Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I have been involved with Angels in Need for several years now. Jeni Cooper is an amazing and true person. She is the epitome of selflessness. I have an autistic son and a metally handicapped 51 year old brother. AIN has embraced our family and is a great resource and support for our family!!! The Buddy System at Davidson College was a great experience for my son. One of our favorite nights of the year is the Buddy Club Concert. What a wonderful night for our whole family. Thank you Jeni and AIN for the wonderful impact you have had on our lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

We have a son adopted from Russia at age 3 and he has Autism/PDD-NOS. We moved to the area a year and a half ago. Angels in need has a wonderful welcome packet full of resources and referrals for services. I most enjoy the monthly coffee meetings where we share experiences and ideas of how to help our "special children". It really helps to have support, a place to ask questions and get direction. These meetings often feature a speaker providing an introduction to many services that can be helpful. It has also been a great source of friendships and playdates. They also offer social events to get the families out together. Thank you! It would have been very difficult starting in a new area and new schools without this charity. Laura-Huntersville, NC

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Angels in need serves as an amazing resource and connection to the community. It blows me away that it is run by one couple. Jeni Cooper is efficient and organized and her drive to help others is truly one to admire and brag about. The angels in need website is clear and easy to navigate and is a one-of- a kind resource for families living with disabilities. It includes local recreational programs, medical professional listings and personal experiences, support groups, webinars, educational information sessions, scholarships and family social opportunities. Angels in need is a one-stop-shop for parents raising children with disabilities. It saves them precious time, allowing them to spend more of it, with their kids. I proudly refer parents to the angels in need website, and click on it very frequently myself. Angels in need make it easy and desirable to fundraise and donate to their causes, because they are 100% volunteer based, and all donations go directly to the children, whether they live in the Lake Norman area or at the House of Angels in Romania. This is very appealing, because people can feel confident that ALL of their donation will directly help a child with a disability. Angels in need has made a huge difference in the lives of many and this nonprofit is one to be recognized and celebrated!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Angels in Need is a phenominal organization that works to help orphans and disadvantaged children in Romania and locally in North Mecklenburg, NC. The organization allows us to become angels for special needs children, which in turn affords us the opportunity to be truly blessed by those children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Becoming a parent is one of life's greatest joys, and greatest challenges. Preparing for my son was filled with baby showers, tea parties, pre-natal classes, and doctors visits. All expecting parents welcome and embrace these rights passage as our little ones enter our lives. Many of us deliver the common phrase, "we don't mind if its a boy or a girl, just as long as it is healthy." But what happens when your child is born with special needs? We brought our son home from the hospital expecting the visits to the doctor to last only a few more moths, but instead, the visits increased. Our quest for the perfect basinet became a quest to find a doctor who could give us answers to help our child, and who would accept our health insurance. Many friends and family who threw our baby shower to show their support, no longer accepted play dates with our child. The schools we spent months researching were no longer a place of learning. They became the pit of the NYSE trading floor, barganing IEP accaccomodations for for testing modifications. A sense of accomplishment was held in a paper document which may not receive implementation, rather than a gold star for what we saw as strides in our child's progress. He still wouldn't make the grade. While many parents and teachers offered a listening ear, the daunting task of explaining our childs diagnosis became overwhelming, and we simply stopped talking or trying to connect. Although this time in our lives felt isolating, we were not alone. We were amongst all parents, special needs or typically developing, who put on the brave face and confidence necessary to blend in with the other parents. Once we began honest conversations with other parents, we found out we were not alone. We were not the only special needs parents, nor were we the only parents facing challenges with a diagnosis, medical insurance, or helping to educate our schools. Angels in Need and Lake Norman Exceptional Moms gave us a place to talk about the challenges we were facing, and find the humor in our child's every day challenges. We found a community of encouragement and empowerment through scholarships and programing apprpriate to our child's needs. A place our child would be loved and accepted for their strengths rather than defined by their disabilities. Together we are able to celebrate each step in our child's development knowing we will have a friend to guide us through each challenge, and celebrate each joy with our child.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Angels in Need is the best resource for supporting special needs families in the North Mecklenburg area and beyond. Great at passing along information, hosting events, and finding much needed and various supports for those in need. Real people making a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

"Angels in need" takes the initiative and does a lot of hands on good work for disadvantaged children here locally and abroad. My son has autism who has significant communication and social deficit. He benefits tremendously from the Buddy Club sponsored by "Angels in Need" with the help of Davidson College Buddy System. "Angels in need" also sponsors local disadvantaged children for summer camp and other emergency needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Angels In Need has been a crucial resource, a support system and a friend to our family from the moment we stepped foot in the Lake Norman area. These are beautiful people making a real difference in the lives of so many. They are always looking for more ways to help. Every day they have more to offer and every day they reach more families in need of support. This is an organization that really cares for each and every person they serve. They certainly have a special place in our heart.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Wonderful organization. When we moved into the area a couple of years ago, I was able to connect with other families with special needs children. I've gained many many great friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

My visits to different orphanges that originated under Ceausescu, and remain under current government, have inspired me to research several nonprofit organizations now helping children in Romania. "Angels in Need" is one of the most effective homes for needy children who have no family. The caretakers have opened their hearts and given hands to these sweet children at Angels in Need. The devotion and determination of Simona Stewart, the director, is incredible. This home for children only needs financial donations....for it has everything emotionally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers