Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.368425
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

I have donated annually to the SPCA since 2000. I noticed that this was a no kill shelter and thought I would do some research. In doing my research, I came across a beautiful cat that I wanted to adopt. I filled out the application and the person reviewing the application said that I was denied because they could not locate records to the animals that I recently inherited this year (May and August) due to loss of my mother AND my brother. I have no idea where these records would be, but I have taken responsibility for their animals and given them a loving home. I wanted to adopt a cat and had to call back to find out the status because nobody called me. The woman I contacted was incredibly rude telling me that they sent me an email because she was copied on it. I asked what it said and she didn't want to tell me. I asked if she could resend it or tell me about it since I was supposed to have received it anyway. She then told me that I was denied. I asked why and she told me that she was at work and would not discuss it. So I asked her to call me back when she had a chance when she was not at work. She said ok, and about a month later, I'm still waiting on my phone call... I'm not holding my breath on that. Her name was Cathy...

(Ginny in the shelter was very kind and seemed to genuinely love animals and treated people kindly as well. She was the only person that wasn't unpleasant in my experience. )

It breaks my heart to see animals sharing a cage with other animals for MONTHS and this organization begging for money to fund their building and care for these animals when they won't allow these pets to go into a loving home and won't take the time to understand each individual case before deciding whether it not someone is worthy of a pet.

I do not recommend doing business with this organization because my application for a pet was handled poorly. The employee/volunteer that I spoke with was very disrespectful and condescending. She had also never heard of pet armor (same active ingredient as frontline), and she said that I needed records of using frontline on the pets that I inherited. Frontline and pet armor are two over the counter treatments that I would have to keep receipts for in order to adopt a pet... Ridiculous!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teach the people dealing with the public how to speak to people and handle each application on a case by case basis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 25, 2013

more

December 25, 2013

I became aware of ARNO when I adopted a dog from this organization. ARNO is an all volunteer no kill facility. I donate dog food on a regular basis. Every time I arrive, there are volunteers taking the dogs for walks, others cleaning out the cages. Every time I go to a festival, ARNO volunteers are out there with pets to adopt. I am constantly amazed at the dedication these people have on an ongoing basis to care for the animals at the shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way for a bigger facility and more money. Amazing place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

This is one of the few organizations I truly believe in. I have seen the wonderful work they've done and love and compassion they have for all animals is above and beyond . When I donate I truly feel my money is doing good . If a animal falls into arnos hands consider them lucky ,they will do there absolute best to care for them and to find them loving forever homes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

When trying to find a lost cat .. I stopped in with hopes of looking for him and was told to leave flyer, but I couldn't go in to look at cats. The person I spoke with was less than friendly. Another person I know also had a bad experience with a less than friendly comment that was made to them when they were also searching for a lost pet. And even another when they were trying to find a place for a lost dog they had found.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The employees/volunteers need training with better communication skills so they are able to say no without being nasty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

ARNO is the only organization I would help. They do so much with so little and thier dogs and cats are their first priority. A fantastic group that works so hard to save so many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They have limited space in a wharehouse. I wish I could buy them a state of the art shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

I live in San Diego and read every day about ARNO and the wonderful group of volunteers. Sometimes I don't know how they get through the day with what they encounter. I have fierce respect for everyone involved. I share each story I receive on FB and when I'm not so broke I'll be able to donate. Thanks for everything you do to help these poor creatures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. If it ain't broke don't fix it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

Our ARNO experience was beyond all expectations. Thanks to ARNO our Pokie has a loving home and a new best friend. The folks at ARNO are professional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

I started my saga as a rescuer of cats after Katrina. I can't tell you how many wonderful hours I spent at ARNO is ungodly hot weather cleaning the kitty cages and talking to all the babies. It is certainly some of the best times of volunteering career. With little or no money they take as many animals as possible and try to find them homes. The surroundings are not perfect, but this is not a perfect world. If it was, there would be no strays and the shelters would have unlimited funds. ARNO does what it says "Saving one until there are none".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Oh gosh with unlimited funds I'd have runs (inside and outside) for the dogs and huge kitty condos where the cats could be free to interact and play. I would also have air conditioning. That being said my only complaint was that too much was spent on emergency care for very sick animals. I feel that money could be spent more wisely helping many animals instead of one. BUT this is an opinion that many rescue organizations that are no kill do not agree with. It's just my opinion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

We have ARNO to thank for our beautiful pup Penny, who was abandoned and left on the streets to fend for herself when her previous owner moved away and deserted her. Thinking she was someone's lost dog, I posted numerous messages on various shelters' Facebook pages as well as Craigslist. ARNO contacted me and worked tirelessly to trap her, nursed her back to health, gave her shelter, and provided her with medical care. It is truly incredible and absolutely touching to see that they do this for many other animals, as many as they can reasonably and possibly care for. It's important to remember they are a volunteer-driven, no-kill shelter that relies on the kindness of devoted animal lovers and charitable donations for their cause. I don't know if I've ever seen a more selfless group of people; they truly love these animals and work around the clock to provide care, comfort, protection, and love for these poor babies. On any given day at the shelter they're washing blankets and towels, scrubbing kennels and floors, walking and offering human kindness to their animals, and that's not to mention their tireless campaign to help each and every pet find a loving, forever home. Of course, we asked to adopt our Penny and every day we are thankful to ARNO for bringing her to us. She is such a joy and now lives happily with us and our four other dogs. Thank you ARNO, for ours and Penny's happy ever after. We are so humbled by everything you do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I decided to volunteer at ARNO one day thinking I had nothing to do that Saturday. That one day got me hooked. I have been there almost every Saturday since then for the past year and a half. ARNO is the only no-kill shelter in the area and it is clear that everyone really cares about the animals in our care (even the little field mice that come around). Some of our animals have been at ARNO for a couple of years but they don't even know they are missing anything. They get all the love they could ever want until they find their forever home. Although ARNO cannot always take in dogs and cats that are brought by, we still do what we can to get them to a home safely (ask the person who found them to foster until we can find them space, post pictures of them on facebook letting others know where he is and get him seen). Over the time I have been there, ARNO has taken in an emaciated bull dog/pit mix found by my sister's job, a lab mix and her 8 newly born puppies found under my head start center in New Orleans East, and 2 pit bulls I found in New Orleans East. All have been adopted except for the last two pit bulls, which will hopefully be adopted soon as well. ARNO was unable to take in the last two mentioned dogs right away due to a lack of space, but everyone worked with me to post them on facebook continuously until we found them fosters and we could pull them from the kill shelter they had to be left at. ARNO has rescued many dogs and cats and will continue to rescue many more with the help of you, the volunteers and the donors. Noone can ever question if the volunteers at ARNO care about and love these animals. ARNO is also one of only a couple places in the U.S. that takes in and rehabilitates feral dogs to trust the humans they never knew. In the past 6 months, at least 3 feral dogs were adopted into loving homes where they know more love than they would have ever dreamed of. These same dogs would not have made it out of another shelter alive, as they are the ones hiding in the back of their runs and getting overlooked because they are just too scared. I honestly can't say enough good things about ARNO. ARNO is always looking for more donations and more volunteers so they can keep it going and if you can't donate money or time or food and can't foster, sharing the word about ARNO and their mission will help us to find more of the animals homes and save more lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

socialize dogs who have never known human kindness; walk, run and play with dogs for their enrichment; pet, brush and play with cats for their enrichment; clean kennels; do dishes (disinfect food & water bowls) and disinfect litterboxes; help at shelter with laundry or repairs. Volunteer