Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.368425
Write A Review
November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

ARNO is a no-kill, volunteer-driven charity that directs 100% of its monetary proceeds to animals. Some resident dogs & cats have lived at ARNO for years & more show up on their doorstep daily so the facility is bursting at the seams. Incredibly dedicated volunteers are scheduled to work 3 shifts a day, 7 days a week, to care for their overflowing population (walking dogs, cleaning cat & dog cages, bathing animals, doing laundry, sorting clothing donations, washing dishes, etc). The vet bills are staggering, some of which are for animals that were so injured or ill when they arrived that it was considered unlikely that the dog or cat would live. I can't say enough positive things about this charity & the volunteers who work tirelessly for their furry residents. ARNO needs your help in the form of volunteer hours, providing foster & adoptive homes, money to keep the lights on & food in the bowls, supplies & much more. But don't take my word for it - please visit their facility to learn more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

i Adopted my youngest ca, Kentucky, from Arno, She had been at one of their outreach events. The process was a bit intimidating at first a form with references and such but I understand its important to find good permanent homes especially for No-Kill shelters. Once I was approved I just had to wait until she was spayed and I got to take her home. She's adorable and sweet and everyone's favorite cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

ARNO has now become a part of our extended family because they introduced us to the newest addition of our family. I was very impressed with their evaluation methods and couldn't be happier with the outcome! They are an amazing outreach within the stray community! So caring, compassionate and loving. My vet calls them New Orleans' Angels on Earth!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I've always loved animals. They make me smile. They make me happy. I learned of ARNO after Katrina because I was so upset about everything that happened and I was so concerned about all the animals that were left behind... I wanted to help even a little. So I volunteered then, but only for one day, I'm sad to say. But a year ago I went back and have been going there as a regular volunteer. I love those babies. ARNO is a no kill shelter, we need more places like that, more safe heavens for the lost, the unwanted, the abused. The people at ARNO are wonderful, and everyday I'm amazed with their spirit, their kindness, their love for all those creatures. Every day I wish I was more like them, more like Kathy, more like Lise, more like Charlote, more like Ginnie, more like Laura. Everyday I keep trying to be better and help them save lives. ARNO IS A HOME FOR THE DOGS AND THE CATS. ARNO IS A FAMILY. WE DEFINITELY NEED MORE PLACES LIKE ARNO. Love you guys, thanks for all you teach me :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Great animal rescue shelter! I've never met people who work as hard as they do for the well being of the animals. I am grateful that they take in and care for feral dogs as well as all other dogs and cats in need. I adopted two feral dogs from them five years ago and they have been the most wonderful additions to our family. Please support this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I contacted ARNO about a pair of pair of (what I thought were) stray dogs that I would see every other morning on my way to work. They responded to me right away and asked me to provide specific information such as the dogs' physical condition/appearance, exact locations, times, etc. The next time I saw the dogs, they were wearing their tags, and I determined that they were not strays. I contacted ARNO to let them know about that and they were very appreciative of the news. They also told me that if I ever saw the owner, I was within my rights to warn them about letting their dogs roam the streets without tags. Although ARNO did not physically get involved with this situation, I was very impressed with their responsiveness and willingness to assist these dogs. I have never met any of the staff in person, but based on this experience as well as their Facebook posts about their work, I believe that they are some of the most selfless and generous people I know. ARNO is the epitome of a GREAT nonprofit and they deserve all of the success in the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

ARNO has taught me so much about caring for my own pets. I voluteered with them after Katrina and Charlotte allowed me to rescue litters of puppies that had been abandoned. It was a healing experience and I have several ARNO rescued dogs that I adopted. I cannot say enough good about them, a wonderful group to work with. They are a true NO Kill Rescue. Go be a Volunteer with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Contacted ARNO and spoke with a lady through email about six months ago (last message received on July 18) when my husband and I took in an olde english bulldog puppy rescued from a puppy farm by a friend. Although she is adorable, we weren't really planning on having a dog at the time, and didn't really have the financial ability to care for the dog's health problems. I was just starting a small company after being out of work for months. I contacted ARNO about possible adoption or even if they could just lend a helping hand in directing us to discounted services (the bulldog was not fixed, needed flee/heartworm, shots, and had a rash covering her belly and hind legs). I was asked to send pictures which I did, and to this day have yet to hear back from the service or receive any help. I would have been more than willing to give money to this organization in the future for any services rendered and continued donations as well. The situation as a whole is just frustrating. We still have that bulldog and have grown to absolutely adore her, and she has come a long way with my husband and I from the skittish, abused dog that walked through our doors. I would still love to hear from the organization in some way just to know that they actually care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

THIS GROUP IS ALWAYS POSTING ABOUT PETS WAITING TO BE ADOPTED, AS WELL AS HAPPY TAILS AND UPDATES. I WORKED AT A NO KILL SHELTER FOR 2 YEARS AND NEVER SAW THEM DO THIS KIND OF OUTREACH. I WOULD BE HONORED TO VOLUNTEER FOR THEM IF I WASN'T 2 HOURS AWAY. ITS A GRASS ROOTS EFFORT, WELL ORGANIZED, FULL OF PEOPLE WHO REALLY DO PUT THE ANIMALS FIRST. IF YOU ARE A FACEBOOK USER, CHECK THEM OUT. THEY POST DAILY, SEVERAL TIMES A DAY. PLEASE CONSIDER HELPING OUT A WORTHY ORGANIZATION, ANY WAY YOU CAN.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

socialize dogs who have never known human kindness; walk, run and play with dogs for their enrichment; pet, brush and play with cats for their enrichment; clean kennels; do dishes (disinfect food & water bowls) and disinfect litterboxes; help at shelter with laundry or repairs. Volunteer