Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.871565
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My family adopted a cat from the ARL last summer and it was an experience beyond what I could've imagined. Volunteers were quick to answer questions about the animals and quickly got us into a bonding room to meet with the cat that we ended up adopting. They told us everything they knew about her, which isn't much since she was a stray. The ARL even had a promotion going on that every striped cat had an adoption fee of $25, and our sweet girl had stripes. The staff took us through the whole adoption process as our cat got one last look over by the vet. We got a whole folder of information about good vets in the area to do a free first checkup and other information about the cat. My family thanks the ARL for helping us find our feline friend! We've had Minerva for a little over a year and couldn't be happier. She's blossomed into a lap cat who loves people and greets everyone at the door. The ARL does great things for the state of Iowa and I hope they continue for many years to come.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

After a long illness, or dog needed to be put to sleep. It was a very difficult decision for us to let him go, but we knew he would be at peace. But when we looked at ways to memorialize him, we found everything to be VERY expensive, until we found out that the ARL of Iowa would cremate him and return his ashes to us at a very affordable rate. We were thrilled. And they were so sensitive and caring throughout the process, as well as sending us a lovely letter letting us know that they understood our grief and when we were ready, a chance to meet a new friend through another adoption. So after we grieved the loss of our dear Winston, we went to the ARL of Iowa and met our new dog, Chip. We've had support from the ARL throughout the process of getting to know our new dog too. A great organization that deserves recognition for the work they do to keep people and their pets together, forever.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

They go way beyond the norm of rescue. The facility is spotless and the animals are happy and loved.
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Twice over the last 22 years my husband and I have adopted dogs from the ARL. The first was a German Shepherd mix named Smokey. We already had a Cocker Spaniel and the two of them hit it off right fro... more

October 23, 2014

I have always believed that the very best pets are rescued ones and with that in mind I have always gone to the ARL to find my fur babies. We have been so incredibly lucky to have found 3 furever friends there. Our first was Smokey, we adopted him at 1 1/2 yrs old and had him all the way up till he was 14. The second one we got was Cuddles and she lived up to her name. We had her for 13 years (we lost her 5 years after Smokey) and when it came time to make the hard choice to help her out of her misery we took her back to the ARL. They were AMAZING! The compassion they showed to not only us but her also was like no other! When I was finally ready to find a new furever friend I KNEW exactly where I would go, and that is how we came to have Lily in our family. They are so great in making sure that their pets are a good fit, not only with the people but with the other fur babies in the home! I can't imagine looking for a new friend anywhere else but the ARL of Iowa!!!
October 25, 2012

Twice over the last 22 years my husband and I have adopted dogs from the ARL. The first was a German Shepherd mix named Smokey. We already had a Cocker Spaniel and the two of them hit it off right from the start. They were inseperable until the day that the Cocker Spaniel was called to the rainbow Bridge. We noticed almost immediatly that Smokey seemed sad. He didn't play, he barely even ate. We spoke with the nice people at the ARL to get ideas on what we could do for him and when nothing seemed to work we decided to see if we could find him a new friend. We knew that we would not go anywhere but the ARL and even though we were in search of a smaller breed we came home with a Great Dane mix named Cuddles. I never in a million years would have thought that I was going to have that sized fur baby but one look into her eyes and it was love at first sight. In 2003 Smokey went to the rainbow bridge and having such a wonderful dog in Cuddles helped us all get through the grief. We lost Cuddles this year and although we still are not ready to adopt another we know that when we are ready there won't be anywhere else that we will look. We will head right out to the ARL and find another fur baby looking for a forever home and we know that the perfect baby will be there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I adopted my dog from ARL in 2012 and have been a small scale donor since. I love that they have the resources to get these animals into loving homes quickly and efficiently. When I adopted my dog I felt that they really took the time to make sure we were a good fit for her. That made me feel comfortable donating to them, and I hope they continue that still. We check ARL all the time for what dogs are up for adoption, and though we aren't ready for a new dog quite yet, they are a great resource for us to determine what kind of dog will be best.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

As a volunteer and an individual who has adopted two animals from the Animal Rescue League of Iowa, I must say they are the best out there. While looking for my cats, they were helpful, cared for future cat as if it were their own, which I believe is where their mind sets are, each animal in their selter is one of their personal family members. After finding the perfect cat they did a medical evaluation, which was thorough and when it came time to take my furry friend to my personal vet, there were no surprises. This is when I decided to start volunteering. As a volunteer, they gave us proper training which enabled us to give a five star experience for other potental adoptive families. Volunteering at the ARL of Iowa is one of the best experiences of my life. The look on new parents to new furbabies is one of the best looks, feelings in the world.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I volunteer at the ARL as a dog companion. The animals are well cared for, and the staff does their best to evaluate and train them to ready them for adoption.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

The ARL helped me with getting my pup spayed, and some of her final shots, plus they helped me out with a bag of food one month towards the end of the month when my funds had run out. They do great work with peoe who own pets, and who are trying to adopt a pet!
October 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2014

While visiting Des Moines from out of state, I left my dog in his mobile kennel while I attempted to have breakfast at a local diner. His safe and secure place while traveling is the canopy covered bed of my truck which has large sliding windows on three sides for adequate ventilation, and plenty of fresh water in a spill proof container--and although it was early July, there was a breeze and the sky was completely overcast. I am a very responsible pet owner and determined that he was at no risk of heat stress. Moreover, his mobile kennel complies with the definition of "adequate shelter" in Des Moines muni code Section 18.1. However, someone complained and an arrogant, young ARL officer lied about the temp in the truck and was generally very hostile and assertive. After I told her I planned to file a complaint with her supervisor, she called DMPD and had me arrested for disorderly conduct.

The next day when I attempted to file my complaint against her, I was arrested again for animal abuse even though I had obeyed her order to remove my dog from his safe place and abandon him in a frightening restaurant basement that had not been checked for rodent poisons or other potentially lethal hazards.

Moral of the story: ARL does not accept complaints against their employees. If you try to complain be prepared to be falsely charged and arrested--these people are very vindictive and well connected. (The ARL director is married to the ARL board chair, and his son is the animal control officer supervisor!)
December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The ARL has always been the best when rescuing animals, great program to help spay and neutering, program to supply food and leases for low income, training programs to help people learn how to take care of and train their pets. The beautiful birds that they recently acquired is a different story! Cannot believe they are requiring $20 to fill out a application....to see if you can adopt? The ARL must of called and got the price sheet at the pet stores because ARL prices are about the same. They also have not researched all of the Parrot Rescues which are bursting at the seams because people buy birds and do not educate themselves. The real problem is there are not many parrot rescues in Iowa. I question why did the ARL choose to sell these birds at pet store prices and the only reason I can figure out is to generate money for that shiny new building!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I had a request in to volunteer time and now I will not due to how they handled the birds. Recently I signed up for a grooming class but the class was cancelled and I recently requested a credit for the class.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers