Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

A friend of mine volunteers here and I have been through the shelter. I am amazed how happy the cats seem to be while they are waiting on their adoptive parents to show up. The staff is very caring and the volunteers know all about the cats and which ones have personalities that fit with what you are looking for.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

Rocky Mountain Feline Rescue is a wonderful shelter. They provide a refuge for a large number of kitties that is cage-free and safe and loving. They have a large fenced area outside for the cats to stroll about or climb trees and generally de-stress. It is a joy to visit and share time with their cats.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 24, 2011

My favorite area of the shelter is the FIV and feline leukemia rooms because these wonderful cats are given a chance to live and be happy that many other shelters wouldn't give them. I love to sit in... more

January 31, 2012

Rocky Mountain Feline Rescue (aka ARAS) is a wonderful cafe-free, no-kill shelter. I started volunteering here initially to relieve stress from a busy life, which works really well here because volunteers don't have to make an appointment to socialize cats. All you have to do is show up when they are open and let the kitty loving commence! They do have opportunities to become more involved, but there is never any pressure to do anything. If you love kitties, then come down and play!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering here has helped me to become a better person.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering here is very fulfilling. My life felt kind of empty before I started doing this. This fills me with joy.

August 24, 2011

My favorite area of the shelter is the FIV and feline leukemia rooms because these wonderful cats are given a chance to live and be happy that many other shelters wouldn't give them. I love to sit in the back yard and just let them come to me. What better way to get a tan than in the sun with a kitty on your lap?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering and fostering. I've seen many kitties go to good homes through the expert care of the shelter staff. I've also experienced the great support they give for foster families of kitties in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money! They are doing everything right, they just don't have the funds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, they are doing a great job!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met many new friends (human and kitty) through volunteering. It was also great to have a break from the crazy pace of the rest of my life.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great! I love it! That's why I still volunteer there.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering at this shelter 2 years ago and it was so my son would have something to do during off days from school. I fell in love with this place... It is surprising to most that this shelter doesn't cage the community. The cats are allowed to free roam and go outside in a secure yard and climb trees. They even have a cat cam that the cats can wear so you can see what their day is like. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly and it is truly a no kill- not for profit shelter and they do amazing things on a limited budget without any gov. assistance. I feel this is the best shelter in the world and it could be even better if they could get a few more donations and sponsors. The cats are all well taken care of and if I was a cat without a home I hope that I would end up in such a place until I could get a new forever family. Just an after thought I would not have spent two years of my life helping and raising foster babies unless I knew it would be making a difference in the lives of these cats. I know this group of people really care and enjoy making a difference in the world.

Videos

RMFR Public service anouncement video

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I believe their proactive approach to spay and neutering programs has made an impact on the number of newborn abandoned kittens that we have seen this year. The numbers are lower and getting people educated about population control and TNR programs is making a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

maybe try to get more advertising money to make their name a household word so this shelter could grow to serve more cats if needed, and they could get more cats adopted and matched to a new family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

maybe get more t-shirts printed with the logo or things to wear that has the logo and name on it ... i love to tell people about the shelter and it is a great conversation starter when i am out running errands..

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

yes i am learning more about taking care of my own cats... and I have made some great friends...

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

This experience makes me feel needed and appreciated the staff and board members always acknowledge the efforts of their volunteers, sponsors and donors. Always makes me feel good and happy to help any way I can.

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a donor, an occasional volunteer on events and publicity, and enthusiastic supporter. I'm also the slave of Claire, a tiny Oriental cat adopted from Rocky Mountain Feline Rescue (formerly ARAS) who bosses around our entire tribe of cats and all household members. RMFR is one of Denver's few feline-only, no-kill shelters. While most of the residents are healthy and active, RMFR also provides sanctuary for some of the sick, lame, and elderly cats that come in ... most of whom recover with medical treatment and TLC at the shelter and move on to find forever homes in the houses of friendly humans. They also have a highly successful cat sponsorship program that helps honor and showcase these lovely creatures for only a few dollars a day. The sponsor program not only is an easy way to donate to the shelter cats, but also helps get them adopted.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Claire, the cat my wife and I adopted from the shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more affluent donors. Seek larger donations from companies and foundations in addition to the individual donations we now get. Try to get wider publicity for the shelter. But they know this and are working towards these goals too!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Cats are neglected creatures in our society. Dogs get much more attention and funding and better treatment. But I like cats.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I donate yearly, and when the shelter needs funds.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Please donate to your local, no-kill feline shelters. They do the best work and are usually the most poorly funded.

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

RMFR is a caring organization - every cat is given lots of personal attention and love, and every volunteer and staff member is happy to chat with you and help you meet a cat that will be your new best friend. I have adopted two adult cats from the shelter and visit back at least once every month to spend some time with the other kitties! They are all very well taken care of, this shelter really cares for these cats. I would reccommend RMFR in a heartbeat to anyone who is wanting to adopt a new kitty friend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

I adopted my Kallie from there on January 19, 2002. They are very friendly there and have a wide variety of kitties to choose from. (Which makes it hard to decided, my sister ended up picking her out for me! :) ) It's nice that they don't have to be in cages and have a yard to explore. The lady in the front room had to try to chase Kallie down for me due to the fact that she was very skittish. After 10 minutes, she was able to get her, so I could spend some time with her. Was able to play with her a bit and then decided that I wanted to take her home. She is a really sweet kitty and loves to take care of her brothers and sisters. She loves her mama! :) I have and will continue to recommend this facility for find a friend for life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I absolutely love the RMFR, I adore cats and I'm happy to see that these cats are being cared for and loved until they can go to there future homes, I'm glad this place exists! :) I hope more cats get wonderful homes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

Volunteering at the shelter has been enjoyable and educational. Though cage-free is preferred, the consequence is cats are often jumpy from potential territorial disputes. One delightful thing that often happens is when I settle in a spot, cats invariably congregate and calm, taking turns in my lap. The kitties certainly get plenty of affection at this shelter, have more than enough food, are kept healthy, and live in a clean environment. I also learned it is possible to "herd cats"! When it is time to come inside, they come when called! I never would have imagined!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 24, 2011

This shelter fills a niche that most others are not willing to fill, that of taking in all cats and keeping them for the fullness of their lives. When I had no room to take in cats, they were willing... more

January 22, 2012

I am the volunteer coordinator for the shelter and, recently, have also become a board member. Though a busy fellow, I decided to take on a more active role because of the critical work this shelter does. These little lives need so much attention, so much care and are so deserving. The staff at Rocky Mountain Feline Rescue, the volunteers, the donors all come together in compassion and caring. I am proud to be a part of it!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have two cats from the shelter and have been able to see how well socialized they were when I got them home; they were ready to be integrated into my family!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find a new building so we could help even more cats! Also, a new building would allow for smoother operation and more function options.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about this organization when I was trying to find homes for some abandoned cats in my neighborhood.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Caring for its feline population.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Caring for its feline population and securing greater financial security.

August 24, 2011

This shelter fills a niche that most others are not willing to fill, that of taking in all cats and keeping them for the fullness of their lives. When I had no room to take in cats, they were willing to take in ones that I rescued from the neighborhood. When my house cleared and cats were an option again, they helped me find the right ones for me. Though they have few resources and a small place, they have an incredibly dedicated staff and numerous fine volunteers. I am honored to be able to help out in any small way. I hope that we will, as a species, be better about treating the pets we create in the future. Until then, this shelter will be there to take up the slack.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have two cats I got from this shelter and have seen their efforts throughout the broader community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them find wider and greater sources of funding. They have the knowledge and the skills, just not the funds. They will rock the world!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers