Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.914295
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The ARL has always been the best when rescuing animals, great program to help spay and neutering, program to supply food and leases for low income, training programs to help people learn how to take care of and train their pets. The beautiful birds that they recently acquired is a different story! Cannot believe they are requiring $20 to fill out a application....to see if you can adopt? The ARL must of called and got the price sheet at the pet stores because ARL prices are about the same. They also have not researched all of the Parrot Rescues which are bursting at the seams because people buy birds and do not educate themselves. The real problem is there are not many parrot rescues in Iowa. I question why did the ARL choose to sell these birds at pet store prices and the only reason I can figure out is to generate money for that shiny new building!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I had a request in to volunteer time and now I will not due to how they handled the birds. Recently I signed up for a grooming class but the class was cancelled and I recently requested a credit for the class.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

The ARL of Iowa has continuously made strides in improving community education/awareness, creating programs to ensure long-term/permanent adoptions, and innovative fundraising/community support activities. If I could take on another animal, this would be the first place I'd go to and would donate to in the DSM area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

This is the best non-profit. As the largest animal shelter in the state of Iowa. We take in approximately 19,000 animals a year. And that is not only dogs and cats but everything from alligators to injured wildlife. We never turn a needy animal away and then make every effort to find it a forever home or a sanctuary for it to be cured. We also go into our community to help needy families keep their pets by offering micro-chipping, vaccines and spay and neutering. Which leads less homeless animals, by keeping them in their homes and preventing unwanted litters. We have a very small paid staff and a very large volunteer staff of almost 2,000 people and almost 87% of our donations goes to animal care. I'm not sure how are staff and volunteers get it all accomplished but we do because of our love for the animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

They do lots of different kinds of promotions and have various volunteer opportunities that make it possible for everyone to find some way to help the ARL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

There are so many animals that have wonderful personalities and nobody to love and nobody to love them. I love the look on someone's face when they know they've found their forever friend and the wagging tails, barking, purring and cuddling when an animal knows "this is the one." We have two rescue cats that are sisters and I can't imagine our home without them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to streamline the time taken to process an adoption. People get impatient (aren't most these days) but sometimes they're just anxious nervous or anxious excited. I do understand that the process needs to be sure that the match is right and forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The ARL is the place that the public, authorities and the news media can turn to for animal issues. They are always kind, caring and thoughtful. Without them the Central Iowa area would be awash in miserable pets and lost animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

We are so fortunate to have the ARL in our area. ARL not only cares for a tremendous number of homeless animals, but provides education to the public, provides programs for animal care, and is active in animal related legislation. ARL rocks!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Obtain additional funding for expansion of services for the animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

We adopted our chocolate lab almost a year ago and had a great experience. The ARL volunteers were very helpful. The inside was clean, dogs were very well taken care of. The ARL is contantly trying to find ways to adopt more pets. I already want to go back for another dog!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I was very impressed with our experience in adopting a cat from the ARL of Iowa. They were very helpful and yet very thorough in making sure that all the details were covered. Everyone we dealt with was wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None needed as far as I'm concerned.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

In 1992 we adopted a terrier mix from ARL that was a much loved member of our family for 14 years.
Although he had been abused and wasn't a very socialized little guy, the staff at ARL gave Pookie Bear a second chance and gave us a wonderful little character.
Although we have moved to New
Mexico, we still receive the weekly on -line news and marvel at what the ARL has accomplished. Wish we had them in Las Cruces!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Franchise them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers