Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I have been involved with Angels in Need for several years now. Jeni Cooper is an amazing and true person. She is the epitome of selflessness. I have an autistic son and a metally handicapped 51 year old brother. AIN has embraced our family and is a great resource and support for our family!!! The Buddy System at Davidson College was a great experience for my son. One of our favorite nights of the year is the Buddy Club Concert. What a wonderful night for our whole family. Thank you Jeni and AIN for the wonderful impact you have had on our lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

We have a son adopted from Russia at age 3 and he has Autism/PDD-NOS. We moved to the area a year and a half ago. Angels in need has a wonderful welcome packet full of resources and referrals for services. I most enjoy the monthly coffee meetings where we share experiences and ideas of how to help our "special children". It really helps to have support, a place to ask questions and get direction. These meetings often feature a speaker providing an introduction to many services that can be helpful. It has also been a great source of friendships and playdates. They also offer social events to get the families out together. Thank you! It would have been very difficult starting in a new area and new schools without this charity. Laura-Huntersville, NC

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Becoming a parent is one of life's greatest joys, and greatest challenges. Preparing for my son was filled with baby showers, tea parties, pre-natal classes, and doctors visits. All expecting parents welcome and embrace these rights passage as our little ones enter our lives. Many of us deliver the common phrase, "we don't mind if its a boy or a girl, just as long as it is healthy." But what happens when your child is born with special needs? We brought our son home from the hospital expecting the visits to the doctor to last only a few more moths, but instead, the visits increased. Our quest for the perfect basinet became a quest to find a doctor who could give us answers to help our child, and who would accept our health insurance. Many friends and family who threw our baby shower to show their support, no longer accepted play dates with our child. The schools we spent months researching were no longer a place of learning. They became the pit of the NYSE trading floor, barganing IEP accaccomodations for for testing modifications. A sense of accomplishment was held in a paper document which may not receive implementation, rather than a gold star for what we saw as strides in our child's progress. He still wouldn't make the grade. While many parents and teachers offered a listening ear, the daunting task of explaining our childs diagnosis became overwhelming, and we simply stopped talking or trying to connect. Although this time in our lives felt isolating, we were not alone. We were amongst all parents, special needs or typically developing, who put on the brave face and confidence necessary to blend in with the other parents. Once we began honest conversations with other parents, we found out we were not alone. We were not the only special needs parents, nor were we the only parents facing challenges with a diagnosis, medical insurance, or helping to educate our schools. Angels in Need and Lake Norman Exceptional Moms gave us a place to talk about the challenges we were facing, and find the humor in our child's every day challenges. We found a community of encouragement and empowerment through scholarships and programing apprpriate to our child's needs. A place our child would be loved and accepted for their strengths rather than defined by their disabilities. Together we are able to celebrate each step in our child's development knowing we will have a friend to guide us through each challenge, and celebrate each joy with our child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Angels in Need is the best resource for supporting special needs families in the North Mecklenburg area and beyond. Great at passing along information, hosting events, and finding much needed and various supports for those in need. Real people making a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Angels In Need has been a crucial resource, a support system and a friend to our family from the moment we stepped foot in the Lake Norman area. These are beautiful people making a real difference in the lives of so many. They are always looking for more ways to help. Every day they have more to offer and every day they reach more families in need of support. This is an organization that really cares for each and every person they serve. They certainly have a special place in our heart.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The best help anyone can offer is the help that is "needed". What's the point of offering me bread, if what I really need is shoes? Angels in Need is a GENUINE help. They seek out what is needed by families and their communities, and that is the help they so desire to offer, and in the end the help they provide. They take the time to understand the needs of the families affected by disabilities or other hardships, and they take the time to collaborate and make that open need turn into a "satisfied" need. In my lifetime, I have met very few people who really want to offer their help....society is very closed minded about people "in need"....but Angels in Need opens up their arms to help those who are really broken, who are really in despair, and who are probably too ashamed to come forth and ask for the help. They transcend the meaning of a good neighbor. I love this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Angels in need is a great organization making real difference in the lives of kids. Its approach and commitment is far beyond any such organization I know. I have seen dramatic position changes it has brought to children's lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Angels in need is a wonderful charity run by 100% volunteer staff. They serve the children in Lake Norman area as well as abroad. Their work is absolutely astounding. They provide the services not provided by any other organization. They play a pivotal role in improving lives of many many children. Kudos to the fine individuals running this charity!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The outreach of this organization is astounding! Not only do they serve very special children in both Romania and the Republic of Georgia, but they serve exceptional children in their home community in North Carolina. My son participates in the Buddy program and through this he has made some very nurturing connections that often more difficult for him to make with his school peers. While Angels in Need have few funds, they have enormous hearts and a pure dedication to make this world a better place for children in need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers