Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
123.4705945
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

Since their internal restructing and new focus, Animal Friends now Heart of Texas SPCA, is making a huge positive impact on the community and helping more homeless animals than ever. They have a great team who work together to assure that every dog that finds their way to their facility finds a forever loving home. Their community involvement is key and staying focused on their mission gives them the strength to continue.
May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

I have worked with Animal Friends for more than 5 years- fostering as well as volunteering. All of my ratings are based upon the new management and location (my answers would have been much different a year ago). I'm glad I hung in there so that I could see all of the positive changes first hand!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

All of the dogs that were adopted while I was fostering them were placed in loving forever homes. I still hear from many of them and it fills my heart with joy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

implement a formal fund-raising program

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Fostering has taught me a lot about how to manage a multiple dog household.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

like I made an impact on the dogs' lives

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

It seems that there are those who make harmful statements that are no longer based in truth. With the change in location, there have also been changes in supervision and the Board members not only pitch in, but they do much of the work themselves. It saddens me to think of all the wasted time and energy that is spent counteracting the hateful gossip aimed at Animal Friends. They have been invited out to the new location, but it seems that they prefer to sling mud and venom from behind the cover of annonimity. They claim to care about the animals when in reality, they are causing more harm. The former director is gone and the people responbsible for all the trouble, have taken over the Borgfeld location. Maybe they should focus on the animals in their care and let Animal Friends do the same.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for this organization for over 5 years, I have seen the growth it has gone through. They have been around for over 10 years and have experienced many changes throughout those years. All along, keeping the mission as the number one priority, helping homeless animals. The organization has welcomed anyone with questions to visit or call anytime. As with any organization, there are those who love and those who hate. Those who love, support them and care about the animals. Those who hate, are only trying to satisfy personal issues and obviously care nothing for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2011

more

May 25, 2011

I've volunteered and have been involved with this facility for 8+ years and I have first-hand experience that the animals are cared for and constantly showed love and affection. The folks there work tirelessly to care and nurture all of the animals at the shelter. It's unfortunate that there are people out there because of whatever anger they keep, would rather criticize and actually work to hinder the shelter instead of channeling that energy into a positive force that benefits the animals.

Keep up the good work, Animal Friends!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing many animals be adopted to good homes and experienced the workers and volunteers attention and care for the animlas.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

institute stricter guidlines on whom we let volunteer at the shelter.

March 11, 2011

more

March 11, 2011

Issues personally observed:

Substandard facility and general care of animals:
No proper protection from the elements for animals housed in outdoor pens - only tarps protect them from the wind and cold in winter or harsh sun in summer and they rest on gravel, not a concrete base which
can be disinfected or allow proper drainage for waste; animals eat in same area they defecate; water bowls dirty and not generally filled in a timely manner - especially in summer; inside, dogs placed in crates stacked on top of each other; 50 plus cats housed in one room with no ventilation - most cats had bloody stools and mother cats were forced to deliver their babies in this same room which resulted in mother cats eating their own offspring at times; no proper isolation area for puppies or new intakes; no proper cleaning protocol followed, close quarters and no exercise caused animal aggression and fighting; no smoke alarm or sprinkler system and animals were kept locked in cages, overnight, unattended.

Animals fed any food donated - no matter if cans were extremely dented and/or missing labels. No food was ever checked for expiration dates or screened for recall.

Mismanagement of funds and population headcount to the extent that animals are at risk of running out of food each month.

No proper record keeping method for vaccinations, veterinary procedures, or heartworm preventive and testing, as well as adoptions.

Vaccinations administered by Director were not kept properly refrigerated or stored.

Despite repeated attempts by many volunteers, no formal volunteer training program was able to be initiated and continued for any length of time due to Director's lack of knowledge, experience or willingness to learn how to conduct a successful program.

Despite repeated attempts by many volunteers, no formal fundraising program was able to be initiated and continued for any length of time due to Director's lack of knowledge, experience or willingness to learn how to conduct a successful program.

Minor age children were allowed to use dangerous mange dips, unsupervised, and dips were done in the same sink used to clean animal food bowls.

Animal food bowls were routinely cleaned with brushes used to clean litterboxes.

Despite repeated attempts by many volunteers, no formal adoption program was able to be initiated and continued for any length of time due to Director's lack of knowledge, experience or willingness to learn how to conduct a successful program. Shelter did not participate in public adoption events.

Despite repeated attempts by many volunteers, no formal training and exercise program for shelter dogs was able to be initiated and continued for any length of time due to Director's lack of knowledge, experience or willingness to learn how to conduct a successful program. Shelter did not participate in public adoption events.

No formal foster home program was developed. There was no training, handouts etc. for the few fosters that did help.

Qualified adoption applicants were dismissed out of hand with no background or reference check conducted.

Qualified adoption applicants told animals had "multiple applications" when none had been received.

Board of Directors mostly comprised of family members. Only one "outside" member. No formal Board meetings held. No meeting minutes posted or published.

Donated funds and items used for shelter Director's personal use and no formal accounting of cash donations.

Director did not participate in the rescue community at large nor attend continuing education training or seminars on shelter management.



The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

serving as an example of how NOT to run a shelter

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the Director, hire one with verifiable experience and set up a proper Board of Directors. Set up a proper shelter environment with adequate housing and sanitation. If this cannot be accomplished, it should be closed and the animals placed with reputable rescues.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers