Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2011

I am honored to be a volunteer at this incredible non-profit organization! They are 100% donation-driven and do a fantastic job of connecting families with their new forever friends!! They also run ... more

October 4, 2013

The Animal Defense League of Texas truly makes a difference, every second of every day, by quietly and diligently doing the right thing for the over 330,000 stray animals in San Antonio. They give care for those cats and dogs that no one else will give a chance at life, no matter the monetary cost and give that animal the love, medical care and attention that it needs to be able to be matched with its perfect home. The rescue stories are numerous and happen every day. The "happy tails" abound as families connect with their adopted dog or cat. It's incredible the difference these animals make in their adoptive families lives. It's a truly magical place where miracles occur every day. We are truly blessed to have ADL as such an important part of our community. Thank you for giving a voice to all of those who cannot speak for themselves and advocating for those who have no one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2011

I am honored to be a volunteer at this incredible non-profit organization! They are 100% donation-driven and do a fantastic job of connecting families with their new forever friends!! They also run an incredible hospital that treats animals in crisis and offers low-cost spay/neuter services, heartworm treatments. ADL also goes to local schools to educate kids on the importance of animal care and kindness. ADL makes a huge difference in our community on very limited resources.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In 2010 ADL connected 3,131 cats and dogs with their forever families!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more corporate donations.

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

Last Saturday we adopted a cat their at ADL and we can be more happier. He was on special for ten dollars and he was already fixed, microchip, and had all his shots. He was limping when we got him home so we called them and they told us to bring him back to be seen by the vet for not charge. He is the sweetest thing ever, I can't see life without him. I am so blessed to have him. His name was charlie but we changed it to Sheldon (from the Big Bang Theory) . I just hope he does not give us a roommate agreement

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them update pictures of pets on their website.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

My first dog I got when I was a little girl my family and I got from ADL. Little bugger was 6 months and is still kickin today almost 13 years later. We also got my second dog there a few years later. Then we adopted our second cat from there. I absolutely adore what ADL does for the animals in their care. My husband and I will be adopting OUR first cat from there when we find one we fall in love with there, we're always swinging by there for a quick look!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More space for more animals so they're less apt to turn animals away!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2012

more

August 10, 2012

In 1998 I adopted by two beatiful calico girls from them and thru the years hade make my life rich and beatiful. However in 2000 while at the mall, we foud 5 kittens abandoned in a scorching 95 degress in the boiling sidewalk outside of the Foley's. My husband and 2 other nice souls help to scoop them all (I'm handicap, so I direct only), we quickly drive to the ADL where I was told that they were full and would not take them, they advise us to take them to the pound to be put down. I rebeled to this idea and took them home, we kept 2 (a little tortishell .6 lb and a black boy .9 lb). The next day I called shelters until I found one to take them and I gave them a hefty donation. This left a bitter taste on my mouth of an organization that should help save, no kill critters. They can call themselves no kill, but believe me that other people would have follow their advise and they all would have been kill. So this is a kill organization, believe it. However they do help MUCH more than a pound so help and DONATE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

So glad they were there to give my four-legged baby a temporary home so we could find her! Can't imagine our lives without our sweet little dog!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

I adopted "Zoey" from ADL in June 2008. ADL had rescued her from Animal Control Services. She had just been spayed the day before. I had made several trips to the ADL just looking as I wanted a "small" dog. The staff was always very helpful, very friendly and caring. Zoey was VERY skinny when we got her but after some TLC and good food she came around very quickly, and is now abit "overweight" I really admire the fact they rescue from other shelters when possible, this SAVES lots of lives. Zoey has turned out to be the BEST dog Ive ever owned, shes so very loving, needless to say she is like a child to me :-) We soon found out she enjoys "singing" :-) You absolutely cannot go wrong with adoption. Reasonable fees, shots, spay and neuter provided, plus microchip! Two thumbs up for ADL

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012

more

January 20, 2012

My Wife and I had our 2 family dogs (Bizcocho & Bella) stolen from us at gun point in Dec 2010. We came to the Animal Defense League, not to replace the 2 we lost in the robbery, but to fill the void in our hearts from such a tragic loss. The staff were very understanding and assisted us in our time of need. We adopted "Nacho & Lola" (Brother & Sister) in Jan 2011. We were so happy with these two, that we adopted a third pup "Moe"from the Animal Defense League the following July. We will never forget "Bizcocho & Bella" but are happy to have our "trio" in our lives. Many Thanks to the Animal Defense League in San Antonio, Texas!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

Over many years of living in San Antonio my family has adopted pets from them. I adopted my most recent kitty December 29, 2010. He is a happy, healthy loving little guy. My previous cat had passed away about six months prior to my adoption of Andre in 2010. I was having a hard time thinking about the kitty I had lost during the adoption process for Andre. I felt kind of dumb feeling so sad when I should have been jumping with joy that I was getting a new fur friend to bring home. The lady working with me was so kind & told me that it happens often when people adopt a new pet when they have lost a pet recently. She made me feel "normal" again. I always recommend to anyone who is wanting to adopt to go there. They have a wonderful facility, very nice personnel & the animals are happy & healthy & very well cared for as they wait for the forever home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

We adopted a lab mix in November 2008. Cici has turned out to be the best dog ever! We were so impressed with the compassion and love that the ADL staff/volunteers provided the animals during our two visits. The adoption process was easy and we look forward to going back one day to adopt a cat.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 3, 2011

more

December 3, 2011

We adopted a precious little dog, Malcolm, in the 1990s who was part of our family for 16 years. I was impressed with ADL's commitment to find homes for dogs and cats, the careful interview process for adoptive "parents" and their strong links in the community with vets and dog training. I know they have strong leadership through their board - it is an organization worthy of support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers