Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 6, 2013

The Animal Defense League of San Antonio is the oldest and largest no-kill shelter in our city. It is the premier haven for the abandoned, abused, neglected and forgotten dogs and cats in our communi... more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Animal Defense League is the greatest no-kill shelter on the planet! Not only have I adopted dogs and cats, I have also fostered kittens. ADL champions the animals that needs forever homes. Many of the animals have been abandoned or abused. Not only can you visit the ADL for your next best friend but you can also access their website at adltexas.org Everyday ADL performs miracles by taking in animals from the community and from ACS. Each animal is give. A wellness exam and medical treatment for any problems.

Please visit the ADL for your next dog or cat.

Anna-Laura Block

October 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Animal Defense League of San Antonio is the oldest and largest no-kill shelter in our city. It is the premier haven for the abandoned, abused, neglected and forgotten dogs and cats in our community. The Staff and Volunteers of ADL are dedicated to finding each resident its forever home, all the while taking care of its medical needs. The Staff and Volunteers serve as the voice for these animals that have no one and are completely dependent on the care given them at the Animals Defense League. The ADL works through grass-roots advocacy, education, legal intervention and rescue. The people at ADL enhance the quality of life for each resident until its adoptive home is found. I have never seen more compassion and effort given on a daily basis than I do at this shelter. Their willingness to help animals in need and animals in crisis is outstanding and should be applauded. They are making history as they are the leading advocates for dogs and cats in San Antonio. I encourage everyone to not only come and view the campus and all its residents but to donate to this worthwhile organization that champions such a great cause in our city.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to this organization as it upholds the highest of ethics and it the forerunner in their category of helping animals. Animal Defense League serves as the role model for all others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The Animal Defense League (ADL) is the oldest NO-KILL shelter in San Antonio. Our tag line speaks volumes, "WE TAKE THEM IN. YOU TAKE THEM HOME." We strive to give all our animals the best opportunities to find their "forever home" thanks to our PHENOMENAL STAFF. We take in many animals that would be euthanized due to either a money issue or lack of a veterinarian being able to perform such high-end services. At ADL our mission is to serve as the "leading voice for dogs and cats in need." ONLY if a dog or cat is beyond medical treatment and is suffering, is euthanasia considered, otherwise, our animals are here for adoption or may live out their lives with us. I cannot say enough great things about the ADL and know first-hand as our dog, "Cricket" was adopted from there. Our animals are treated with the utmost care and our staff is unparalleled. We set record numbers everyday for the amount of animals we spay/neuter and we strive each day to help San Antonio reach its NO-KILL goal. We are a 501C3 and receive no government funding. ADL IS THE BEST SHELTER ON THE PLANET TO FIND YOUR NEXT BEST FRIEND. Please see our facility, first-hand, and know what I have said is true. Come visit us at 11300 Nacogdoches. Anna-Laura Howell Block

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have served in the capacity as President and I have adopted a dog from ADL. I know, first-hand, how great this shelter is. The amazing efforts put forth by everyone associated with ADL is UNPARALLELED! I am so proud of the work ADL does for the unwanted, abused or neglected animals of San Antonio and surrounding areas. WE ARE NUMBER 1.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so that more animals could be rescued.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Adoption of my dog, "Cricket" and read about it constantly in the paper and view it on TV.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Taking in more animals and finding them forever homes so that our community can reach, "NO KILL" status.

What is its top priority in the long run?

NO-KIIl in San Antonio

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at the ADL for five years. I must say that over these years...the wonderful place keeps getting better and better! The commitment to helping our community care for abandoned, lost, discarded, and ill dogs, cats, puppies and kitties is so amazing. This no-kill shelter takes in and cares for those four-legged friends that others have given up on. I've seen some amazing care given to dogs that I didn't think would make it - the staff does whatever it takes to help them heal and find a new forever home. Every employee at the ADL cares about the dogs and cats: those that work in the on-site hospital, the kennel teams, adoption center, the volunteer coordinator, the thrift shop manager. the management team, the fundraising team, the public relations, the finance department, the grounds keepers, maintenance and security . . . . every single one! And, they appreciate the hours of help the volunteers give. While I donate my time...I also donate money because every dollar that I give is wisely spent on the right things that really make a difference. Thank you ADL of Texas!
October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 22, 2011

We adopted our dog from ADL as a Christmas present for our daughter. When she got him, she said that it is the best present that she ever received - and he still is! Adopt from the ADL!! more

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteer at the Animal Defense League as often as I can, as ADL really makes a difference in our community by being one of the only alternatives for neglected, abandoned or injured cats and dogs. The hospital and their staff are amazing and truly show these animals kindness and love, besides all of the necessary medical treatment, shelter and food. ADL has very creative volunteer opportunities so there is always something new and different to do, no matter your age or experience. Their programs are always focused on making things better for the animals, so you always feel that you really made a difference during the time that you volunteer.
August 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We adopted our dog from ADL as a Christmas present for our daughter. When she got him, she said that it is the best present that she ever received - and he still is! Adopt from the ADL!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adoption services

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more exposure

October 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

This organization saves a lot of animals from "death row" in San Antonio. The staff truly care about the animals' wellbeing and great strides have been made to improve facilities and increase capacity.
October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 23, 2013

I have been volunteering at the ADL for over 6 months and I have been awed by the care and love these animals are shown by the staff and volunteers. more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The ADL continues to be a well-run organization that goes over and above the call of duty in their care and compassion for these homeless animals. I am very proud to be a volunteer at the ADL!
May 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the ADL for over 6 months and I have been awed by the care and love these animals are shown by the staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Everyone at the Animal Defense League from top to bottom is committed to the same goal: to save and place as many orphaned or abandoned dogs and cats as possible into loving homes. And they are doing it better each year!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I have just returned my 4th litter of Foster kittens to the ADL, ready for adoption. the staff at ADL is so supportive and take care of all the food and expenses. They even had a wonderful woman available to help me when I had questions about the bottle feeding.

Even though it is
always a challenge to give them up without keeping at least one kitten, I know that I have helped give those precious little angels a good paw up on their lives. I always look forward to meeting my next litter; and each one takes a little piece of my heart with them when they go off to their Furever Homes. I am so happy that I quit watching kitten cams on the internet and started fostering, and I highly recommend it.
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My time at the ADL was the most fulfilling volunteer experience I have had. The staff are an extremely friendly, compassionate group of people who are dedicated to impacting the lives of animals and families in the San Antonio area. They take in animals, no matter how sick or abused, and put the resources and care into seeing that that animal has the opportunity to experience a life with a loving family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The Animal Defense League is in a "League of Their Own" as far as animal services in San Antonio. Their experience with compassionate care for animals and training volunteers to become animal advocates surpasses any other service provided in the community. They truly are a no-kill facility and the experiences I have had volunteering there have been extremely positive for the animals as well as the public using the services. My time and money are well utilized at The ADL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care ... more

May 26, 2013

I have been volunteering for this organization for more than 10 years, and both my family animals were adopted from there. One of the great things is that animals are not euthanized just because they haven't been adopted. The staff clearly love the animals and give them extra attention when there is time. They work with shy animals and other issues and I have seen visible improvement as a result of their efforts. And a huge army of volunteers do the same! I currently help the web coordinator photograph all the animals, and their presentations on the web site are the best I have ever seen.
The organization brings in animals from the city sponsored Animal Care Services regularly to help with the huge problem of overpopulation of strays here in San Antonio. Once they arrive at Animal Defense League, we know that they are not subject to a "kill date" if they are not adopted.
If I were a dog or cat and couldn't have a home, this is where I would want to live. Play yards abound, as do volunteers to give attentio and walks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care from employees who love them. No animal is euthanized because they haven't found a home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers