Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Angelwish is a great organization that does so much not only for children with chronic illnesses, but for their parents and the social workers helping their families. I had the opportunity to learn more of this organization through a corporate partnership program, in which we spent a day with children, taking them on a scavenger hunt through the Museum of Natural History and it was one of the best programs I’ve participated in. Shimmy is so passionate about this cause and dedicates a lot of time and energy into making it all happen. I look forward to becoming more involved with this inspiring organization!
September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

In 2013, we had the wonderful experience to have Shimmy, angelwish and volunteers from JP Morgan Chase come to speak about philanthropy with my son and his third grade class. I was lucky enough to be a parent volunteer when our class went toy shopping with angelwish and the JP Morgan Chase volunteers at kidding around for children at Mt. Sinai Hospital. It was such an amazing experience for all of us that were involved. Shimmy is so wonderful with the kids and explaining the value of philanthropy when he spoke to the children and also selecting toys for the kids. He made such an impression on our class that we even made our annual auction project based on philanthropy and angelwish. The children felt so good about helping, giving back and learnt so much from Shimmy!! Thank you angelwish!
August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I met Shimmy and learned about the great work that Angelwish does back in 2007/2008. Shimmy has created an awe inspiring charitable organization that helps people in more ways than one. Angelwish helps children and parents infected or affected by HIV/AIDS. He also provides an invaluable opportunity for children to learn all about philanthropy. Through the amazing work of Angelwish, my 3rd grade students have had the opportunity for a life changing experience. They get to learn about needs and wants and how others can help. Most importantly, the students are empowered by a wonderful opportunity to give to those in need through Angelwish's "Giving Sprees." They serve as experts on toys and children while getting to feel the power of helping others! It is my belief that my students will be positively influenced by Shimmy and Angelwish for the rest of their lives! Thank you Shimmy for all that you do! You are truly an inspiration!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Angelwish is an amazing foundation that puts smile's on soooo many kids faces. I love the fact that Angelwish works with children in the schools to teach them what it means to give, whether its time, money or effort!! It is truly an inspiring organization that I hope will continue to grow. I plan to continue to volunteer to help out for such a great cause!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Angelwish is an incredible organization. Their model makes it very easy for people who want to make an impact do so. Whether it is spending a day with a child that has a chronic illness or provide a toy to parents who can give their child a christmas miracle - Angelwish brings joy to families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the chance to Volunteer with Angelwish and have seen first hand the work they do with children. It is amazing to see the joy thy bring to so many children and, as much joy as teh children have, you will be filled with much more. It is so simple to have a large impact on someone's life. Amazing Work!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've know about Angelwish for sometime and what attracted me to volunteer was its simple, yet powerful mission of helping children with terminal illnesses. The program maximizes impact by involving those most influential in the child's life including parents and social workers. Further, the online platform makes it easy for individuals and corporations to be involved. I'd highly recommend this organization given the strong impact it's delivering to children here and abroad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first had the opportunity to be involved with Angelwish during my senior year in high school. I was involved with the wiffleball event which was both fun and rewarding for the community. Over the years, I have seen the great work of Angelwish to help children and the community and always am willing to volunteer when needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I helped out the organization's founder at a small happy hour event. His dedication to the cause is both outstanding and inspiring. What drew me to the organization is its dedication to the idea that small things can make a big difference. That instead of a trip to disneyland, simply being able to have christmas presents this year makes a world of difference. Keep doing what you're doing Shimmy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked for a semester as an intern at Angelwish. The organization was in a transition phase while I was there, expanding their aim and activities to try and reach a larger population as well as figuring out how to function in a more environmentally benign manner. During my time at Angelwish I was able to see firsthand how much work, thought, and effort the staff put into running the organization every day. Shimmy, the founder, works tirelessly to come up with new ways in which he can improve Angelwish's services, as well as trying to measure the real impact Angelwish is having on their target population. One of my jobs as an intern was to collect stories from social workers, hospitals, and families who had worked with Angelwish. It was only after hearing their stories that I realized how much Angelwish really has touched many peoples lives. The organization exemplifies the way in which seemingly small thoughts and actions--donating a toy, giving a gift--can make a real impact on a child or parent's life. It really is not about the gift, but about the way in which giving and receiving a gift can help build and repair relationships between a parent and child.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers