Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

Helping Hounds Dog Rescue in Dewitt, NY has partnered with Angel's Arms to rescue dogs from high kill and over crowded shelters in Mobile, Alabama. Without the financial and emotional support of Angel's Arms, these transports would not be possible. Angel's Arms goes the extra mile for each and every animal they come in contact with. The quality of vetting and medical paperwork for each dog far surpasses any other rescue we have worked with in the US. The volunteers put their whole hearts into the well being of each animal. They demand the highest quality transportation systems to ensure their dogs are well cared for and arrive safely.
Some people sit back and act overwhelmed by the amount of dogs in need in their state. The volunteers at Angel's Arms jump in with both feet to make sure that any dog they know about is properly taken care of.
Thank you to everyone at Angel's Arms for all you do! The world is a better place because of your organization.
Tracy at Helping Hounds Dog Rescue

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013

My families experience volunteering with Angels' Arms to distribute donated food to local shelters in Mobile, AL and the surrounding areas has been very rewarding. We have volunteered with Angels' Arms over a dozen times in the last year including supporting efforts to save animals from abandoned shelters with animals living in very poor conditions, to loading and unloading tens of thousands of pounds of donated food in support of local shelters, to helping place animals in need of a good home. Being able to see the difference the organization has made through its efforts first hand is what keeps us coming back. Because of the altruistic nature of the cause and the Angels' Arms organization I never hesitate to solicit additional help from co workers and friends. Because of Angels' Arms hard work and unfailing commitment to the cause, hundreds of dogs and cats in shelters in Mobile, AL and surrounding areas have benefited and continue to benefit daily. Not to mention the burden that their efforts lessen on the shelters who are also working very hard to provide for these animals until they can find them a new home and someone to love them. Angels' Arms’ efforts to save, feed, provide spay and neuter services and place homeless animals are among the most noble and the organization deserve all the help it can muster.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
January 7, 2013

My name is Sandy Shepard and I have been with this AWESOME all volunteer animal welfare group for the last two and a half years. I started as a volunteer and six months later became a board member.

Our group started out rescuing animals from our local high kill shelters. We also
transported animals on their way to their forever homes, through OTRA (On The Road Again). Our President is an OTRA verified transporter.

During 2011 our group took a look at the resources we had and resources we did not have (a facility to board animals) and tried to figure how we could help a larger number of animals in need with the finances we had. Rescuing was hard to give up, but we have found that we have helped so many more animals and groups by doing our programs below then what we were able to do when we were faced with large expenses for boarding that absorbed the majority of our financial resources.

We also tried to figure out what ways we could educate the public on the local euthanasia statistics and we tried to figure out how we could help other local rescue groups and animal shelters with large needs that they face.

The first project we accomplished was our community awareness project. You can view video of this project on You Tube under Angels' Arms Mobile, Al Community Awareness Project. You can also find a link on our website www.angelsarms4paws.org. For this project we made wooden crosses out of discarded pallets from local businesses. We made and displayed one wooden cross representing each animals that was euthanized in three of our four local animal shelters. (We were unable to get the statistics on the forth shelter.) In total we made 8,450 crosses, one cross for each animal euthanized in 2010 in Mobile County, AL. The crosses stood in a field on the side of a major highway in Mobile County, AL from October 2011 through December 2011. Signs were posted stating what these crosses represented and to please spay/neuter, please adopt not buy and please volunteer with local shelters and rescue groups.

The second project that we started was in November 2011 we started our very first pet food distribution program called - FOOD TO THE RESCUES - that is done in cooperation with Rescue Bank (find them at www.rescuebank.org) and with major pet food manufacturers. In our first year we were blessed to be able to distribute over 117,000 lbs of pet food and treats to locally approved animal shelters and rescue groups at a dramatically discounted price.

This program resulted in so many great things for local animals in need and the families that care for them. FOOD TO THE RESCUES went well beyond just being a pet food feeding program. Groups that participate with us achieved so much more for the animals in their care and local community members in need. One group said they spayed/neutered over 50 more animals free of charge for local families that would have not been able to pay for the surgeries themselves. This program helped with needed high cost surgeries that included a leg amputation, ear amputation, eye surgery and so much more. For one group they were able to pay for the supplies and labor to be able to put 20 roofs on outdoor kennels. One of our local shelters implemented a vaccination program for each animal that enters their shelter. So far over 7,000 animals have been able to receive vaccinations and they said that without the pet food distribution program they would have not been able to have this program available for the animals that come under their care. The same shelter was called in on a equine (horse) incident and the horse was able to receive treatment from a local veterinarian that was needed for the horse. The shelter stated that without the savings from the food program they would not have had the money to treat the horse. A family in need that own two pit bulls were able through the help of one of our groups to have an enclosure put up and shelter access given for the two dogs. Plus the group was able to spay and neuter the two dogs. The group said that the money for the fencing and the spay and neuter were provided with the savings the group had saved from being part of the Food To The Rescues program.

We were also able to respond with much needed food to two large scale animal neglect incidents. We were able to give the lead responding agencies combined over 5,000 lbs. of pet food for the animals involved, free of charge. The results go on and on. Each month we are serving (helping feed) over 1,000 animals and we truly feel so blessed to be able to help the animals in need, our local rescue groups and animals shelters.

We started a spay/neuter program - STOP LITTERING - that concentrated on the Bayou LaBatre community of Mobile County, AL. We fully funded the spaying and neutering of 56 animals in this small community for families that were in need of having their pets spayed and neutered.

We also started a transport funding program. The program - ROAD HOME - is done in cooperation with Save A Stray animal rescue group who pulls the animals from our local high kill shelters, gets them fully vetted, spayed, neutered, microchipped and then Angels' Arms makes the arrangements and pays for them for the dogs to be transported to an adoption guaranteed facility in Dewitt, NY called Helping Hounds. At Helping Hounds they are cared for and potential adoptive families are looked into to ensure that the placement is loving and long lasting for each dog. In the Mobile area animal rescue groups have a hard time finding adopters, because of the volume of animals in need in the area. The transport program has funded the transport of 86 dogs in 2012. We are proud to be able to help these dogs to find their way to their ROAD HOME.

Overall, I LOVE Angels' Arms. Many years ago I decided that I wanted my life to mean something and did not want to waist my life saying I wish I would have helped more. I have volunteered and worked for other non profits. They don't even compare to Angels' Arms. We are making huge strides in the lives of animals in need in our community. What we have been able to do for our local rescue groups and shelters and the families in need that they and we serve has been AMAZING in this last year!

The money that is donated to Angels' Arms truly goes to the programs we run and in turn really does go to the animals/groups we serve. We really have very low overhead and we are an ALL VOLUNTEER animal welfare group, so there are NO SALARIES that donations go to, not one.

Speaking of our volunteer angels, WOW how awesome are our volunteers!!!! Anytime we have a last minute need they are there. We have our own volunteers and we have our shared volunteers. That means volunteers that are either employees or volunteers from other local animal shelters and rescue groups that believe in what we do and love helping us accomplish the programs at hand. We LOVE ALL OUR VOLUNTEERS!

So, if you are looking to donate please donate to ANGELS' ARMS ANIMAL WELFARE CONNECTION and see how far your donation can go and how many animals we can help with your donation. Your donation to Angels' Arms helps not only our group, but it will help us make our goal of helping our local animals in need, the other locally approved animal rescue groups, animal shelters, and local communities with the spaying/neutering of their companion animals come true!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers