THE DOGS AND THE CATS. ARNO IS A FAMILY. WE DEFINITELY NEED MORE PLACES LIKE ARNO. Love you guys, thanks for all you teach me :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Great animal rescue shelter! I've never met people who work as hard as they do for the well being of the animals. I am grateful that they take in and care for feral dogs as well as all other dogs and cats in need. I adopted two feral dogs from them five years ago and they have been the most wonderful additions to our family. Please support this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

ARNO has taught me so much about caring for my own pets. I voluteered with them after Katrina and Charlotte allowed me to rescue litters of puppies that had been abandoned. It was a healing experience and I have several ARNO rescued dogs that I adopted. I cannot say enough good about them, a wonderful group to work with. They are a true NO Kill Rescue. Go be a Volunteer with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

socialize dogs who have never known human kindness; walk, run and play with dogs for their enrichment; pet, brush and play with cats for their enrichment; clean kennels; do dishes (disinfect food & water bowls) and disinfect litterboxes; help at shelter with laundry or repairs. Volunteer