Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

Forgive me for plagiarizing Stacy, you said it so perfectly,,,,

Please see the multiple news stories about the raid that took place on August 1, 2013 where 240 animals were found living in hideous conditions under the care of Animal Guardians of America. Here's one:
http://www.dallasnews.com/news/community-news/denton/headlines/20130801-deputies-seize-200-dogs-from-private-denton-county-shelter.ece

As an animal welfare volunteer and advocate, I have personally helped care for these dogs while they await the chance to be evaluated and adopted, and I can tell you that this organization not only needs to have its non-profit status revoked, the person running it should be jailed and never allowed to own an animal again. Unfortunately, none of that will happen, so the best I can do is try to advise others against support her in any way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down, revoke 501C and make sure this person is never involved with animals again

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The woman who started this group had good intentions, but she became a hoarder and hundreds of animals have suffered because of her. She needs help. Friends of hers and people who have worked with her realize this. The authorities realize this. Unfortunately, she doesn't realize this.

This month over 240 dogs were taken from her property. I saw first hand the conditions they were in, both physically and mentally. It was so sad. I am SO glad they are going to be given a second chance at life.

The IRS needs to revoke her non-profit status, and you need to REMOVE her from your page.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get her the mental health treatment she needs and forbid her from EVER taking in animals again.

August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering in the aftermath of the seizure of the 240+ dogs & cats from this organization (I refuse to use the 'r' word!)

I don't know how AGA could have ANY expenses for 'caring' for the animals in their possession, because these animals received no medical care, much less
the day-to-day care every animal needs like

a) decent shelter from weather (they were found in crates in vans, buses and metal sheds where the temperature reading was 139+ degrees),

b) food (many, many of these dogs were emaciated; other dogs ate their own feces to stay alive...all while bags & bags of food were stored on top of crates and in sheds) Remember...she's a HOARDER!

c) water (no sign of clean water in their crates)

d) exercise (these dogs never left their crates....most for years at a time)

e) medical care (some of these dogs have extensive medical issues)

This woman claims to have loved these animals, but she subjected them to the most cruel conditions imaginable.

If you give this woman money, you are supporting the abuse of more animals!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Set the place on fire so no one could ever use it again

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered to help care for some of the 240 dogs after they were confiscated from Animal Guardians of America by Denton County Sheriff and Humane Society of North Texas. AGA severely mistreated these 240 dogs and several cats that were in their "care", forcing these poor animals to live in filthy, horrid conditions, confined to small crates, unable to escape their own waste. Many of these dogs were forced to live in this abusive hoarding situation for years, without access to basic humane care. This organization is not a "rescue" group, it was a hoarding situation. Their non-profit status will no doubt be revoked once the IRS investigates them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make certain they lose non-profit status, and are convicted of animal cruelty for the crimes they have committed against 240 innocent dogs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Animal Guardians of America should be shut down forever. Do not fund them, do not drop an animal into their care. 240+ animals were seized from her care on August 01, 2013 by the Humane Society of North Texas, I was not a first responder for this case, however I was awaiting at the shelter to assist with AGA animals coming in to HSNT, they were filthy covered in fleas, feces and reeked of ammonia from being kept in cages for far too long. I had to carry an older dog from the transport to his housing at HSNT due to his legs no longer functioning properly (not a veterinarian but from years of experiences it appeared the legs had atrophied due to lack of use). As an assistant in the care of these animals, I witnessed withdrawal from the animals from lack of socialization, many have no teeth due to wear and poor nutrition. Think twice about who you fund not all "no kill" shelters are humane. AGA should have it's 501c3 rights revoked as it was obvious the money did not go into the care of the animals, there was no staff at AGA taking care of 240 + animals that were paid for by donations, there were no air conditioners cooling the dogs down in the heat...oh no...but there were dilapidated buildings with broken fencing and rotting cages, there were old vans filled with dogs ..... IN TEXAS HEAT.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would close it down and press criminal charges on AGA for it's appalling conditions and treatment to animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This "rescue" had over 200 animals seized from them in early August of this year. Animals were kept in filthy conditions, and all were thin. Some were kept in crates stacked on top of each other in a panel van!! In the Texas heat!! They are a disgrace to animal rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut them down permanently and jail the owners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This is what Animal Guardians of America does: http://www.nbcdfw.com/news/local/200-Dogs-Seized-From-Denton-County-Rescue-218014671.html
They should not even be on Great Nonprofits and do need their 501c revoked asap.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut them down permanently

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

These animals lived in filth! They had only one or 2 people caring for 250 animals and 95% of them lived in wire collapsible cages so they could not get out of their feces and urine if they had to go to the bathroom. This is no way for them to live day in and day out. The evidence tells a sad sad story for these dogs and cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Revoke her 501(c)3 !!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This organization had over 240 animals removed from their "facility" on August 1, 2013 by the Denton County Sheriff's Department and the Humane Society of North Texas. As one of the first responders that day to remove the animals, I witnessed first hand the horrific conditions these animals were being kept in. Living in crates, surrounded by feces, urine, and filth, sweltering in oven like conditions, starved for attention, wounded by dilapidated fencing or from fighting with other dogs, the list could go on for days. Not only should the AGA have it's non-profit status revoked, they should never be allowed to have care or custody of an animal again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Demolish all kennels on property so they would never be able to use them again.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 25, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Please see the multiple news stories about the raid that took place on August 1, 2013 where 240 animals were found living in hideous conditions under the care of Animal Guardians of America. Here's one: http://www.dallasnews.com/news/community-news/denton/headlines/20130801-deputies-seize-200-dogs-from-private-denton-county-shelter.ece

As an animal welfare volunteer and advocate, I have personally helped care for these dogs while they await the chance to be evaluated and adopted, and I can tell you that this organization not only needs to have its non-profit status revoked, the person running it should be jailed and never allowed to own an animal again. Unfortunately, none of that will happen, so the best I can do is try to advise others against support her in any way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down and ban her from ever owning an animal again.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers