Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
123.37545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I adopted a little spaniel mix from this shelter and was very happy with the organization. I am sure it is difficult to run a shelter on a limited budget while depending upon volunteer help. When I realized they needed help, I organized a drive at our school to gather food, blankets, and money to help them out. It would seem that if more people would help instead of criticize, life would be better for all concerned. I commend them for saving the lives of the animals that have been in their charge.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have two great dogs that I got from Animal Friends. Both were in excellent health when I got them. Every time I have been to the shelter, the animals wewre being exercised, enclosures were being cleaned; everything possible was being done to help the animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There's not enough words to express the gratitude I have for Animal Friends and what they've done for our family. Our family consist of 4 cats and our 12 year old Standard Poodle. We were in search of another poodle and from the recommendations of our vet found Animal Friends. 'Dewey' the Goldendoodle was 4 months old and had been surrendered by it's owner to Animal Friends. We could not have found a better match for our family. The staff was so kind and friendly to Dewey and took such good care of him until he chose us to join him to make our family complete. Paula and her team work tirelessly to find homes for these special pets and as I stated earlier we cannot thank them enough. Dewey is living a grand life with us being mothered by our Standard Josie and taught who's the boss by our 4 cats :) Thank you Animal Friends for all you do! Amanda McTyre

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After my two dogs were killed by wild hogs (before moving to San Antonio) I thought I'd never get another dog. Then I met the most wonderful collie mix. He is my constant companion. He got his start with Animal Friends. If it wasn't for them, we wouldn't be together. He was healthy and happy when I adopted him. Now we are both happier. I go to as many events as possible and donate food and money. Everything is always appreciated. Thank you and God Bless Animal Friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2011

more

March 11, 2011

Our two dogs came from this place, before we knew better. Both have turned out to be wonderful pets, but the conditions they were living in before we adopted them were absolutely awful. In the few weeks we knew her through volunteering before adopting our heeler she was left outside, unexercised, for several weeks during which she developed a very bad dog aggression problem. Additionally, she was suffering from a badly injured rear leg - both the knee and hip, likely from being struck by a car.

Once we adopted our heeler, we took her to our vet for evaluation and were absolutely shocked at the condition of her leg. There was a pin through the knee, placed improperly, so clearly on the X-ray that it's obvious Animal Friends never had a proper veterinary evaluation performed. She needed to have reconstructive surgery and physical therapy to recover from the damage, which ended up being several thousand dollars. Furthermore, we needed a lot of help from a pretty costly trainer in order to get her behavior problems in check. All because she was left unattended outside for long stretches of time.

Our experience there was awful, and the lies we were told about how the animals are cared for were worse. I would not trade our dogs for anything, but this place needs to be shut down. It is not a rescue organization, it's one person's sad hoarding disease writ large. Do not support Animal Friends, give your money to a legitimate rescue that's trying to do real good.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Animal Adoptions, animal care, animal rescue

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it disbanded by the ASPCA and the animals divided up between legitimate local rescue organizations.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers