Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.830775
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at Animal Place is a terrific way to spend time with farmed animals and learn about all the hard work that is required to run a large-scale rescue operation. Cleaning and weatherproofing barns are just some of the chores I've done in my brief time as a volunteer, and I'm always interested in what needs to be done to keep the sanctuary running smoothly. I don't get over to Animal Place as often as I'd like, but helping out there is a critical part of being vegan and helps me stay mindful about why I make the lifestyle choices that I do. I wish that the full-time staff had more resources to pour into making even better use of the already involved and available volunteers, but I also know how difficult it is to run a successful non-profit with limited time and personnel. I hope to do more work for Animal Place in the coming year and hope that my connection to the animals and people deepens. I also hope that more people will learn about the sanctuary and consider donating resources if possible. It's a great, peaceful place to connect more fully with sweet sheep, patient cows, and gorgeous pigs. The world would be a better place with more Animal Places.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This organization is a responsible,trustworthy , and accredible group that will always do the write thing. You can feel safe in knowing your donations,and support are in trustworthy hands! I'm thankful to God that people like this, (who really care about their cause) exist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Animal Place is a wonderful sanctuary and educational resource for people of all ages. One visit and you will see what happens when farmed animals are given the chance to live gracefully and with dignity. After all these animals have been through they are cared for, respected, provided adequate living conditions and their stories of rescue and triumph should be spread throughout the country. I am a total advocate of this place! Go vegan. Save a life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with the opportunity to open more shelters around the country!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I live in central New York State near another farm sanctuary and my wife and I have done volunteering from time to time. My only regret is that we are not "West Coasters" so that we could be closer and involved in Animal Place and its animals and people. We have supported Animal Place's efforts to rescue farm animals and grow so that this world can be a kinder place for them all. Animal Place's e-mails to us are warm and sincere, informative and appreciative. They make us feel like we're part of their "family" in caring for these precious beings even though we are many miles away. We strongly encourage others to support Animal Place's efforts to grow, rescue, and educate the public in this noble cause. In this troubled world, Animal Place is LOVE! Thank you, Animal Place!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Participating in Animal Place's internship program was incredible. The compassion and dedication of the staff was so inspirational. I learned so about animal care by spending one-on-one time with the animals, as well as participating in a variety of lectures and field trips. I continue to tell people about my experiences at the sanctuary. Thank you for all of the amazing work you do for the animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Animal Place for over 2 ½ years and am most grateful for the opportunity to try to make a difference in the lives of so many of the feathered and furry residents of this beautiful sanctuary. I take pride in the rescue of the thousands of abandoned hens slated for slaughter after their economic life was determined to have ended. Then to watch the unending efforts to place them in loving adoptive homes all over the country is heart warming in its self. During my time at Animal Place I have been involved in the rescue of goats, sheep, pigs and cattle. The experience of seeing them become permanent residents and knowing they will live their lives cared for in a loving environment is life changing.

I am often asked why I give of my time and financial resources to this organization? The answer is easy. I am lifelong animal lover, but the over riding factor that brings me back each week with a smile, is the anticipation of working with and being a part of the most dedicated and compassionate group of people I have ever known. The staff and those of us that volunteer are tireless in our efforts to maintain the health and well being of those in our charge. As with most nonprofit organizations, money is always in short supply, however, at Animal Place, the animal residents always come first.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

simply the most wonderful, compassionate professionals in the realm of animal liberation and care. I have been a volunteer and donor for Animal Place for a few years now and invite everyone to experience the joys of working with Marji and the Team. Their selfless pursuit of farm animals freedom is second to none and my family will continue to be as supportive as we can for the foreseeable future. A five star rating for sure

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

will them a huge infusion of cash to expand and continue to fight for the humane treatment of every animal

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I've been a vegetarian for over 20 years, but it wasn't until I visited Animal Place that I became a vegan. I visited this wonderful sanctuary and was so touched by their plight. I'm ashamed to say that for all of the years that I was a vegetarian, when people asked me why I made that choice, I was quick to say that it was because I simply did not like the taste of meat. I had been a huge animal lover my whole life, yet for some reason, I didn't make the connection between the dairy and eggs I was eating, and the origin of those food items. Animal Place allowed me to make that connection...I quite literally had my "aha moment" while I was petting a cow. I consider myself an intelligent person, in fact, I'm a teacher. However, being intelligent doesn't inherently mean that people know where their food is coming from and the atrocities that are taking place behind closed doors. Factory farming is sickening, cruel, and heart-breaking and it's time that the public becomes aware. The good people of Animal Place are doing their part to provide loving care to these exploited creatures and offer humane education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

put one on every block!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

This is not just nonprofit, it is much more. Animal place had been doing something amazing . Everyone at animal place has been a hero. Animal place has been saving lives and helping the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

Animal Place is an amazing resource for abused farm animals. They have a dedicated staff, a good outreach and education program, and a message to help create positive change in this world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

* Clean the chicken barn* Sort donated produce* Feed the rabbits Volunteer