Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

My husband, CH CPT Dale A Goetz, was killed August 30, 2010 along with 4 other soldiers by an IED in Kandahar, Afghanistan. Not long after, I was contacted by Joe Lewis, founder of Angels of America's Fallen. Once he learned of our loss, he immediately set out to find us and see how he and his organization could help my three boys who were left fatherless. My boys became the first recipients of Angels of Americas Fallen. They have enjoyed music lessons, swim lessons and mentoring by teachers who care thanks to the many generous donors! Most recently, our family was given a 15 passenger van for our new extended family. I remarried a widower whose wife died of breast cancer in 2011 leaving him with 7 children. We married almost one year ago and have been driving two vehicles everywhere we go together. Angels of Americas Fallen along with several other generous givers were there to support our fallen family and new extended group at the dedication in honor of Dale. I am forever grateful for these individuals whose heartbeat is to remember and serve those left behind!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

"Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of our God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, and to keep oneself unstained by the world." James 1:27. Angels of Americas Fallen is doing the work of the Lord! What an honor it is to donate to this organization! I am touched by the stories of these children who have endured such loss, and with the help from AoAF, they have been given a chance to experience a part of their childhood. I couldn't be more proud of Joe and Shelli with all of the work they're doing with AoAF!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Having worked for and with several branches of the military for many years, AoAF brought to my attention and I am sure many others, a need that I had never considered. The future of children that have lost a parent in service to America is something that should never be overlooked. The opportunities to help serve these children and give them a level of comfort and guidance that might not otherwise be available is crucial.

I look forward to watching the outstanding cause grow and, even more so, to seeing the leaders and outstanding citizens that I know many of the children helped by AoAF will become.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

The focus of AoAF is to help these children NOW, in an influential stage of their lives. Rather than set up scholarship funds that may never apply, Angels focuses on getting the children who have suffered a critical loss involved in positive activities with good role models and family support as early as possible. The actities are chosen by the children and their families, and nearly all of the funds going into the organization are going straight to the support programs. There are not executives making six figure salaries here - just hard working and caring volunteers who give gererously of their time and effort to make the lives of these families better.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

In a sea of non-profits that support admirable causes Angels of America's Fallen has zeroed in on the heart of how a charitable organization should operate. Every ounce of energy from AoAF is 100% focused on supporting kids in the best way possible during the most critical times of their lives following the ultimate trauma to a family--the loss of a parent. By providing opportunity for kids to participate in youth activities where positive role models can make a continuing positive impact AoAF is truly a blessing for many families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

My wife and I became guardians of a 9 year old by last year, his father was killed while on active duty on the Army. This young man has had allot of trauma in his life, abandoned by his mother, moved from state to state, school to school, it been a difficult 9 years to say the very least. One of the top priorities for us in rebuilding his shattered life is to build new memories ones that will fill his mind with happy times, a safe, stable, consistent, and loving family with great memories. AAF created the greatest time of the boys life this past summer when they sponsored him to attend a boys camp in New Hampshire for a week. Its done so much for the boy's conference, fulled him with joy and fun filled days. Administratively AAF was warm, compassionate, and easy to deal with. They took control of the situation by linking directly with the camp's administrator and took care of the arrangements. The whole event was put together is just a couple of weeks. Even after the event, Shelly and Joe still reached out to the boy sending him a welcome package (a personal letter, stickers, personalized dog tags, a cool AFF coin), welcoming him into the AFF family and letting him know his father was and is appreciated by many. They are now linked to the boy and we're looking forward to working with AAF again. Gratefully and Respectfully Submitted, Steve R, New Hampshire.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money, I'd flood them with cash and let them do what they do best. While this was my first experience with AAF the entire process was remarkably smooth. Their compassion shines. They need to be supported so they can help others like they helped our boy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

AoAF seeks to meet the needs of children who have lost their most important mentor. While we can never replace the lost parent, we can certainly provide them a strong foundation to grow. The impact of this organization are readily seen in the faces of the children we serve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

The passion that this organization shows day in and day out for their mission of helping families devastated by the loss of a parent who served is amazing. It has been amazing to watch as so many opportunities have been afforded these children and the incredible stewardship of Joe and the whole team. I highly recommend partnering with Angels of America's Fallen in whatever way possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

I have seen 1st hand how much Joe puts his time, effort and soul into this charity. His sole goal is to help the kids. Any person who takes his/her time, and forgoes being paid to ensure the kids don't go without is a an angel in my book!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

Angels really fills an important gap that better-known organizations don't. They operate more "lean" and efficiently than any other group I've ever seen. They meet needs quickly and direct donations effectively to the kids they serve. This is an organization that really has earned the trust of donors like me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers