Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

What a Blessing the Staff, Scheduling and Pilots were to me and my husband. I was in a rather difficult situation as my husband had a massive stroke and can no longer speak and his right arm is severely affected. I was / am in intolerable pain every minute of every day and night. I also have my87 yr. old Mother-in-law that lives with us. I have degenerative double major scoliosis with the host of problems that it brings. I was and am again in need of complete spinal revision. Health issues took us from middle class America to a much different platform. It has been difficult and frightening. The people at Angel Flight treated us so kindly. The communication between all parties is vital and they do it well. I was never left to wonder where we were at in the planning stages. The pilots were all just splendid. There is one that I will never forget. This was our second trip to Dr./Hospital at Duke University. We would be there for apx. 6 weeks, so we were heavily packed. It was so hard for me to feel so ill, guide my husband and navigate from the airport to the Hotel. This Pilot must have seen the fatigue and stress on my face. He gracefully summoned a 1st class cab and paid the bill without my even knowing it. He held the doors, treated me like a lady the way my husband would have before the stroke. Now I open the door for him. I cried tears of relief to be treated so gently. I so needed his kindness. I was so scared, so ill, in so much pain, so worried about my husband during this trip. I will never forget what it felt like to be treated like a lady one more time. It was such a comfort to be taken care of. No one knows it yet, but soon (Lord willing) I will be calling for their services one more time. I could not receive the medical care if it were not for these good people. How do you thank someone for doing so much when you need it the most. They are Angels in Flight and on the ground. Thank You, Joan Turner

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

What more could you ask for. I suppose if I had to: it would be looking for ways to get firm commitments from pilots so that appointments with surgeons and hospitals could be a little more secure. I only had 1/2 of a journey that we could not locate a pilot. I am just to grateful to dare ask anything more from people that are so skilled, generous and kind.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I began volunteering for Angel Flight in early 2013 and have loved every part of working with this organization. They are absolutely first class and make the process easy on the pilot and even easier on the patient (after all, that is the point, right?). I live in Charleston, SC and most of my flights are out of Charleston. The Angel Flight website sends out an email ever night at 6pm with the available missions and it includes the distance and the percent of "convenience" for the pilot (meaning how out of the way it is from your home airport). The convenient airports come in red to allow you to look at those immediately. This makes the process very easy. Once a flight is confirmed, Angel Flight does a great job coordinating the flight(s). All needed information is included in an email which is easily downloadable and printed. As long as I am an active pilot, I will volunteer for Angel Flight.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow for more funding so they can get more people to know about their great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I am constantly amazed at the commitment and resources the volunteers at Angel Flight Southeast, Inc. contribute to make a difference in the lives of individuals who would otherwise not have access to lifesaving medical care. I began volunteering at AFSE as a Missions Operations Coordinator in 2005. During the Katrina hurricane, I was fortunate to have the opportunity to assist during the disaster to get medical and relief assistance to victims and was able to contribute my efforts to several incredible stories of AFSE mission recipients. Although, I no longer coordinate missions, I make an effort to continue to contribute in whatever small way possible to help AFSE continue their mission to help those in need during these difficult economic times. Angel Flight Southeast, Inc. is truly one of the great nonprofits and has been a life changing experience for me!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I began volunteering as an Earth Angel for 2 years and 4 months. I answer the Hotline, give information and write up Missions. Our passengers are in the most critical stages of medical health and are searching for someone to assist them in their darker hours. Angel Flight Southeast is that someone! The assistance they are able to give these passengers, through our wonderful pilots, is just amazing. Each week I hear of a new story, how someone was transported for medical care that might not have been possible, if it were not for Angel Flight Southeast. I feel so fortunate to be able to help in some small way, with this "top flight" charity! Sincerely, Gloria Simonson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

On April 11, 2010 I received a heart transplant at Tampa General Hospital in Tampa. I live on the east coast of Florida and was assigned Angel Flight to provide air transport for me to get to the hospital. When I was assigned to Angel Flight I never had heard about them. When Tampa General called and said a heart was available for me they said go to my local airport and look for a specific pilot that had accepted to take myself and my wife to Tampa for the heart transplant. The heart transplant did not take place that specific night but Angel Flight got me through a very difficult period in my life. Getting the call to meet the pilot and be flown to Tampa was like winning the lottery. It was something that has changed my life forever. This organization deseves a place in history. They provide transportation that changes peoples lives forever.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

As one of several volunteer pilots who supply an aircraft and fuel, I flew Mom and her five-month old infant back to their home base in the Florida Panhandle. Earlier that morning, two other pilots handled the long journey down to Miami for a consult with the medical doctor to perform the weekly adjustment of the youngster's helmet to correct a skull deformity. After the appointment, another pilot transported them back to Central Florida for the hand-off to me to complete their journey. Mom was most appreciative because she had limited funds and her spouse recently passed away. For me it was over six hours of flying, and with almost three hours in pitch black because that part of the state is sparsely populated and a moonless night.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I help this organization by proof reading their letter, flyers and brochures. I've met many people that have been helped by AngelFlight SE and they always inspire me to help because they are so grateful for the assistance that AFSE provides when they need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

As a volunteer for Angel Flight Southeast for about 4+ years, I have seen all the good things this charity does for both children and adults. So many would not be able to get the medical care that so many of them need without the free plane missions that they do. Hats off to the many pilots who donate their planes, fuel and time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2012

more

October 10, 2012

Angel Flight Southeast is a non-profit organization that coordinates the transport of patients by General Aviation airplanes. These are four-seater and lager aircraft, single and multi-engine, many owned by private individuals. The aircraft owners provide these charirable services free of charge. AF SE carries out this coordination in a very cost-efficient way, with minimal number of paid staff. Many patients make use of out services multiple times. Many patients are children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

I started volunteering with the intention to help out during one event four years ago. Once I got to really know what Angel Flight was all about, I never quit and wanted to do more. They have a true, sincere heart to help people and I couldn't think of a better organization to invest in. Whether it is giving an hour of my time or a monetary contribution, I know it is going to help those in need get where there need to go. Very rewarding! Thank you Angel Flight for all you do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Drive passengers from the airport to the hospital Volunteer