Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Write A Review
April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

I was priviledged to fly 87 missions for AFW, then I got caught out of town in Santa Rosa, CA in a medical emergency of my own. After 3 months in hospital - mostly in ICU - AFW helped me get home to Seattle where I could complete skin grafts and be closer to home. This they did for me even though I did not fit the usual criteria for transportation as I was not yet ambulatory. I am so grateful to this great organization.
April 3, 2014

more

April 3, 2014

I enjoy my time in the air as a pilot. One of my greatest joys in life is to share this passion with others. Angel Flight West (AFW) makes it possible for me to fly passengers with a real purpose and they do all the work! I have worked closely with many of the staff at AFW and have found them to be the most caring, sincere, and dedicated people you would ever meet. The organization has systems and processes in place to administrate all of the logistics. It is wonderful to volunteer in the capacity of a pilot and not have to worry about anything other than the actual flight and comfort of the passengers. All of the passengers that I have met have only good things to say about AFW when we fly. They are as amazed as I am that such an organization can exist. It is a testament to their sincere concern for those with special transportation needs. All the volunteers play their part and with the structure that AFW provides, great things are accomplished. It is a pleasure to serve with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

Angel Flights helped my father when he was fighting his cancer. From Tampa to MD Anderson many times. He was able to survive for many years with the help of Angel Flights. I am proud to have been the one that recommended it. Thank you....

Alicia Drennan

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

i live 300 miles north of san francisco & we have no gynecological oncologist up here. so since i was diagnosed with a persistent ovarian cancer 5 years ago, i have had to make many trips to get surgery & see the specialist & get scans, etc. being poor makes this an almost insurmountable problem. then in my gyncancer support group i learned about angel flight! trips to SF are now an adventure & i've met so many kind & interesting pilots.
one time my request had generated no offers of a flite, so i had bought a greyhound ticket. then early that morning, pilot tom tessier called me to say he'd seen my request with no response, & to offer to fly me down himself! he rearranged his work schedule & spent a big chunk of his day to get me to my doctor, there's dedication & compassion! (greyhound tickets are good for a year, i'll use it some other time)
when i tell people about angel flight, they have a hard time believing it! obviously these guys love to fly, but angel flight pilots practice a generosity too seldom encountered.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Angel Flight West is my hero! My good friend's infant son, Christian, has hypoplastic left heart syndrom (HLHS), Asplenia, and malrotation of his internal organs. He needed to fly down to Stanford for his second open heart surgery, but cannot fly commercially because his Asplenia and HLHS make him too medically fragile. A drive down would have been incredibly hard on his little system, not to mention his parents. Angel Flight West stepped in and found him, his mother, and father a flight down! They were the answer to so many prayers! When it was time for Christian to come home, a flight was scheduled but he had to be readmitted for a brief time at the last minute. Angel Flight West completely reworked his schedule so that he could fly home the next day with absolutely zero stress for Christian's family. What a wonderful service!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GIVE THEM MORE FUNDING!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Angel Flight West was, quite literally, a life saver for my husband. He had a brain cancer that could not be treated in state, and AFW (a part of Mercy Medical Airlift) made sure that he could get to those treatments. Without this wonderful team we could never have afforded to get him the treatment he needed, and they always came through. 

After over thirty flights, three surgeries, and countless treatments, my husband did succumb to the cancer earlier this year. AFW increased his quality of life, quantity of life, and gave both of us great relief to not have to worry about transportation. I will always hold Angel Flight West in my heart as an extended family--always ready to help when needed. 

I have great memories of talking with the pilots, reminiscing, comparing geology and landmarks as we flew, and overall escaping from the stresses of life-threatening illness. The pilots were always welcoming, never judgemental. 

Angel Flight Westt: wonderful staff, excellent pilots, and a source of compassionate hope for families desperately in need of transportation to medical help. 

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding so that they could hwelp more people! It is wonderfully run and has excellent client service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about this organization. My granddaughter has Retinoblastoma. Eye cancer in both eyes. She is only 7 months old and doing multi-state travel for treatment. AFW has... more

May 18, 2013

Last year AFW flew my daughter and granddaughter to CA from AZ several time for life saving treatment. This year they continue to help children with cancer in AZ get to CA for care. They planes provide an additional bonus in that they are private planes vs. commercial. You are not afraid to fly AFW with a child who has a compromised immune system. Thanks to the entire staff for servicing the state of AZ. Teri Dornhecker Director Daisy's Eye Cancer Fund

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about this organization. My granddaughter has Retinoblastoma. Eye cancer in both eyes. She is only 7 months old and doing multi-state travel for treatment. AFW has been taking her and my daughter to and from treatment monthly and it has been a blessing. Money as everyone with cancer knows is tight. To have this service available is a God sent. The best part is with chemo your immune system is compromised and with AFW being private planes we do not have to put Evie on a commercial flight with the risk of others being Ill. They are so generous and helpful. They don't even let my daughter carry her luggage. They treat us like we are the ones doing them a favor, not the other way around. Thank you so much for serving our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 25, 2012

more

December 25, 2012

What a wonderful experience. All the volunteers are so caring and were able to coordinate my flight from Fresno to Oakland so I could have spine surgery at UCSF Spine Center in a matter of just a few days. They even coordinated a ride to the BAART station in Oakland. This plane ride was so much fun for me. It felt like the frosting on the cake and was just a taste of my new abilities after surgery to treat scoliosis. My surgery has been life changing. I can now walk a mile if I want and I can stand long enough to cook dinner.. I could not afford to fly myself and driving was not an option either so AFW was a blessing that came in the nick of time, as I had cancelled surgery twice. And they would have flown me home if not for the change in my discharge plans. Thanks to Angel Flights West for making it possible for me to now be considering what I want to do with the rest of my life after 10 years of being disabled. I am amazed by what I am able to do now. Angel Flights West filled in the last blank in my list of needs in order to have the surgery that has changed my life. THANK YOU ALL AT ANGEL FLIGHTS AND IM GLAD TO BE ABLE TO TELL OTHERS ABOUT THEM.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 24, 2012

more

December 24, 2012

Well before I started flying, I knew of Angel Flight and thought it was a great idea. After having my license for a few months shy of 5 years, I finally met the requirements to become a pilot for AFW and joined as quickly as I could. I'm always looking for an excuse to fly, and what better excuse could there be than helping someone else? After only a few flights, I've seen just how wonderful Angel Flight is. I've taken patients on their first trip in a small airplane, hopeful that a new trial treatment far from home would prove successful, and I've taken patients who fly every week to receive life-saving treatments. Some patients enjoy a good conversation and the view, while others just sleep after a long and tiring day, grateful that a 2-hour flight can replace a 5+ hour drive. But regardless of their condition or prognosis, all patients have been beyond grateful at the opportunity to receive necessary medical care, along with transportation that allows them to have a bit or normalcy return to life. When I first joined Angel Flight, I was hoping to do some good and log a few hours in the air. I never expected to be so touched by the opportunity to help so many wonderful people in a unique way. Angel Flight is truly an amazing organization with a most noble mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2011

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2010

I have been a Pilot for many years and I am glad to be able to participate for the noble cause this organization offers. You have no idea on the level of satisfaction you get from those grateful eyes ... more

October 30, 2011

I have been a Pilot for many years and I am glad to be able to participate for the noble cause this organization offers. You have no idea on the level of satisfaction you get from those grateful eyes of the passengers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

transporting medical patients by airplanes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve Personal Interaction between the Volunteers and create more public awareness in my area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Improve Personal Interaction between the Volunteers

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Personal Satisfaction and Good Usage of Resources (Airplanes)

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Satisfied and Happy

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2010

I have been a Pilot for many years and I am glad to be able to participate for the noble cause this organization offers. You have no idea on the level of satisfaction you get from those grateful eyes of the passengers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

transporting medical patients by airplanes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create more public awareness in my area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Improve Personal Interaction between the Volunteers

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Personal Satisfaction and Good Usage of Resources (Airplanes)

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Satisfied and Happy

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If a pilot - could fly missions. Work in our Santa Monica office making calls, filing, etc.