Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
62 Reviews
1234.709685
Write A Review
November 22, 2014

more

November 22, 2014

Brenda is a very rude person ..she had a Small Chihhuaha that was up for adoption my daughter fell in love with her ..one lady gave my daughter the dog to hold then Brenda says oh no she is for an adult home only there wasn't any sign she had special needs or needed an adult home .my daughter thought we could have her then Brenda who was extremely rude to my daughter when she tried to go back to ask why because she felt rejected and she Is only fifteen ..why do these non profits take their dogs out when they really don't have intention on adopting Them out ..she is the president if she is rude to peoples how is she with animals ..feeling prejudice against poor customer service

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of brenda as the president

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted Clark, a yellow Lab/German Shepherd mix, in May following the loss of our beloved Corgi a few months before. Clark came to us very well trained, neutered, and in perfect health. He has never tried to mark the house, gets along perfectly with our other dog, and has all of us wrapped around his little paw. He's now the love of our lives!

ACT provided a wonderful dog park for the two dogs to become acquainted, and a canine behavior expert also observed their interactions and gave us words of wisdom to help him adjust to our forever family. They followed up with contact to make sure all is going well. A free vet health exam came long with the adoption fee.

I whole heartedly recommend ACT for anyone wanting to add a furbaby to their family. I used to breed and show Shelties, so I have more than the average layman's knowledge of dogs, and I respect their care standards for each animal. In the future, I will always go to ACT for any future adoptions.
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

I found the love of my life thru ACT. They worked with me to find the perfect dog for me. I wanted a dog that I could use in Therapy Dog work. They match me with Ruby an Australian Shepard. She was perfect and was able to pass the certification test within 3 weeks of me adopting her. The really help me in finding the most wonderful dog and I love their program that allows people to take home an animal to make sure it is a good match. I think this shows that they are more concerned about find permanent homes for the animals rather then just cycling them though the system.
October 4, 2014

more

October 4, 2014

Back in March my best friend adopted a dog from ACT when it came time for my parents to get a cat ACT was the place I took them to and even found a lovely cat for myself.
They are kind and loving people who work hard to take care of many dogs and cats. Their cat rooms are clean and taken care
of, all of their dogs are happy and in clean areas. A VERY nice place! I know if I’m ever looking for another pet I will be returning to them.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Animal Compassion Team is an amazing organiztion. They go above and beyond to care for the animals at there shelter. I always refer people to ACT when asking of a great no kill shelter. I have adopted one of my dogs through ACT and I look foward to adopting many more through ACT.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

We highly recommend ACT for your next adoption! They are a fantastic group to work with. Extremely knowledgeable & caring people who obviously love animals. We drove 3-1/2 hours from Los Angeles to Fresno to adopt one of their puppies & it was definitely worth the trip! We were super-impressed with ACT in how organized & responsive they were in their Adoption Process. We can't thank ACT enough for all they did for our puppy, Jimmy (aka General Motors Camshaft), along with Jimmy's 5 siblings & their mother when the pups were barely 3 weeks old. ACT found all The General Motors great homes along with thousands of other homeless animals that they have rescued. We LOVE ACT & we're sure you will too.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

We adopted our dog buddy two years ago. They helped us get the perfect dog for our family. Our dog has been amazing with my autistic child.
October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was so impressed by the volunteers, fosters, organization, facilities and mission of Animal Compassion Team that I donate monthly to their cause. I appreciate the outreach and education they provide for the community. I drove all the way from Monterey County to adopt my little Milly from ACT. She's been with me for 10 months and I'm so grateful that they saved her at the last minute; a reprieve from a high kill shelter. I subscribe to their Facebook page and so enjoy the pictures of happy cats and dogs finding their forever families. This is a WONDERFUl organization that deserves our support.
October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I adopted our first dog together from ACT. We could hardly wait to get home from our honeymoon to visit this place we had already grown to love just from viewing the website. Upon finally getting to visit ACT, we fell in love. We expected to love the dogs, but we did not expect to be so moved by the experience. The facility is completely run by volunteers and there is no denying each person found there is there because they love animals. The property is beautiful and the dogs are so well cared for despite the challenge of being completely supported by donations. It is a sad reality that there are places that "save" animals only to give up on them shortly after, but ACT is different. Each animal is able to call ACT home for as long as they need to and no animal is turned away. This sanctuary serves as a home for each of its residents and is full of smiles and new beginnings.

The little dogs act as the welcoming committee as you enter the gates. Sweet Earl greets you once you enter the building with a full-body wiggle inspired by a pure love of all guests. Angel runs the front desk under the supervision of Fowler's Babe and makes sure to help Earl let the humans know visitors have come. Once you get into the hallway, Romeo, the gentle giant, escorts you to your next destination. The entire facility is colored with murals of happy animals and success stories. You can look into the rooms and see perfectly content animals everywhere. One of my favorite rooms is the senior citizen lounge. There you can find some of the older tenants enjoying their age while watching the same video cassette tape all day and finding comfort on an old couch. If you ask the volunteers why they leave a television on for them they will probably tell you, "They seem to like it that way. It makes them happy."

Once we got outside to see the bigger dogs, we realized that we were in trouble because we were falling in love with each of them as we toured their spaces. I am someone who has to engage with all of them so our visit was lengthy, but no one there ever rushed us. We were able to bond with the potential new family members in a beautiful play yard and the volunteers helped us along the whole process. They were supportive and well-informed because they knew each individual detail of each dog, and they cared. Even the response of the dogs made it evident that the love shared at ACT is mutual.

Baron was added to our family in June and has been such a blessing to our lives. We had such a wonderful experience the first time, we ended up adopting our second ACT family member, Boomey, in August. We have been given the gift of coming home to our sweet boys every day, but there has yet to be a day that I don't think about the welcoming committee and Earl, Angel and Babe, Romeo and the senior citizens...

I can personally guarantee that your life will be so positively changed if you even just visit this place, getting to take one (or two) of its residents home with you will only serve as a constant reminder that you are forever a member of the ACT family, and you, just like Brenda and Brian and Katie and all of the other wonderful blessings do every day, have had two hands in saving an animal that deserves a forever home.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

I adopted my pup Izzy ( formerly McBree) at the end of July 2014. ACT was so responsive as soon as I filled out an application. I began this process not knowing what dog I wanted, but more so the characteristics of what I was looking for, fit my lifestyle and was suitable for apartment life. Within 48 hours, once my application was approved, I heard from ACT. They had a few dogs that met what I was looking for. I fell in love with a litter of 3 puppies, pug x terriers. I was in conctact with the Foster mom until the day I drove 3.5 hours to ACT Everyone was so welcoming when i arrived, it was within 2 minutes, we were placed in a room to meet the 3 puppies. Fell in love with the small female of the group, and after we reviewed her information, medical papers etc. I was determined to take her home that day- and that is what I did. One of the best decisions I have made. The shy little puppy I picked out is coming into her own every day. She is the sweetest dog. She is excelling in obedience training, and has caused class to end eaely twice - since she is such a quick learner! I will be returning to ACT when I am able to add anther furbaby into my life!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers