Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
123.745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

This is a horrible organization built on lies and fantasy. The people who support them because they buy into their “no kill” rhetoric should take a moment to educate themselves as to what “no kill” truly means. In my experience “no kill” means that if you find a litter of kittens and take them to Animal Friends you will be told that they are full and to take them to another shelter. They will even give you a map to another shelter!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have them be honest and tell people that the only reason they are “no kill” is because they will only take in a small number of animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization full of great people that all put the animals first. Yes, they have a rigorous application process, but it is to insure the future welfare of their charges. I love volunteering for them and have great respect for everyone there. And be assured your donations go to the animals, not to frivolous expenses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

AF is a fantastic organization that truly cares about every animal in their care. Every animal receives excellent medical care as well as respect and dignity in a clean, loving environment while waiting for his/her forever home. AF is a no-kill shelter so although they can't take every animal in need, they do their best to take in as many as possible, using programs like foster homes to maximize the number of animals they can care for. AF does everything from investigating and housing horribly neglected and abused humane rescues to taking in the family pet who is no longer wanted, making every orphaned animal long for shelter at AF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the facility larger so they could take in every abused, neglected, and unwanted animal in the city.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
February 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

It was hard to select my role since I have been a client - when I was adopted by my beautiful kitty. A donor when I support with my money. and a general member of society. You can tell the people who work with Animal Friends truly care about each and every animal who pass through their doors. The facility is clean, freindly and welcoming. Please visit the next time you are interested in adding a companion animal to the family. Consider donating to this wonderful facility. Consider visiting for one of their many public awareness activities or even their next fun event. Recently went to 'Bunny Yoga' - it was too much fun.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Animal Friends is a wonderful shelter. It is a lovely spacious clean facility and the animals all seem very comfortable. They really go through a lot of effort to learn each animal's background, personality and quirks in order to find a good match for them. Consequently, they ALSO check out potential adopters to make sure they're a good fit for the animal. I daresay that the negative reviewers are just angry because they weren't able to just waltz in and take an animal. My experience was very positive: I went in, told them what I was looking for (a cat who could handle having a very active young male sibling) and they IMMEDIATELY knew which cat would be a perfect fit for me. Charlie was very, very shy when I first met him and I never would have picked him on my own; but he has turned out to be an absolutely wonderful match for my household.

Videos

Animal Friends alum doing great!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The volunteers' knowledge of their resident animals allowed them to match me with the perfect feline personality for my situation. I hadn't even noticed him on the website roster, but they knew immediately that he would be a good fit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe not require ALL members of the household to meet the animal first. My roommate is in a wheelchair and has a very busy work schedule which made his coming out difficult. At some point, I think you can just take the word of the head of household and primary would-be caretaker of the animal that the people who live with them will be okay.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Saw their volunteers out walking dogs almost every day when I worked in the Strip District years ago.

March 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A great place. Enjoyed volunteering here. Has a lot to offer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 23, 2012

more

March 23, 2012

Elitist, Snobby, Wasteful. $7 MILLION Facility. August 2009 went in for a kitten event - 20 kittens in a room to be adopted. We brought our whole family plus our dog. It felt like an interrogation and in the end, chubby Barb rejected us (always put NO to declawing). The neighbors across the street had adopted a dog, which AF had supposedly assessed to be "family friendly" for their 3 kids who were within the range of age of our 4, but this dog bit their oldest kid in the face who had to be taken to the hospital for stitches, and the dog returned to AF (Columbus Day 2008). We got our cat from WESTERN PA HUMANE SOCIETY - OPEN DOOR SHELTER. Big difference: no kill=no take.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 15, 2012

How to help others with a happy time in their life is to help assist with adopting a pet and great customer service. Let's not forget understanding, being mature, delicate to customer needs, being prompt, answering questions, and do what ever it takes to go beyond to help find the animals a good home. Well this is not what I experience on March 10, 2012 around 1:00pm from the back desk who takes applications just to see an animals. I felt like I was being interview by the FBI. Seriously and let's not forget how rude a tall lady with short brown hair women was so unfriendly and talk to me like I did not have a brain. She ask me the same questions over and over again until I finally said " I understand three time back to her" only then I had to wait about 20 more minutes to speak with an adoption rep just to see two cats I was interested in. Only to be put in a room and told every reason under the roof why the cat would not be good fit for me. I am an adult I can read and write, let's not forget I have a business degree, have a terrific job, and a cat of many years, children and so forth. Only to feel ashamed of my zip code, renter, and to be talk down to like an idiot. This is very upsetting. I hope your staff learns new values and the importance of how to be respectful to the general public. I will never ever everrrrrr, step foot back on your animal shelter. If anything you owe people and apology. I was not the only one there that day when I see a guy being treated the same way. Learn from your mistakes and fix the problem. I tried to give your zero rating but your system force me to pick so I gave you a one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Animal Friends is a wonderful place for animals without a home to find a loving new family. I have been donating to this organization for several years because I believe in what they do. I also became a volunteer about a year and a half ago and I am very pleased with the cleanliness, how the animals are treated, and the rigor of the adoption process (Animal Friends wants to make sure they find the "right" home the "first" time).
Finally, I have also served as a foster home for a "momma" puppy mill survivor, who I adopted one year ago.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my vounteering. I see how wonderful the staff and volunteers are to the residents, how clean the facility is kept, and I'm so happy that Animal Friends is a "no-kill" shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the shelter larger so that more animals could benefit!!

July 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Animal Friends came to our low-income school to talk to the students about pet adoptions and how to take care of their pets during the hot summer months. They came several times (the building is K-6) for the different grade levels and brought a different adoptable pet each time. The volunteers were incredibly patient and knowledgeable. The students asked them questions and they read a story. It was a wonderful presentation. My students were really inspired by the puppy they brought and were motivated to collect the most pet food/supplies in the entire school to donate to Animal Friends. They are an amazing group and I am grateful for everything they do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their interactions with my class and school.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers