Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.914295
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

When I retired, friends asked me "Well what are you going to do with all that spare time"..I answered, "Volunteer at the ARL". I volunteer in several different areas of the ARL, I'm a donor, and I adopted a puppy mill doggie. Because I work in these different areas, I see things that many don't. I see the care, love, patience that is given to every animal, medical needs being met, groomer making them pretty as well clean and comfortable, the kennels being scrubbed and cleaned early in the morning every day, volunteers spending time with those waiting for their furever home. Let's not forget about the spay and neuter clinics, the help lines to the Behavior Coordinator, the low cost training available to all. I've worked for major corporations in several states and I don't think I've ever been a part of an organization as well ran as the ARL. Are you a volunteer, a Care Tech, a Med Tech, do you work the Adoption Desk? No matter what your "job" is, you are made to feel that you are an important part of the team. I'm very proud to be a part of the ARL team and in my opinion the ARL deserves to be the #1 on the Top-Rated Non Profit List,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

My husband and I welcomed our dog Yadi into our lives in February of last year. Although we adopted Yadi from somewhere else, one of the wonderful trainers at the ARL helped us work with Yadi on some behavior issues (both his and ours:). The actions of an organization's staff say a lot about the organization, itself. I have only positive things to say about both Mick, our trainer, and the ARL.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

We have been to the ARL many times and are always amazed at what a clean, nice facility it is. The staff and volunteers absolutely love what they do and it is so evident as you walk through the ARL. We have participated in fundraising events with our daughter and dachshund, everything is always organized and runs smoothly. We look forward to many more events with the ARL in Des Moines.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I had to put my German Shepherd down 4 years ago. The very next day, my husband and I went to the Animal Rescue League to bring home a new friend. We fell in love with Peanut and brought her home. Peanut was to be my dog. Peanut had other ideas. My husband did not understand the bond that I had with my Shepherd. Peanut taught my husband the unconditional love that a dog has for their family. Peanut was abused before we got her. My husband and I have taught her how to trust and love humans again and Peanut has taught my husband the joy that a Best Friend can give. Since Peanut adopted my husband, I needed a Best Friend as well. We now have adopted Nani and we can't imagine our lives without them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

We adopted Bunny in 2010. She was a puppy mill rescue & being that there were some problems she had especially with men & my husband. They were very supportive & helpful when I asked for help on trying to acclimate her with my husband. Through emails & meeting with a staff member on pet behavior we learned ways to help her eventually get used to men. Even so that our neighbors are amazed when she walks up to them for attention. We also took training lessons for Bunny at the ARL & get great help with her & great ideas. They even let us bring our other dog so Bunny would be more at ease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Throughout the last 20 some years I have always obtained my pets through the Animal Rescue League of Iowa. My pets have brought me such comfort, joy and love that I can't imagine my life without any of my special friends. I highly recommend that anyone looking for a pet go to the Animal Rescue League and check out the wide variety of animals available. Adopting from a shelter gives pets the forever home that they need and deserve. You won't be sorry!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I've completely bonded to ARL and consider the organization a major asset of the Des Moines metro: My husband & I have been volunteers in years past (and surely will again as the busy-ness of life ebbs & flows): there were diverse opportunities suitable to each of us - where else could I photograph family pets for Christmas ornaments?... We've enjoyed community events like Dog Day at the ballpark and the annual auction (started going just the two of us & had so much fun we built up to buying a table & bringing friends). We are pleased to support ARL's work financially as much as possible. From the broader perspective, there is no end to the good they do in central Iowa. From their social networking, to spread information, to community education (like the dog grooming class I took this year), ARL permeates everything "pet" in this area. Their participation in last year's rescue of abused inmates of a puppy mill put them on my personal "hero" list. And taking over the City of Des Moines' "animal control" function is a big plus for the community also. But ARL is a personal asset as well. We've adopted four pets from them. All healthy, clean critters whose dynamic personalities add humor and dimension to our lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is my 20th year volunteering for the ARL. The growth of this organization over those years has been astounding. The ARL has established so many programs in which volunteers can participate and really feel like they are making a difference in the life of an animal. I have also adopted all my pets from the ARL - starting way back in 1983.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Animal Rescue League (ARL) of Iowa has so many programs - two that I am involved in are the Shelter Cat Program and Knittin' for Kittens. I foster cats for the Shelter Cat Program which is designed to get the longer residents cats and those that are not doing well in the shelter into a home environment while they are waiting for their forever homes. The ARL continues to promote these foster cats for adoption and they have a Facebook page for the foster network, a periodic newsletter for foster families, and on-going emails to check in on how the cats are doing. They really make foster families feel appreciated in helping them to find homes for even more animals. The Knittin'for Kittens program allows people to knit or crochet kitty mats the cats have in their cages while waiting for adoption and that can accompany him/her to their new home so they will have a scent they are familiar with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

We adopted a dog in aug 2011. She has been a great addition to our family. They were very helpful at finding us a good vet since we were new to the area. Any issues we have had they have been very helpful at helping us with them in a very timely manor. Thank you ARL!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers