Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.871565
Write A Review
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I love volunteering at the ARL. The people are great the facility is amazing and the animals are in my heart forever.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Most amazing shelter I have ever had the pleasure of working with.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

This is an awesome organization that I am proud to have my family associated with. The staff, volunteers, & foster families are some of the most caring & hard working people around. People seem to have heard that the ARL of Iowa won't turn an animal in need away, other shelter can't say that. No matter how packed the facility becomes (& how many foster homes they continue to look for now & in the future) they continue to struggle & continue to overcome the challenges of major overcrowding.
I am deeply grateful for the policy of the ARL which is TO NEVER PUT DOWN AN ADOPTABLE ANIMAL. Cats especially have remained in their care for over a year because they have not been adopted out yet, in no way, shape or form makes them any less valuable of a special animal in need of a chance for them & the ARL will continue to do their best to keep that animal in a home like surrounding until such time that the lucky day comes that the animal finds it's "furever" home & there is a place for everyone!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I am currently a student at Iowa State University studying Management in order to one day open up my own not-for-profit animal shelter. Animal Rescue League is exemplary in their field, I would be proud if my shelter ended up being half the shelter that ARL is. ARL does so much more than rescue dogs and cats, they educate the public, perform spay and neuter surgeries for the nearby communities, and do so much more! By far the greatest nonprofit I have ever experienced, and I am truly honored to work as an intern for this organization.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I volunteer at the ARL as a dog companion. The animals are well cared for, and the staff does their best to evaluate and train them to ready them for adoption.
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

This is the best non-profit. As the largest animal shelter in the state of Iowa. We take in approximately 19,000 animals a year. And that is not only dogs and cats but everything from alligators to injured wildlife. We never turn a needy animal away and then make every effort to find it a forever home or a sanctuary for it to be cured. We also go into our community to help needy families keep their pets by offering micro-chipping, vaccines and spay and neutering. Which leads less homeless animals, by keeping them in their homes and preventing unwanted litters. We have a very small paid staff and a very large volunteer staff of almost 2,000 people and almost 87% of our donations goes to animal care. I'm not sure how are staff and volunteers get it all accomplished but we do because of our love for the animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

They do lots of different kinds of promotions and have various volunteer opportunities that make it possible for everyone to find some way to help the ARL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

There are so many animals that have wonderful personalities and nobody to love and nobody to love them. I love the look on someone's face when they know they've found their forever friend and the wagging tails, barking, purring and cuddling when an animal knows "this is the one." We have two rescue cats that are sisters and I can't imagine our home without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to streamline the time taken to process an adoption. People get impatient (aren't most these days) but sometimes they're just anxious nervous or anxious excited. I do understand that the process needs to be sure that the match is right and forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The ARL is wonderful! They are great advocates for animals in the community with teaching and outreach. And they help so many animals every single day!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The ARL is a very professional group that runs like a well oiled machine. They make good use of their volunteers and really care about what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers