Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.363645
Write A Review
December 22, 2011

more


1 previous review
December 21, 2010

I am a donor/ Client Served/ General Member of the public. It's a shame that there are so many outpoken people who are negative to the AHS. They do wonderful work for both the community and the anim... more

December 22, 2011

This is a very wonderful, worthy nonprofit organization. They have new and innovative ideas. Some of these ideas have been implemented and are making a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 21, 2010

I am a donor/ Client Served/ General Member of the public. It's a shame that there are so many outpoken people who are negative to the AHS. They do wonderful work for both the community and the animals they serve. It is a difficult time for everyone with the economy and they are just one of the organizations that are trying to help make a difference to so many lives, both animal and people. They not only help unwanted/stray animals they help with education in the community and strive to provide enrichment programs to local organizations (schools and therapy). We can ill afford to put down such a dedicated group of people who work so tirelessly to serve so many.

I will ALWAYS continue to help support this organization both financially and through my speech and actions. I hope others will speak up for themselves and stop letting the minority speak for the majority through default!

These people should be ashamed of themselves. If you cannot help then I challenge you to help find a solution and stop just protesting. The old addage that if you aren't part of the solution then you are part of the problem definately applies.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fruits of their hard work protecting and providing for these deserving animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give teh a much larger budget so they could care for more deserving animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I am a staunch animal advocate and there was no single prompt to support the AHS.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because there was a need and I had the extra money to try to help the best I could.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I would educate them to the many services this organization provides on so many levels. Most people only see them as euthanizing animals the sad reality is that yes this does happen but not lightly and there is usually a medical reason behind the decision. It is not malicious.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 11, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
January 11, 2011

The Animal Human Society is a wonderful asset to the community. Their support and care of animals is top notch. My experience with the Animal Humane Society is as a donor and pet adopter. Their pet loss support group was a huge help a few years ago when I lost my beloved cat. Since then, I have been a strong supporter of everything they do through donations and the Walk for Animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The animals at the facility seem to be well cared for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not sure

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 23, 2010

more

December 23, 2010

I have been both a donor and volunteer of the Animal Humane Society. It is at the top of my list of organizations I consider deserving of my contributions, and I always feel good when I write my check to AHS. Also, being a volunteer gives me a behind-the-scenes look at what the organization does.

It continues to amaze me all of the services the shelter provides - way more than the average member of the public could ever know. Two cats my family adopted from AHS had been hit by cars, and in both cases, the AHS invested time and resources to give those animals a second chance. One of the cats required the amputation of a leg, and the other required several weeks of treatment for a head injury.

For animals that are surrendered at the shelter but are too fearful or have behavior issues which need addressing before the animal goes up for adoption, AHS offers a socialization program where volunteers work one on one with those animals until they are ready for the adoption floor.

Many animals recovering from surgery are placed in volunteer foster homes until they are well enough to go on the adoption floor. All animals who are adopted have already been spayed or neutered to help address the overpopulation issues. The animals also have a microchip implant so they can be easily tracked should they get lost.

Once animals are adopted, AHS offers services to adopters including training classes and a help line. AHS even offers a support group for people who are grieving the loss of a pet.

AHS is sometimes critized because it is not a no-kill shelter. Unfortunately, though, there are many more unwanted and stray animals than there are available homes and shelters. No-kill shelters are also doing important work, but there is a limit to how many animals the no-kill shelters can take, meaning they aren't able to take in every animal that someone tries to surrender to them.

My sense as both a volunteer and donor is that AHS is very mission focused and is a wise steward of the financial resources it receives. Expenditures are made carefully, and the organization utilizes volunteers wherever it can to help keep expenses as low as possible and focused as much as possible on the care of the animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the three animals I've adopted, through volunteering hundreds of hours, and in being a donor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the budget available to do more outreach to help find more homes for the animals.

December 21, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2010

I started as a volunteer at the Animal Humane Society in the 1980s. Between 1984 and 1996, we adopted three cats from them. Each time, we received help in selecting the best cat to fit our particular situation. We had a chance to visit with several different cats in private rooms and talk to volunteers who knew the cats. Twice we adopted adult cats, because the Society does not put an age limit on cats accepted for adoption. Also, animals who are on the adoption floor remain there until they are adopted; there is no "kill by" date. All adopted animals are now spayed/neutered before leaving the facility, one of the real ways we can attack the problem of stray and unwanted animals. The Society is currently raising money for a low-cost spay/neuter clinic in their Golden Valley building to serve people who already own pets but cannot afford the surgery.

I have also been a contributor to the Society, and have increased my donations as my circumstances have allowed. I like that the Society provides services to help adopters with their pets after the adoption: puppy training classes, advice on behavioral issues, and so on. I also like their program for taking carefully selected animals to assisted living/nursing homes: my elderly mother greatly benefitted from such visits. And finally, they provide many tours and education on proper care of animals for school groups; summer camps for children interested in animal-related careers, etc. I am constantly amazed at the range of services and programs that are available. Even a pet-loss support group when your pet has died. Are some animals euthanized? Yes, because some animals come in with overwhelming health issues, or are feral animals, and so on. But I would rather they be humanely euthanized than roam the streets and die from injury, hunger, or our cold winters.

People also need to know that the Animal Humane Society has two humane investigators who work with police around the state of Minnesota to investigate animal abuse, puppy "mills", animal hoarding situations, and so on. They are the only two full-time human investigators in the state.

The Animal Humane Society is my number 1 charity, and I support them completely.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering, adopting cats, touring the facility, meeting with the staff, reviewing printed materials, attending informational sessions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more money for humane investigators, for the planned low-cost spay/neuter clinics, and for education of children and prospective adopters.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Bound for Home, a program to get surrended animals into adoptive homes more quickly. Low-cost spay/neuter mobile clinic and on-site clinic in the works. Humane investigation officers.

What would you tell others about this organization?

If you care about animals, this is one organization where the effect of your donation will be maximized. You can pick specific areas/programs to support, if you wish.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 21, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2010

I am a volunteer, donor and customer of the AHS. When I first started volunteering 8 years ago I was amazed by how much AHS does for the animals. This lead to me wanting to contribute to the organization as it is obvious that the majority of funding goes toward making the animals lives as pleasant as possible.
The staff is invested in the lives of the animals. All you have to do is ask them a questions about the animals and you can tell they love and care about each animal in the shelter.
Part of my volunteering involved 'vising' the animals that were sick so they would have socialization. AHS does everything possible to bring the animals back to health so they can be available for adoption.
The reality of euthanasia exists however it is not based on the amount of time an animal has been at the shelter or the age of the animal. Frankly I believe sometimes euthanasia is the humane answer for some animals. Because they accept all animals that show up at their door (unlike many shelters that turn animals away) they have animals that have terminal illnesses (leukemia) or behavioral problems (urinating in home, feral cats, etc). They go through a process with every animal to determine if the animal is appropriate for adoption.
I support this organization 100% and feel confident recommending them to anyone for donations, purchase of animals,or volunteer opportunities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The treatment of cats. All cats are spayed/neutered before they can be adopted. This is the key to getting a handle on over population of cats. I have seen them treat cats that arrived injured or sick and nursed them back to health at great expense. If the animal is deemed adoptable they do what needs to be done to make the cat healthy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make more opportunities for volunteers. There is quite a bit of structure in the volunteer area that requires signing up for shifts, etc. I would make it more open so the animals get more attention and people are encouraged to 'stop in' and volunteer. I have brought this to their attention and the volunteer directors have explained to me why this isn't best for the animals. Just by 2 cents.

December 21, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 21, 2010

We have been doners to the animal humane society for over 30 years as well as being an adopter of 4 wonderful cats. We have also toured the Golden Valley facility which was a wonderful experience in seeing the generous love and care being given to these homeless animals.

Mr. and Mrs T

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopter

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Involve more young people in understanding the need for your organization

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers