Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My time at the ADL was the most fulfilling volunteer experience I have had. The staff are an extremely friendly, compassionate group of people who are dedicated to impacting the lives of animals and families in the San Antonio area. They take in animals, no matter how sick or abused, and put the resources and care into seeing that that animal has the opportunity to experience a life with a loving family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The Animal Defense League is in a "League of Their Own" as far as animal services in San Antonio. Their experience with compassionate care for animals and training volunteers to become animal advocates surpasses any other service provided in the community. They truly are a no-kill facility and the experiences I have had volunteering there have been extremely positive for the animals as well as the public using the services. My time and money are well utilized at The ADL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care ... more

May 26, 2013

I have been volunteering for this organization for more than 10 years, and both my family animals were adopted from there. One of the great things is that animals are not euthanized just because they haven't been adopted. The staff clearly love the animals and give them extra attention when there is time. They work with shy animals and other issues and I have seen visible improvement as a result of their efforts. And a huge army of volunteers do the same! I currently help the web coordinator photograph all the animals, and their presentations on the web site are the best I have ever seen.
The organization brings in animals from the city sponsored Animal Care Services regularly to help with the huge problem of overpopulation of strays here in San Antonio. Once they arrive at Animal Defense League, we know that they are not subject to a "kill date" if they are not adopted.
If I were a dog or cat and couldn't have a home, this is where I would want to live. Play yards abound, as do volunteers to give attentio and walks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care from employees who love them. No animal is euthanized because they haven't found a home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I have been volunteering at the ADL for over 6 months and I have been awed by the care and love these animals are shown by the staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

When I retired, I wanted to start volunteering at an animal shelter. After checking out the ones around town, I decided on ADL, and it has been everything I saw during my first visit and more. It's not a fancy facility like some of the newer ones, but it is the kind of place I would want to go if I were a dog or cat in need of a place to stay.

The dogs have large kennels with access to inside and covered outside space, and for much of the day they are in play areas with other dogs (unless they don't get along with others), so it's like doggie daycare for them. No one stays cooped up all day.

They get a lot of attention, both from staff and from the many volunteers who come to walk and play with them. You can see the love of the people for the animals in the way they interact and their knowledge of each animal.

The cats have a life that is as good or better than they would have at a house. It's a big room full of toys and places to sleep or be alone, with two large screened porches accessible by cat doors. Staff and volunteers are in and out all day to play with them.

I was surprised at first at how happy and friendly the animals are, since they have all been abandoned or lost. But their good spirits and friendliness can be largely attributed to the way everyone there treats them as their own.

It's more than a no-kill shelter -- it does a lot of outreach to help people understand the importance of spay/neuter and offers now-cost services for spay/neuter, vaccinations and microchipping.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...see that it got more money. What it does is wonderful, and as for quality it's top-notch, but it could use breathing room to do even more for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

I have been a volunteer at ADL for about a year, and I have always been impressed with the care & love the staff gives to the animals there. They save many animals from the city's high-kill facility, as well as accepting a number of pets surrendered by their owners. They never kill an animal to make room for another one...the animals stay there until they find a home. My family adopted a dog from ADL that had been there for nearly a year & we love him! They have a wonderful facility with a large park to walk the dogs, and several fenced play areas that give the dogs the opportunity to run, chase a ball or swim. The kennels are always being cleaned, so the animals never have to live in a dirty space. The staff is friendly and helpful to both volunteers and visitors. ADL makes it extremely easy to volunteer, allowing you to give whatever time you can fit into your schedule, whenever it's convenient for you. This is one of the best animal rescue facilities I have ever been involved with!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have larger kennels for the big dogs, offer assistance for adopted pets who are having adjustment issues in their new homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

I am always impressed with the loyalty and caring of the ADL staff towards the animals. They always have their best interests at heart and concentrate on finding just the right forever-home for each one. I have been a volunteer at the ADL for 13 years, and I love being there!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012

more

January 28, 2012

My daughter asked if we could volunteer at the shelter because she wants to be a vet. Little did I know how wonderful spending time at the shelter would be. We look forward to our time together there. We have also gotten into fostering puppies which is even more fun.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I adopted my baby girl from the ADL in 2000. She'll be turning 12 this year and is absolutely the love of my life. I started volunteering a little over a year ago and have been impressed by the continuing improvements and the real desire to help the animals find their forever homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I adopted my dog after serving as a foster home for her while she was recuperating after being hit by a car. I am also currently fostering two puppies until they are old enough to be adopted. ADL is an amazing charity to work with. The staff is fantastic, and you can tell that they truly care about finding homes for these animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers