Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 4, 2014

more

November 4, 2014

The nonprofit that I run has partnered with AKI for several years in an effort to get veterinary supplies to animals in need around the globe. Karen works tirelessly to deliver these supplies, often traveling to remote areas herself to be sure that veterinary equipment, medications, syringes, suture material, etc all make it to their destination. Thank you Karen for all of your hard work!
October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love when I donate to AKI that I get feedback on how my money is used to benefit the animals and organizations that I know need money desperately. I'm always so impressed with how much the organizations in these poor countries can do with so little money. The people who work for and volunteer for them are so dedicated, I'm happy to support them.
Stephanie M.
October 5, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 10, 2013

I am a board member for Animal-Kind International so I know first hand what great work we do with our partner organizations in countries with very limited financial resources. The great thing is our ... more

October 5, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am very proud to be a board member of Animal-Kind International (AKI). AKI provides our partner organizations with critical supplies and services. We pay for spay and neuter days. We pay for emergency care for domestic animals. AKI also helps fund shelter buildings and repairs. AKI provides much needed food and medical supplies. AKI is a transparent nonprofit that gives 100% of all donations to our partner organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a board member for Animal-Kind International so I know first hand what great work we do with our partner organizations in countries with very limited financial resources. The great thing is our organization is so transparent you can see everything we do. And 100% of your donation goes directly to one of our partners of your choice. We have no overhead. That means more spay and neuter days more humane education and more money going towards humane treatment of domestic work animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

Animal Kind International is unique in giving all donations directly to partners orgs and does a great job of keeping donors informed with a website and a newsletter. I am proud to be on the board of this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I first learned about Animal-Kind International (AKI) when I traveled to Yerevan, Armenia for work and was appalled and saddened by the treatment and attitude towards street dogs. In doing a search to try to find if there was a charity or shelter in Yerevan that I could donate to, I came across AKI and learned of their financial support of the country's only animal shelter. From my very first contact with Karen Menczer, I felt that this organization was quite different than other non-profits and exceptional in its dedication and service. The difference lies in the personal contact with donors and close familiarity of partner organizations and the devotion to transparency as also expected in its partner organizations. It is AKI's tireless campaigning for its cause and its always evolving creative communications, such as putting a face to the names of partner organizations through the AKI website and Facebook, that is also remarkable. I admire the commitment and authenticity of AKI and its director, Karen Menczer.
October 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have known Karen Menczer, the founder of Animal-Kind International since we were in college together. I have watched her unwavering dedication to animals in need around the world. Stories she has humbly shared of her life in Uganda and of the animals that she has fed, spayed and neutered as well as educating countless community members on how to care, love and respect dogs, cats and farm animals alike. Animals that would have never had a chance of survival are now safe, healthy and loved because of years of commitment that Karen has lovingly and fiercely put into this project on their behalf.
I admire you so very much. Thank you Karen.
Joyce
October 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I greatly admire the work of Animal Kind International and Karen Menzer. This organization's commitment to service has helped countless dogs and the communities where they live. It is heartwarming to see before and after pictures of AKI's success stories where there are plenty of happy dogs and smiling faces. I love that all of the money they get goes directly to helping animals and gratified to see such a wide network of volunteers worldwide who help get the work done. It's great to see a wonderful organization doing a great job.
October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I have personly witnessed the results of the funding by AKI to the Helping Hounds of Honduras shelter. Pilar would not be able to maintain her rescue shelter without the direct financial help from Kar... more

October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A very close friend is the hand behind Helping Hands for Hounds of Honduras and over the years I have seen her struggle to maintain her shelter with inadequate funds. What a difference ANIMAL-KIND INTER-
NATIONAL has made to her efforts to rescue street dogs, give them good care with
veterinary assistance and maintain them in the only available animal shelter in Tegucigalpa, Honduras. AKI has helped in every way, providing food, medications, surgery (both emergency and sterilization), veterinary and shelter care supplies, and support. And I know personally that every cent of every donation goes directly to AKIĀ“s projects. To me, Karen Menczer and Sherry (Pilar) Thorn are angels, direct descendants of Saint Francis of Assisi, and the world is a better place for their work. Thank you, ANIMAL-KIND INTERNATIONAL and Karen, for your invaluable contributions!
November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have personly witnessed the results of the funding by AKI to the Helping Hounds of Honduras shelter. Pilar would not be able to maintain her rescue shelter without the direct financial help from Karen Menczer. The money is used for food, maintenance, medications, vet care, spray and neuter events, chemotherapy, whatever her beloved dogs, cats, birds need. It is a challenge just to keep the facility running. The cost alone of just feeding everybody can be astronomical. The budget is so tight. AKI makes such a difference. I know that the shelter is so very grateful. Seeing the animals receive such kindness and love along with their necessities is a blessing. As a volunteer at the shelter, I give thanks to Karen and AKI for their assistance to a very unique, deserving, and grateful organization that fills such a great need here in Honduras.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I applaud all who work for AKI. Karen Menczer, the founder and director, is a neighbor and friend. She really is generous with her time and her caring for animals everywhere. Imagine 100% of the donations go to helping animals! You bet I'll donate again to this wonderful organization.
October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 16, 2014

AKI has helped Helping Hands for Hounds of Honduras for the last seven years or so. Without their help, HHHH would not have the funds to help the stray dogs and cats on the streets of Tegucigalpa. The... more

October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

AKI has been a constant support, both financially and emotionally (thank you so much Karen for always being there with an understanding ear and great advise), from the very start of their great work. The vet I work with has been able to use the donated vet supplies sent by AKI to spay/neuter abandoned animals and to treat their illnesses. In Honduras, there is still a lot of work to be done in animal welfare, but thanks to AKI and their great director Karen, I am able to help lots of animals left to die in the streets of Tegucigalpa.
April 16, 2014

AKI has helped Helping Hands for Hounds of Honduras for the last seven years or so. Without their help, HHHH would not have the funds to help the stray dogs and cats on the streets of Tegucigalpa. These animals are provided with medicine, food, shelter, spay/neuter surgeries and yearly vaccinations thanks to AKI. Besides the financial and material support, Karen is always available to discuss any problems and provide helpful input. AKI helps some of the neediest animals in eleven countries and all donations they receive go to help the organizations in these countries who are helping these animals.
April 5, 2013

Animal-Kind International has consistently helped the neediest of animals in Europe, Afica, Central America and the Caribe. They help with spay/neuter clinics for animals owned by individuals who would overwise be unable to afford this surgery. They have helped with financing construction of shelters at the dog refuge and with humane education talks at elementary, high schools and the universities here in Honduras. Karen Menczer, as the director of AKI. is always available to help in anyway possible to address the many animal welfare concerns here and in the other countries where her partner organizations work. AKI and Karen Menczer have been of immense help and I am incredibly in debt to them. Thank you from all the abandoned, homeless and sick animals you have helped. Gracias

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Animal-Kind has supported Helping Hands for Hounds of Honduras almost from the start. Without their help, we could not rescue, spay/neuter and save so many abused and abandoned animals. Besides the economic support, AKI gives emotional support. They are my rock and I so depend on them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 16, 2014

I am a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer. Most of the developing world is challenged by human rights, and animals come last. However, I also know that many people have compassion for all. they need ... more

October 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer. Most places in the developing world have very little in the way of human rights----but there is always a minority watching out for animals---the most vulnerable. This really helps people understand the role of community in compassion. Without the assistance of Animal-Kind, they could not do what they do. I think this 8is a great organization, and commend Karen for keeping it going.
April 16, 2014

I am a Returned Peace Corps Volunteer. Most of the developing world is challenged by human rights, and animals come last. However, I also know that many people have compassion for all. they need assistance, and they need to know they are not alone---that the global community supports them. This is what Animal-kind International does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more resources---to spread the word!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lots of people want to help animals, especially when we travel. Because of AKI. I have been able to meet people all over the world and help them when i can. This organization runs on a very lean budget. You can donate to them & they make sure it gets overseas.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them a bigger budget!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write short online articles to let more people know about AKI and our partner organizations. Volunteer