Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Write A Review
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I adopted a dog who had spend a long period of time at the shelter being overlooked. The staff really went out of their way to match our dog with the right home, and of course, he fits in completely after only two months. These people know their dogs, give great advice and are genuinely interested in how he's been coming along. My family is so happy with our newest pet, so I'm giving them a full 5 stars!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I have just returned my 4th litter of Foster kittens to the ADL, ready for adoption. the staff at ADL is so supportive and take care of all the food and expenses. They even had a wonderful woman available to help me when I had questions about the bottle feeding.

Even though it is
always a challenge to give them up without keeping at least one kitten, I know that I have helped give those precious little angels a good paw up on their lives. I always look forward to meeting my next litter; and each one takes a little piece of my heart with them when they go off to their Furever Homes. I am so happy that I quit watching kitten cams on the internet and started fostering, and I highly recommend it.
September 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

The Animal Defense League of Texas truly makes a difference, every second of every day, by quietly and diligently doing the right thing for the over 330,000 stray animals in San Antonio. They give ca... more

September 30, 2014

Adopting a homeless pet from ADL has been life-changing! The love that a shelter animal gives is so much more than ever expected. Thank you to the ADL and their staff for their mission of saving all of these furry lives!
October 4, 2013

The Animal Defense League of Texas truly makes a difference, every second of every day, by quietly and diligently doing the right thing for the over 330,000 stray animals in San Antonio. They give care for those cats and dogs that no one else will give a chance at life, no matter the monetary cost and give that animal the love, medical care and attention that it needs to be able to be matched with its perfect home. The rescue stories are numerous and happen every day. The "happy tails" abound as families connect with their adopted dog or cat. It's incredible the difference these animals make in their adoptive families lives. It's a truly magical place where miracles occur every day. We are truly blessed to have ADL as such an important part of our community. Thank you for giving a voice to all of those who cannot speak for themselves and advocating for those who have no one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2011

I am honored to be a volunteer at this incredible non-profit organization! They are 100% donation-driven and do a fantastic job of connecting families with their new forever friends!! They also run an incredible hospital that treats animals in crisis and offers low-cost spay/neuter services, heartworm treatments. ADL also goes to local schools to educate kids on the importance of animal care and kindness. ADL makes a huge difference in our community on very limited resources.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In 2010 ADL connected 3,131 cats and dogs with their forever families!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more corporate donations.

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My time at the ADL was the most fulfilling volunteer experience I have had. The staff are an extremely friendly, compassionate group of people who are dedicated to impacting the lives of animals and families in the San Antonio area. They take in animals, no matter how sick or abused, and put the resources and care into seeing that that animal has the opportunity to experience a life with a loving family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The Animal Defense League is in a "League of Their Own" as far as animal services in San Antonio. Their experience with compassionate care for animals and training volunteers to become animal advocates surpasses any other service provided in the community. They truly are a no-kill facility and the experiences I have had volunteering there have been extremely positive for the animals as well as the public using the services. My time and money are well utilized at The ADL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Animal Defense League is where I go to adopt my dogs and cats. It is the BEST shelter in San Antonio due to its excellence in the care and compassion of its animals. I have NEVER had a bad experience and I am always amazed at the animals that have been hurt or abused and how they have been cared for and rehabilitated. This shelter has such a hard-working ethic behind it as they serve to take animals off the streets of San Antonio and find them their permanent homes. I donate each year to this organization as they are phenomenal stewards of their budget and monies donated as they are put to helping those in need. They never kill an animal to make room for another and treat each resident with respect. I commend the ADL for having such high expectations that they meet on a daily basis. Without a doubt, they are the BEST non-profit in San Antonio, bar none!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

A fantastic organization that truly cares about the welfare of the animals in its care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more ADLs in other cities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

A staff of very dedicated people who love animals and love what they are doing make this shelter one of the best! The cleanliness, all the green spaces for the animals to exercise in, and the love shown by the staff and volunteers make for happy animals who are very appealing to those wanting to adopt.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care ... more

May 26, 2013

I have been volunteering for this organization for more than 10 years, and both my family animals were adopted from there. One of the great things is that animals are not euthanized just because they haven't been adopted. The staff clearly love the animals and give them extra attention when there is time. They work with shy animals and other issues and I have seen visible improvement as a result of their efforts. And a huge army of volunteers do the same! I currently help the web coordinator photograph all the animals, and their presentations on the web site are the best I have ever seen.
The organization brings in animals from the city sponsored Animal Care Services regularly to help with the huge problem of overpopulation of strays here in San Antonio. Once they arrive at Animal Defense League, we know that they are not subject to a "kill date" if they are not adopted.
If I were a dog or cat and couldn't have a home, this is where I would want to live. Play yards abound, as do volunteers to give attentio and walks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care from employees who love them. No animal is euthanized because they haven't found a home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

When I retired, I wanted to start volunteering at an animal shelter. After checking out the ones around town, I decided on ADL, and it has been everything I saw during my first visit and more. It's not a fancy facility like some of the newer ones, but it is the kind of place I would want to go if I were a dog or cat in need of a place to stay.

The dogs have large kennels with access to inside and covered outside space, and for much of the day they are in play areas with other dogs (unless they don't get along with others), so it's like doggie daycare for them. No one stays cooped up all day.

They get a lot of attention, both from staff and from the many volunteers who come to walk and play with them. You can see the love of the people for the animals in the way they interact and their knowledge of each animal.

The cats have a life that is as good or better than they would have at a house. It's a big room full of toys and places to sleep or be alone, with two large screened porches accessible by cat doors. Staff and volunteers are in and out all day to play with them.

I was surprised at first at how happy and friendly the animals are, since they have all been abandoned or lost. But their good spirits and friendliness can be largely attributed to the way everyone there treats them as their own.

It's more than a no-kill shelter -- it does a lot of outreach to help people understand the importance of spay/neuter and offers now-cost services for spay/neuter, vaccinations and microchipping.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...see that it got more money. What it does is wonderful, and as for quality it's top-notch, but it could use breathing room to do even more for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers