Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.871565
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

ARL has saved countless furry lives. I know not all can be saved. I wish I could do more for them. I will be getting involved in knitting for them, now that I'm unemployed.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I've had 6 stray Cats/kittens spayed & neutered with their wonderful Purr project programs! Their programs help
make it adorable for families! I know we appreciate it so much!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My bf got his cats from the ARL and had him for 13 wonderful years. The ARL does so much for animals and make an effort to place them all in loving homes. They help people keep their pets when they might otherwise have to give them up. They off spay/neuter clinics for people who can't afford it otherwise and they spay/neuter, microchip, and give all animals their shots. They are a great organization
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Our ARL ROCKS! They have been going city by city changing the pit bull laws! They rescue, feed, love and find new and loving families for all pets. They so deserve to recognized and applauded for all they do for our State of Iowa. Thank you for all you do!
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

They help animals in need to avoid almost certain death. They also provide the public with information to learn, volunteer opportunities, and workshops for people to better understand the pets they do have.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Our daughter and her husband used to volunteer. So glad they did. It was a great place to volunteer and help a worthy cause.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

This organization is always willing to go above and beyond. They do their utmost to find all aniamls a home now and are a no kill facility. This is a lot different than the ARL from the past. They work with the community and other rescues to help ALL animals in need. They rock.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I attended a conference at ARL recently and was thoroughly impressed. It is a beautiful facility and very well organized and very well managed. The work they do is not always easy, but everyone I saw there was smiling and genuinely seemed happy to be there whether an employee or volunteer. What a great resource for the Des Moines area, and the entire state of Iowa!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

They go way beyond the norm of rescue. The facility is spotless and the animals are happy and loved.
October 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2014

While visiting Des Moines from out of state, I left my dog in his mobile kennel while I attempted to have breakfast at a local diner. His safe and secure place while traveling is the canopy covered bed of my truck which has large sliding windows on three sides for adequate ventilation, and plenty of fresh water in a spill proof container--and although it was early July, there was a breeze and the sky was completely overcast. I am a very responsible pet owner and determined that he was at no risk of heat stress. Moreover, his mobile kennel complies with the definition of "adequate shelter" in Des Moines muni code Section 18.1. However, someone complained and an arrogant, young ARL officer lied about the temp in the truck and was generally very hostile and assertive. After I told her I planned to file a complaint with her supervisor, she called DMPD and had me arrested for disorderly conduct.

The next day when I attempted to file my complaint against her, I was arrested again for animal abuse even though I had obeyed her order to remove my dog from his safe place and abandon him in a frightening restaurant basement that had not been checked for rodent poisons or other potentially lethal hazards.

Moral of the story: ARL does not accept complaints against their employees. If you try to complain be prepared to be falsely charged and arrested--these people are very vindictive and well connected. (The ARL director is married to the ARL board chair, and his son is the animal control officer supervisor!)
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers