Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.714295
Write A Review
September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I need to comment on Linda Lou Funky Finds comment. I volunteer at the Animal Humane center and Retail Store. I can't believe she thinks the prices on the furniture and clothing are high. Hello!!!!!! The money raised at this store goes to save animals, provide low cost vet medical care to low income families, get loving animals adopted to new homes etc.... not a 'profit' in the same sense as her store. I feel her comments were simply to get people to come to her store instead. Why else would she make such a comment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013

more

September 3, 2013

I am a small business owner of a re-sale shop in Alb., and I use to shop at the Animal Humane Thrift store on Menaul.
I would get such a good deal on everything there.
I then would donate 5% of my monthly profits to the Animal Humane Center.

The store recently changed its policies.
The prices on their furniture are now double what they should be,
the clothes are three times the price. They are now just another over priced junk store.

I was told they have a new manager, and she has decided to make more profit.

Unfortunately I can no longer shop there,and my donations are few.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

re-evaluate your Animal Humane Thrift store prices.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 23, 2010

I was anticipating just to meet Donna Stumpf but instead was given the royal tour of the entire facility and wow, and what a facility the AHANM is! The facility supports animals lives in ways that I ... more

April 8, 2013

Great work with helping animals. A kind and professional organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2010

I was anticipating just to meet Donna Stumpf but instead was given the royal tour of the entire facility and wow, and what a facility the AHANM is! The facility supports animals lives in ways that I did not even imagine a facility could. For example, the facilty has a walking area that trains dogs to be obedient so that their chances of adoption are improved. On the day of my tour, this area was staffed with volunteers! Additionally, I was duly impressed with the cathouse where felines could climb onto different stairs and look out of windows, while staring at trees that contain birds! The AHANM has too many beautiful components to list, many of which are staffed by volunteers. The AHANM facility in Abq. is truly a wonderful place for its clients, the animals that have been placed in its care.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading its newspaper, PAWS. Also, Donna Stumpf is the AHANM's driving force, the conductor of the train. Without her, undoubtedly, many of the programs at the AHANM would not be as successful, or even in existence.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Animal Humane-New Mexico has become a leader in the sheltering field in New Mexico and the region. Recent important initiatives include Meet Your Match adoption approaches to ensure animals and their guardians are well suited for one another, humane dog training, impressive upgrades to the physical shelter, agility training for high-energy dogs, an ambitious "street cat" program, a desperately needed veterinary care program for the animals of indigent individuals, an off-site adoption facility, and increased foster capacity. AH-NM, its talented staff and ambitious programs that are making a difference for New Mexico's animals should serve as a model for other shelters throughout the state.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

My experience with Animal Humane New Mexico (AHNM) spans back five years. During that time, it is impressive to review the positive evolution of this organization. Lead by a dynamic Executive Director, it seems as no task is too monumental. What strikes me the most is the multi-faceted approach that AHNM takes to accomplish their lofty goals; innovative tactics to achieve record-breaking adoptions, low cost spay/neuter programs, microchipping and vaccinating pre-owned pets, foster care for special needs animals, responsible pet parenting classes for students, cat adoptions via local businesses, humane dog training and agility classes, state conferences that address all aspects shelter operations and large-scale public events like Doggie Dash & Dawdle. The list goes on. These remarkable accomplishments are made possible by the dedicated management, staff and amazingly tireless volunteers. And just who benefits from these endeavors? All of us, but especially those animals in the shelter still looking for their forever home.

Being a local pet supply business owner, we started as a partner with AHNM on a variety of events and occasionally via monetary contributions. Over time, we observed the tremendous value AHNM brings to the New Mexico community and thus augmented our support to the point of becoming a sponsor for their outdoor training area/agility field. As part of this collaboration, we offer free scholarships to select new pet parents who wish to enroll in a free six-week positive training class at AHNM. For the AHNM shelter dogs, some on our favorite activities include the daily enrichment programs. These programs should be a model for the rest of our shelter operations here in New Mexico.

Recently, I began serving as a board member with Animal Humane New Mexico. I am excited to participate in one of our state’s leading shelters, both in standards and by the numbers. It is an honor to be involved with an organization that gets things done by knowing how to walk the walk.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a board member with Animal Humane New Mexico for about the last 2 years. During that time, I have been impressed time and time again with the quality of the volunteers and staff, the knowledge and passion exhibited by the executive director, and the care and thoughtfulness with which all decisions are approached by the officers and the rest of the board. As a veterinarian, I have worked with many rescue groups over the years, and AHNM is unquestionably the most well-run I have come across. I am proud to be associated with this organization, and to be a small part of all of the good it does in our state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I have been a volunteer at Animal Humane NM since 2007. I have volunteered in adoptions, the clinic, marketing, mobiles and dogwalker. There has been great growth and improvements since I began. I have found all staff to be professional, dedicated and motivated to provide the best care and best "forever" homes as humanily possible. I read the negative review below and I have to say I am unaware of what this individual is saying. While there is always room for improvements, I believe that Animal Humane NM strives to be the best shelter. The staff are always looking at other shelters and how they have made changes and improvements for the animals they care for and the community they serve. Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

We volunteer for a non-profit, New Mexico Animal Friends, that works in collaboration with Animal Humane and The City of Albuquerque to spay & neuter feral cats for the trap, neuter return program. Animal Humane has led the way for this program to grow by securing funding and providing surgeries for this program. They have been receptive to our needs for daily surgeries and provided our organization, without charge, the space to hold it's own monthly clinic. Animal Humane is truly a leader in both the Trap, Neuter & Return program and the spay & neuter of owned cats to help humanely reduce the over-population of cats in New Mexico.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

The culture of Animal Humane New Mexico fosters collaboration for the betterment of the pets it serves. I have found an openness to the sharing of research-based behavior management. This is critically important not only to the lives of pets and those who love them but in keeping adopted pets with their families. I have been delighted with my experience with the staff at all levels of Animal Humane. Jeff Nichol, DVM

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012

more

January 17, 2012

Animal Humane New Mexico is undoubtedly a wonderful organization. I have been volunteering with them for the past three and a half years and have always had a wonderful experience in every department I worked with. They have dedicated staffs who work tirelessly to improve the lives of the shelter pets.

I am glad to see the improvements they have made to the facility in the past few years. The dog parks and the cat house are a few of the improvements that I love and it has a very inviting environment. I work with high energy dogs and they seem to love the park and also the agility equipment. It gives the dogs an opportunity to learn new things and learn to work with you. The cat house is a great addition to the facility because it gives the public a chance to spend some quality time with the cat before they decide to adopt him/her.

As a foster parent, I would like to say that they have a great foster care program that provides help for orphaned puppies and kittens, recuperating pets, and dogs and cats that need socializing.

I am humbled to be a part of this organization and will continue to support them in anyway possible.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met like minded people who are passionate about shelter pets and its wonderful to work with them. I became the team leader and have been mentoring new volunteers. My photography skills have gotten better and i love taking pictures of our wonderful shelter pets.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers