Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I need to comment on Linda Lou Funky Finds comment. I volunteer at the Animal Humane center and Retail Store. I can't believe she thinks the prices on the furniture and clothing are high. Hello!!!!!! The money raised at this store goes to save animals, provide low cost vet medical care to low income families, get loving animals adopted to new homes etc.... not a 'profit' in the same sense as her store. I feel her comments were simply to get people to come to her store instead. Why else would she make such a comment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Animal Humane NM since 2007. I have volunteered in adoptions, the clinic, marketing, mobiles and dogwalker. There has been great growth and improvements since I began. I have found all staff to be professional, dedicated and motivated to provide the best care and best "forever" homes as humanily possible. I read the negative review below and I have to say I am unaware of what this individual is saying. While there is always room for improvements, I believe that Animal Humane NM strives to be the best shelter. The staff are always looking at other shelters and how they have made changes and improvements for the animals they care for and the community they serve. Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Animal Humane New Mexico is undoubtedly a wonderful organization. I have been volunteering with them for the past three and a half years and have always had a wonderful experience in every department I worked with. They have dedicated staffs who work tirelessly to improve the lives of the shelter pets.

I am glad to see the improvements they have made to the facility in the past few years. The dog parks and the cat house are a few of the improvements that I love and it has a very inviting environment. I work with high energy dogs and they seem to love the park and also the agility equipment. It gives the dogs an opportunity to learn new things and learn to work with you. The cat house is a great addition to the facility because it gives the public a chance to spend some quality time with the cat before they decide to adopt him/her.

As a foster parent, I would like to say that they have a great foster care program that provides help for orphaned puppies and kittens, recuperating pets, and dogs and cats that need socializing.

I am humbled to be a part of this organization and will continue to support them in anyway possible.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met like minded people who are passionate about shelter pets and its wonderful to work with them. I became the team leader and have been mentoring new volunteers. My photography skills have gotten better and i love taking pictures of our wonderful shelter pets.

January 16, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
August 15, 2011

As a former board member and President, foster parent, adopter, donor, and volunteer since 1972, I have seen an amazing transformation of Animal Humane. The keys to Animals Humane’s great success ... more

January 16, 2012

Based on my long association with Animal Humane I felt compelled to offer an alternative perspective to the recent post by a former Animal Humane employee/volunteer.
I am an active volunteer for Animal Humane and in the past 20+ years have served in a variety of capacities for the
organization—volunteer HR consultant, board member and President, Interim ED, adopter and donor. I have witnessed positive and negative changes in that period which have impacted the care of the animals and the number of adoptions and euthanasia. The most dramatic positive changes have taken place in the last five years, subsequent to the hiring of Peggy Weigle, the Executive Director. Since her arrival she has never wavered in her efforts to improve the well-being of the animals, increase adoptions and reduce euthanasia. She challenges staff and volunteers to come up with new ideas to improve these areas and encourages departments to establish and meet goals in the best interests of the animals. Positive changes in these areas have brought about improved conditions/morale for staff and volunteers and reduced turnover of both. As a result donations and funding have increased, along with community support that further Animal Humane’s good work.
Animal Humane’s ever growing foster program is only one of many programs that address the health and behavior of animals and reduce euthanasia (others mentioned in Peggy’s post). Puppies and kittens (1,380 in 2010), too young or sick to survive in a shelter environment, were placed in foster homes, along with many adult animals recovering from injuries, surgery, medical conditions or behavioral issues. In 2012 the new Foster2Home program will address the needs of more adult animals with longer term medical, stress related or behavioral issues through off site adoptions. The result will hopefully be less euthanasia of more problematic animals, who in the past may not have been adoptable. This program not only gives these animals more one on one care, training, and potential for adoption, but also increases the shelter’s ability to take in more animals and find them “forever” homes. During times when we may get too many animals all at once, e-mails and phone calls go out to foster and volunteer networks, calling for temporary fosters so that euthanasia does not become the solution to the problem.
Under the guidance of Peggy Weigle, Animal Humane has become a role model for all shelters in New Mexico. In addition to the many improvements at Animal Humane, she encourages collaboration among various animal organizations that reduces over population through spaying and neutering and education, all of which address the issue of reducing the need to euthanize. Read Animal Humane’s Annual Report and learn about all their wonderful programs and progress and come visit the main campus and satellites anytime. A picture is worth a thousand words. Talk to Peggy and hear her vision for improving the lives of homeless dogs and cats. You will have no doubts as to her commitment, sincerity, integrity and passion for quality work on behalf of homeless companion animals and Animal Humane.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

August 15, 2011

As a former board member and President, foster parent, adopter, donor, and volunteer since 1972, I have seen an amazing transformation of Animal Humane. The keys to Animals Humane’s great success are the wonderful staff, board and volunteers who team together for the benefit of the animals and our community. They are kind, caring, and knowledgeable and receive the necessary ongoing training to do their jobs well. The main campus and satellite adoption sites are first class—innovative, cheerful, clean, and well maintained. The focus is on the animals’ well-being from the time they may enter foster care, to where they are housed, to where they play, to their health care; to the activities and training they are offered to enhance their behavior so their next stop is a “Forever Home”. You can’t help be impressed with the full service veterinary clinic that serves the shelter’s animals, other animal rescue groups and provides low cost services to folks with lower incomes. Spaying & neutering and reducing the overpopulation of animals is a #1 goal, with 10,000 spays & neuters in 2010. Animal Humane is also the state coordinator for SPAYNM, a statewide clearing house for low-cost spay/neuter resources. Animal Humane is “one stop shopping” for all your animal needs before and after adoption—education on breeds & who meets your needs through our Meet Your Match” and “Meet & Greet” programs; real life day to day photos and stories about the animals on the web site and kennel cards to help you get acquainted; resources for caring for your new pets; counseling on behavior issues; behavior training classes; products, advice and resources that address the nutritional, exercise, physical and emotional needs of you & your pet. I am proud to be associated with this well-organized, financially sound, business with heart! It is a great place to make a positive difference for animals and people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have 5 wonderful pets from AH who bring me much joy & companionship. One of my dogs is a graduate of the Civilized Canine training course and recipient of a behavorist's advice, all of which have made him a better pooch. I purchase food and toys from a satelite location which is conveniently located near my home, which helps me & Animal Humane. On occasion I have turned in animals I have found wandering the city and they have subsequently been returned to their owners or adopted out to new owners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to explore offering other related services that could generate income to fund organizational goals. Continue to develop staff/volunteer training programs that enhance focus on client service & everyone's role in marketing our animals, products and services.

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at AHNM for over 3 years, and I was an employee for several months. The animals do receive excellent care, and the volunteers are absolutely wonderful. The staff that actually work with the animals and care for them are all fantastic and they truly care for and love these animals. That being said, the higher ups (which includes the director, Peggy Weigle) aren't being completely honest in what they tell the media and the public. AHNM recently proclaimed that they adopted out "100% of their healthy animals", which is true...to a point. Many times animals were euthanized for space, and were listed in the computer system and on file as being euthanized for a common illness (kennel cough for dogs, upper respiratory infections for cats). When confronted about the falsifying of the records, Peggy denied the allegations and said that those animals were euthanized for health reasons. When the employees who actually euthanized the animals were asked about it, they were confused as to why Peggy was saying that, as the animals who were euthanized and listed as being unhealthy did not show any signs of illness and were in fact euthanized for space. Again, when Peggy was confronted with the allegations, she denied it and several employees (including myself) ended up leaving because she refused to tell the truth in order to maintain AHNM's "good image". I still keep in contact with several employees and volunteers there, and the news isn't good. Peggy is still telling the media and the public lies, and is spending more money on "upgrades" to the facility than for the care of the animals. In the veterinary clinic, we had several issues with Peggy and Diane Day (the adoptions adviser at the time) wanting spay and neuter surgeries rushed because they wanted litters of puppies at adoption events. Puppies were spayed/neutered the day of the event, and on transport to the event, their sutures opened and several of the puppies intestines fell out. We ended up having to euthanize most of the puppies. There have also been several cases of dogs or cats being euthanized by "mistake", and healthy, adoptable animals being euthanized in order to make room for transfers from other shelters in order to improve AHNM's "good name". When looking closely at AHNM's adoption/intake records, more animals may have been adopted out, but over half of those animals ended up being returned and euthanized for various reasons. In May 2010 the intake/return rate was higher than the adoption rate, but later on that year it was publicly stated that AHNM had adopted out 100% of its healthy animals. In the end, while I completely support the volunteers and lower-level staff of AHNM who truly love and take care of these wonderful animals, I will no longer support Animal Humane New Mexico with donations, advertisements, etc. until Peggy Weigle is gone or the truth comes out (which according to several current staff members and volunteers, may be happening very soon).

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the outreach programs to schools and low-income neighborhoods about the spay/neuter programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire Peggy Weigle

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 29, 2011

more

August 29, 2011

My name is Sarah and I used to work for Animal Humane. While I do not work there any longer, I still serve as a volunteer on the Doggie Dash and Dawdle committee. I've been volunteering with Doggie Dash for three years now and I an honestly say that there is no other event in Albuquerque that I look forward to more.
Yes, a lot of hard work is put forth every year to make this incredible event happen; but no matter how tired, cold, or worn-out I am, watching people with their dogs flood the entrance becomes a more gratifying experience every year. To know that there are people out there who care as much for animals I do makes me feel like a part of this great community. Knowing that the staff and volunteers at Animal Humane strive to do everything they can to find the perfect forever home for each pets helps me sleep easier at night. I always tell people who feel sad or sorry for the pets at Animal Humane, that they are receiving some of the best care and love.
I'm in charge of Dash Bash, the carnival for people and their pets. I love when people stop and tell me what they participated in the year before, and how excited they are to try bobbing for hot dogs and to receive a professional pet portrait.
My most favorite memory was running into an Animal Humane graduate at Doggie Dash. Her name is Gila and I did her in-take when I was a part of the Adoption Staff. She came to the shelter on a sweltering day in the summer. To make matters worse, she had ridden in the trunk of an old sedan and came to us overheated and filthy. She was under socialized and the product of some horrible backyard breeding. Not sure if she could handle the stress of a kennel, we said a small prayer and hoped for the best.
She was still at the shelter when Doggie Dash came around and we included her in the rent-a-dog program. Still a little shy, the staff at Animal Humane put their faith in Gila's little spirit and sent her off.
She met her forever parents that day and a couple from Santa Fe ending up falling in love with her and eventually adopting her. A year later, I ran into Gila and witnessed the sweet and out-going dog she had become. No longer shy, she shined and wagged her tail.
Without the care, dedication, and the little faith each employee and volunteer has at Animal Humane, Gila could have easily fallen into a darker hole than from where she came.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

by volunteering and working at Animal Humane. I frequently run into people who tell me the story of their pet and about the wonderful care they've received from Animal Humane where they adopted their new family member.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want to make their presence throughout the animal welfare community in New Mexico more known. Animal Humane is a model shelter that every community in New Mexico could learn from. I wish that more shelters throughout the state could adopt more practices similar to Animal Humane. i would also want the general public to be more of Animal Humane and the great lengths they go to to achieve humane treatment of all animals in New Mexico.

August 24, 2011

more

August 24, 2011

In June, I had the privilege of taking part in Animal Humane New Mexico's 24/7 Adoption Event. Campus stayed open for 60 straight hours and with the enthusiastic help of 70 staff members and more than 100 volunteers, 112 formerly homeless pets found new forever homes! It was amazing to see the happiness and dedication in EVERYONE who was involved.
An event like 24/7 is just one of the many reasons I am so proud to be a volunteer for Animal Humane New Mexico!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the pets that Animal Humane's marketing department takes to radio and TV stations each week get adopted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

August 11, 2011

more

August 11, 2011

I have been a volunteer at AHNM since 2002, and have seen the organization evolve into one of the highest quality shelters I have known. Due to the dedication of the leadership, staff (76) and volunteers (410), in 2010 we reached our goal of adopting 100% of the healty pets (4,812) in our care! AHNM has implemented a number of programs to support its mission of improving the lives of companion animals through sheltering, adopton, community education, providing quality low-cost veterinary services to families in need, and programs that reduce pet overpopulation. All of the programs are too numerous to list here, but you can see them at the Web site: www.animalhumanenm.org AHNM does not receive any government funding. It is supported by fees for services and donations. But even with these limited resouces, AHNM continues to strive and innovate to reach their goals, and the results are impressive. It is an incredible organization and I wholeheartedly support them and their mission!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a volunteer over eight years, i have seen the quality and commitment of the organization in carrying out its mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see Animal Humane receive more public acknowledgement for all the services they provide to the community (low cost veterinary services, free behavior helpline, foster care program, etc.) I would also like to see them develop more products that can be sold to generate more income for the oganization (e.g., shirts, caps, note cards, greeting cards, etc.)

July 28, 2010

more

July 28, 2010

Animal Humane New Mexico is a most amazing organization with incredible staff, board and volunteers. As with many shelters, AHNM is wholly supported by donations - and they do it all. From the wonderfully cared for dogs and cats (all looking for their forever homes), the low-income clinic, the spay/neuter program, behavior assistance, and pet shop -- Animal Humane is a one-stop shop. Animal Humane is a great community partner. I am proud to be a part of its extended family.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We adopted our first dog from Animal Humane and Nadia was a treasured member of our family. As we became donors and volunteered for events, the heart of the organization shined thru. Peggy Weigle and her team are the best in the business.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

knowing that the work AHNM is doing is truly making a difference in the lives of the dogs and cats and families they serve.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all incredible people -- donating their time, talent and treasure to make this organization the most excellent it can be.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 27, 2010

more

July 27, 2010

As a volunteer I get to work with many of the thousands of people and pets helped by this amazing organization. This past Saturday I helped a woman who came in with her eleven year old daughter to surrender their cat. They were upset because the economy had forced them to move to a place where they couldn't keep pets. While it was a difficult situation I felt good assuring them that we would take good care of their pet and do our best to find her a new home. The week before I handled an an adoption to a couple that had adopted their last dog from us more than 12 years ago. Once again they found a wonderful adult dog to complete their family. Another couple told me that their vet had suggested they come to Animal Humane to look for their next dog because he knew that we were doing a really good job of caring for our dogs and cats. As a board member and board president I know that this organization is run very efficiently and makes excellent and effective use of the private funds we are given by thousands of donors. I am especially proud of the low income veterinary clinic that we opened nearly two years ago. I know that so many more people are able to care for and keep their pets because of this service. It is the only such clinic in our state. I have the privilege of making thank you calls to some of our donors. They usually end up thanking us for what we do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced the results of Animal Humane's efforts by working on the front lines in pet adoptions and intakes with the people and pets that we serve every day.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers