Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.914295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

This is the best non-profit. As the largest animal shelter in the state of Iowa. We take in approximately 19,000 animals a year. And that is not only dogs and cats but everything from alligators to injured wildlife. We never turn a needy animal away and then make every effort to find it a forever home or a sanctuary for it to be cured. We also go into our community to help needy families keep their pets by offering micro-chipping, vaccines and spay and neutering. Which leads less homeless animals, by keeping them in their homes and preventing unwanted litters. We have a very small paid staff and a very large volunteer staff of almost 2,000 people and almost 87% of our donations goes to animal care. I'm not sure how are staff and volunteers get it all accomplished but we do because of our love for the animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

They do lots of different kinds of promotions and have various volunteer opportunities that make it possible for everyone to find some way to help the ARL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

There are so many animals that have wonderful personalities and nobody to love and nobody to love them. I love the look on someone's face when they know they've found their forever friend and the wagging tails, barking, purring and cuddling when an animal knows "this is the one." We have two rescue cats that are sisters and I can't imagine our home without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to streamline the time taken to process an adoption. People get impatient (aren't most these days) but sometimes they're just anxious nervous or anxious excited. I do understand that the process needs to be sure that the match is right and forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The ARL is wonderful! They are great advocates for animals in the community with teaching and outreach. And they help so many animals every single day!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The ARL is a very professional group that runs like a well oiled machine. They make good use of their volunteers and really care about what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

When I retired, friends asked me "Well what are you going to do with all that spare time"..I answered, "Volunteer at the ARL". I volunteer in several different areas of the ARL, I'm a donor, and I adopted a puppy mill doggie. Because I work in these different areas, I see things that many don't. I see the care, love, patience that is given to every animal, medical needs being met, groomer making them pretty as well clean and comfortable, the kennels being scrubbed and cleaned early in the morning every day, volunteers spending time with those waiting for their furever home. Let's not forget about the spay and neuter clinics, the help lines to the Behavior Coordinator, the low cost training available to all. I've worked for major corporations in several states and I don't think I've ever been a part of an organization as well ran as the ARL. Are you a volunteer, a Care Tech, a Med Tech, do you work the Adoption Desk? No matter what your "job" is, you are made to feel that you are an important part of the team. I'm very proud to be a part of the ARL team and in my opinion the ARL deserves to be the #1 on the Top-Rated Non Profit List,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is my 20th year volunteering for the ARL. The growth of this organization over those years has been astounding. The ARL has established so many programs in which volunteers can participate and really feel like they are making a difference in the life of an animal. I have also adopted all my pets from the ARL - starting way back in 1983.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Animal Rescue League (ARL) of Iowa has so many programs - two that I am involved in are the Shelter Cat Program and Knittin' for Kittens. I foster cats for the Shelter Cat Program which is designed to get the longer residents cats and those that are not doing well in the shelter into a home environment while they are waiting for their forever homes. The ARL continues to promote these foster cats for adoption and they have a Facebook page for the foster network, a periodic newsletter for foster families, and on-going emails to check in on how the cats are doing. They really make foster families feel appreciated in helping them to find homes for even more animals. The Knittin'for Kittens program allows people to knit or crochet kitty mats the cats have in their cages while waiting for adoption and that can accompany him/her to their new home so they will have a scent they are familiar with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The ARL is an amazing organization. I have worked with them as a volunteer, as a foster "parent", as a donor and have adopted animals there as well. They are professional in every area. The staff that they have is amazing and I can't say enough good things about them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I have been a volunteer at the ARL for 2 years now. They are dedicated to helping all animals find a home. The staff is wonderful and caring it is a joy to volunteer there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers