Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.953495
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My time at the ADL was the most fulfilling volunteer experience I have had. The staff are an extremely friendly, compassionate group of people who are dedicated to impacting the lives of animals and families in the San Antonio area. They take in animals, no matter how sick or abused, and put the resources and care into seeing that that animal has the opportunity to experience a life with a loving family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The Animal Defense League is in a "League of Their Own" as far as animal services in San Antonio. Their experience with compassionate care for animals and training volunteers to become animal advocates surpasses any other service provided in the community. They truly are a no-kill facility and the experiences I have had volunteering there have been extremely positive for the animals as well as the public using the services. My time and money are well utilized at The ADL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Animal Defense League is where I go to adopt my dogs and cats. It is the BEST shelter in San Antonio due to its excellence in the care and compassion of its animals. I have NEVER had a bad experience and I am always amazed at the animals that have been hurt or abused and how they have been cared for and rehabilitated. This shelter has such a hard-working ethic behind it as they serve to take animals off the streets of San Antonio and find them their permanent homes. I donate each year to this organization as they are phenomenal stewards of their budget and monies donated as they are put to helping those in need. They never kill an animal to make room for another and treat each resident with respect. I commend the ADL for having such high expectations that they meet on a daily basis. Without a doubt, they are the BEST non-profit in San Antonio, bar none!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 22, 2011

The Animal Defense League (ADL) is the oldest NO-KILL shelter in San Antonio. Our tag line speaks volumes, "WE TAKE THEM IN. YOU TAKE THEM HOME." We strive to give all our animals the best opportunit... more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Animal Defense League of San Antonio is the oldest and largest no-kill shelter in our city. It is the premier haven for the abandoned, abused, neglected and forgotten dogs and cats in our community. The Staff and Volunteers of ADL are dedicated to finding each resident its forever home, all the while taking care of its medical needs. The Staff and Volunteers serve as the voice for these animals that have no one and are completely dependent on the care given them at the Animals Defense League. The ADL works through grass-roots advocacy, education, legal intervention and rescue. The people at ADL enhance the quality of life for each resident until its adoptive home is found. I have never seen more compassion and effort given on a daily basis than I do at this shelter. Their willingness to help animals in need and animals in crisis is outstanding and should be applauded. They are making history as they are the leading advocates for dogs and cats in San Antonio. I encourage everyone to not only come and view the campus and all its residents but to donate to this worthwhile organization that champions such a great cause in our city.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to this organization as it upholds the highest of ethics and it the forerunner in their category of helping animals. Animal Defense League serves as the role model for all others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2011

The Animal Defense League (ADL) is the oldest NO-KILL shelter in San Antonio. Our tag line speaks volumes, "WE TAKE THEM IN. YOU TAKE THEM HOME." We strive to give all our animals the best opportunities to find their "forever home" thanks to our PHENOMENAL STAFF. We take in many animals that would be euthanized due to either a money issue or lack of a veterinarian being able to perform such high-end services. At ADL our mission is to serve as the "leading voice for dogs and cats in need." ONLY if a dog or cat is beyond medical treatment and is suffering, is euthanasia considered, otherwise, our animals are here for adoption or may live out their lives with us. I cannot say enough great things about the ADL and know first-hand as our dog, "Cricket" was adopted from there. Our animals are treated with the utmost care and our staff is unparalleled. We set record numbers everyday for the amount of animals we spay/neuter and we strive each day to help San Antonio reach its NO-KILL goal. We are a 501C3 and receive no government funding. ADL IS THE BEST SHELTER ON THE PLANET TO FIND YOUR NEXT BEST FRIEND. Please see our facility, first-hand, and know what I have said is true. Come visit us at 11300 Nacogdoches. Anna-Laura Howell Block

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have served in the capacity as President and I have adopted a dog from ADL. I know, first-hand, how great this shelter is. The amazing efforts put forth by everyone associated with ADL is UNPARALLELED! I am so proud of the work ADL does for the unwanted, abused or neglected animals of San Antonio and surrounding areas. WE ARE NUMBER 1.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so that more animals could be rescued.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Adoption of my dog, "Cricket" and read about it constantly in the paper and view it on TV.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Taking in more animals and finding them forever homes so that our community can reach, "NO KILL" status.

What is its top priority in the long run?

NO-KIIl in San Antonio

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

A fantastic organization that truly cares about the welfare of the animals in its care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more ADLs in other cities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

A staff of very dedicated people who love animals and love what they are doing make this shelter one of the best! The cleanliness, all the green spaces for the animals to exercise in, and the love shown by the staff and volunteers make for happy animals who are very appealing to those wanting to adopt.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2011

I am honored to be a volunteer at this incredible non-profit organization! They are 100% donation-driven and do a fantastic job of connecting families with their new forever friends!! They also run ... more

October 4, 2013

The Animal Defense League of Texas truly makes a difference, every second of every day, by quietly and diligently doing the right thing for the over 330,000 stray animals in San Antonio. They give care for those cats and dogs that no one else will give a chance at life, no matter the monetary cost and give that animal the love, medical care and attention that it needs to be able to be matched with its perfect home. The rescue stories are numerous and happen every day. The "happy tails" abound as families connect with their adopted dog or cat. It's incredible the difference these animals make in their adoptive families lives. It's a truly magical place where miracles occur every day. We are truly blessed to have ADL as such an important part of our community. Thank you for giving a voice to all of those who cannot speak for themselves and advocating for those who have no one.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2011

I am honored to be a volunteer at this incredible non-profit organization! They are 100% donation-driven and do a fantastic job of connecting families with their new forever friends!! They also run an incredible hospital that treats animals in crisis and offers low-cost spay/neuter services, heartworm treatments. ADL also goes to local schools to educate kids on the importance of animal care and kindness. ADL makes a huge difference in our community on very limited resources.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In 2010 ADL connected 3,131 cats and dogs with their forever families!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more corporate donations.

May 26, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care ... more

May 26, 2013

I have been volunteering for this organization for more than 10 years, and both my family animals were adopted from there. One of the great things is that animals are not euthanized just because they haven't been adopted. The staff clearly love the animals and give them extra attention when there is time. They work with shy animals and other issues and I have seen visible improvement as a result of their efforts. And a huge army of volunteers do the same! I currently help the web coordinator photograph all the animals, and their presentations on the web site are the best I have ever seen.
The organization brings in animals from the city sponsored Animal Care Services regularly to help with the huge problem of overpopulation of strays here in San Antonio. Once they arrive at Animal Defense League, we know that they are not subject to a "kill date" if they are not adopted.
If I were a dog or cat and couldn't have a home, this is where I would want to live. Play yards abound, as do volunteers to give attentio and walks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over ten years and have adopted three animals from this organization. This is a wonderful place for dogs and cats to live until they find a home. They receive great care from employees who love them. No animal is euthanized because they haven't found a home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I have been volunteering at the ADL for over 6 months and I have been awed by the care and love these animals are shown by the staff and volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

When I retired, I wanted to start volunteering at an animal shelter. After checking out the ones around town, I decided on ADL, and it has been everything I saw during my first visit and more. It's not a fancy facility like some of the newer ones, but it is the kind of place I would want to go if I were a dog or cat in need of a place to stay.

The dogs have large kennels with access to inside and covered outside space, and for much of the day they are in play areas with other dogs (unless they don't get along with others), so it's like doggie daycare for them. No one stays cooped up all day.

They get a lot of attention, both from staff and from the many volunteers who come to walk and play with them. You can see the love of the people for the animals in the way they interact and their knowledge of each animal.

The cats have a life that is as good or better than they would have at a house. It's a big room full of toys and places to sleep or be alone, with two large screened porches accessible by cat doors. Staff and volunteers are in and out all day to play with them.

I was surprised at first at how happy and friendly the animals are, since they have all been abandoned or lost. But their good spirits and friendliness can be largely attributed to the way everyone there treats them as their own.

It's more than a no-kill shelter -- it does a lot of outreach to help people understand the importance of spay/neuter and offers now-cost services for spay/neuter, vaccinations and microchipping.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...see that it got more money. What it does is wonderful, and as for quality it's top-notch, but it could use breathing room to do even more for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers