Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.333335
Write A Review
October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I have been volunteering at ACL for some 7 yrs. I enjoy socializing Cats, volunteering at offsite events and working in the office. 2 of my own cats came from ACL and both are important part of my family. ACL does a great job finding homes for these adoptable pets, is well run by very good staff. Also some great volunteers put in a lot of time there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Network more with organizations that can help animals that are not adoptable because of behavior issues or major health issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I adopted 2 of my current cats from the ACL after my former cat, also an ACL alum, has passed away. I found the shelter extremely clean, the staff friendly and willing to help and also willing to give my husband and I the time and space to find the right match for us. Of course we went in thinking about what we wanted to adopt, and, of course, the 2 that we brought home "adopted" us. My husband laid down on the floor and one cat came over, walked up his leg and feel asleep on his side. Okay, we knew she was coming home with us!! Then a orange tabby walked over and laid down right next to his outstretched hand to be scratched and started purring loudly. The rest of the cats just kind of walked around us and played and then left. We knew the 2 that had "picked" us were coming home with us. That was 10 years ago. I've been involved with the ACL as a volunteer for over 30 years. Trust me, if I didn't believe in their mission and the thousands of animals they've helped, I wouldn't still be volunteering. There is now a Low Cost Spay/Neuter clinic, off-site adoption programs, mobile clinic, resale shop and lots of events. Things for the entire family. Stop by to volunteer, you won't regret it and you'll be making the live of a cat, dog, rabbit, rat, bird or mouse better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 18, 2013

Happy 40th Birthday to the Animal Care League. WOW they have placed so many animals of all types in FOREVER homes. I know they are always looking for volunteers to help at their 2nd Chance Shop/Resale... more

April 5, 2013

I have been a volunteer for 4 years and have done many things with the Animal Care League. I have walked the dogs,played with the cats, worked at the 2nd chance shop-which always need volunteers to help! It is fun way to support the organization. You should go and visit the 2nd chance shop in Oak Park.
I have helped with many events. I know they have many events that directly support the animals.
I got involved by visiting their website www.animalcareleague.org.
Come be involved and help the animals like I did.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

Happy 40th Birthday to the Animal Care League. WOW they have placed so many animals of all types in FOREVER homes. I know they are always looking for volunteers to help at their 2nd Chance Shop/Resale Shop and helping out in the office. These areas help the animals in such a different way. This is such a great organization.
Come to our BABY SHOWER-February 24th 12-3pm. It will be held at the shelter.1011 Garfield, Oak Park,IL.
search our website www.animalcareleague.org for items we need for the arrival of all the Puppies and Kitties that will come to us this SPRING. What a fun day for ALL.
Visit us or look on the website for descriptions of all the animals available.
See you soon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

Wonderful organization that takes their time to be sure I was correctly fitted with the animal I chose or should I say chose me. She has been with us for 2 years and we love her and her antics. If you are looking to adopt please stop by their shelter,offsite site,2nd chance shop, or the Barker shop and see who you can provide a forever home to.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

My daughter, my niece and myself volunteer at the Animal Care League. The experience is great! The girls are teens and love every aspect. The staff is friendly, the shelter is clean and they allow us the opportunity to share with cleaning, feeding, friendly times and walking the dogs . Of course much much ore. I recently adopted a dog amed "Bullet" who came from the south, was shot in the left eye with a bgun and Is blind. My daughter and I quickly fell in love with him and adopted him. Adoption is awesome! Thank you Animal Care League for rescuing him and allowing us to make him a par t ofour family forever!! Even volunteers can rescue an animal in need. Bullet now known as Griffin is smart, intelligent ,playful ,loving, kind, full of energy and loyal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Over the seven years I've been a volunteer, I have come to believe that the animal or person who finds their way to the Animal Care League has found a place of hope and reward. All the animals who arrive are in need of basic comfort and shelter and some are in need of additional medical care, training, and proof that people are to be trusted. No matter what an animal needs, the Animal Care League staff, foster families, and volunteers strive to meet those needs. The staff is dedicated to helping each animal reach its full healthy and happy potential to speed it on its way to a permanent home. Foster families comfort and nurture the neediest animals. Volunteers help the staff by socializing animals and assisting in a multitude of daily chores that make the animals comfortable and the shelter clean and welcoming. Potential adopters are counseled by staff and given insightful information about an animal’s personality to help facilitate a good adoption match. The work going on at the Animal Care League is clearly a labor of love. It is a place that enriches not only the lives of the animals it shelters but also of the people who work, volunteer, and visit to adopt an animal companion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I have supported the Animal Care League for almost fifteen years, in a variety of roles. Their dedication to the animals is always first. The growth of the shelter and the services it provides continues to expand: off site adoption,, animal control , low cost spay/neuter clinic, edcudating people on TNR and developing programs, food pantry, training.. It goes on, but you get the picture. Animal Care League is the best stop on the way to a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have been a volunteer for the Animal Care League for over 25 years. The organization continues to grow and has helped thousands of pets find their forever home. While they are housed at the shelter, they are cared for by the most dedicated and skilled staff I have ever encountered. They continue to reach out to the community with humane education programs, and low cost spay/neutering. Stray and homeless pets have many more opportunities to find their forever home because of this organization. I am proud to be a part of this group and a supporter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012

more

March 26, 2012

I volunteered at the Animal Care League and found the staff and facility to be superb. The facility is clean and the animals are very well taken care of. The staff are very busy, but they are always willing to answer questions and help out customers. The staff are clear to stress that the Animal Care League is not a no kill shelter. Rather it is a limited intake shelter which means that they only take animals that they have space for and they never euthanize an animal to make space for another animal. They only euthanize animals that are sick beyond repair or dangerous to potential adopters. Many animal shelters get a bad reputation for not being a no kill shelter, but the Animal Care League does everything they can to rehabilitate or train their animals before euthanizing them. They take the decision very seriously and never euthanize animals out of convenience. Overall I have had an excellent experience volunteering at the Animal Care League and I know plenty of people with happy pets that they have adopted from the ACL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place advertises as a "no-kill" shelter. Nothing could be further from the truth. Animal Care League kills one out of five dogs. I work in the animal rescue field and I have never seen anything so despicable as what the Animal Care League did in the case of a dog named Cookie who Animal Care League killed after this poor dog traveled hundreds of miles to find safety. With a simple telephone call, Cookie could have been in a home for Christmas. Animal Care League knew it. Animal Care League knew that someone only had to make a simple call to send Cooke to the home who cared for her before she went to the Animal Care League. Instead, Animal Care League killed Cookie as soon as she walked into their rotten shelter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 30, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Our rescue was bringing the ACL fully vetted dogs from the south in an attempt to help them. We thought we were a collaberative group of people working together towards the same goals. We repeatedly told the ACL if they ever deemed one of our dogs unadoptable we would happily pick them up. We found out that they killed our dog "Cookie" for food aggression. They preferred killing to returning. Cookie was a good girl and the "no kill philosophy" that they claim is just not true. There are other organizations that truly "help" animals that are more worthy of donations. All they had to do was pick up the phone to save a life but instead they made an incredibly bad decision that cost Cookie her life. So sad.

Photos

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Call any rescue that wanted the return of a dog that was deemed unadoptable. food aggression is not a incurable offense.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

reluctant to speak against their employers. They fears they would lose their jobs and not be able to help the animals.

Ways to make it better...

They had bothered to call us.

One thing I'd also say is that...

If you claim to have a no kill philosophy and you kill one out of every 5 dogs you take in you are not a no kill and not even close. You are deceiving the donating public with your no kill philosophy literature. I think this constitutes public fraud.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Walk some dogs, socialize with several cats, assist with laundry, do dishes, AND SO MUCH MORE! Volunteer