Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
September 29, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

On Valentine's Day 2003, our 2-month old daughter's life changed forever. Jordan Marie went from being a healthy vibrant baby to a child on full life support within 24 hours. She was diagnosed with a rare respiratory genetic defect that is usually fatal. BUT...the Lord had other plans!! Jordan received a life-saving double lung transplant 3 months later...just one of only a handful of babies to survive such a complicated surgery at such a young age. With all of Jordan's specialized doctors 700 miles away in St. Louis, the innumerable doctor's visits and follow-up medical tests seemed impossible to get to...until Angel Flight Soars arrived on the scene!! God, once again, guided our little overwhelmed, exhausted, and stressed family into the hands of the most incredible group of "flying servants" we've ever met. Now, after nearly TEN YEARS, THOUSANDS of AIR MILES, and DOZENS of hospital trips, Angel Flight Soars is still by our side every step of the way. Angel Flight Soars will FOREVER be part of our family! What a blessing and a God-send they continue to be! We are DEEPLY grateful to Angel Flight Soars for their never-ending dedication, compassion, efficiency, and kindness...you've kept our family going through the "ups" and "downs". GOD BLESS YOU!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The story of two of my grandsons has already been posted. Angel Flight Soars transported both children to get life-saving heart transplants. Our family received the calls in the middle of the night and Angel Flight Pilots dropped what they were doing to get my grandsons to Atlanta in time to receive the hearts donated by families that were very generous in their time of sorrow. The Angel Flight program is awesome! My entire extended family and I are extremely grateful to Angel Flight! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Angel flight soars saved both of my children's lives. At the age of three, my oldest son was diagnosed with restrictive cardio myopathy and needed a heart transplant. The hospital required us to get to there within 4 hours. The problem was, we live 5 1/2 hours from Children's healthcare of Atlanta, and this is where Angel Flight Soars stepped in to help us get to Atlanta Fast! We got the call at my wife's birthday dinner. We dropped everything and raced to the airport to meet our life saving flight. We ended up getting two heart transplants and were able to come home after a long stay in the ICU. Six years later our second son was also diagnosed with restrictive cardio myopathy also neediped a heart transplant. We received a call at the beginning of the summer around midnight and our pilots not only got us to Atlanta, one of them took us to the hospital. I will always be indebted to Charles, Ron and Bob, our "angels" that took their time and airplane to help save two three year old children. My oldest son is seven years post transplant and helping his four year old brother get used to life as a transplant patient. Thank you Angel Flight Soars!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

in march of 2014 i received a phone call that would forever change my life.i was introduced to angel flight soars!this was nothing short of a miracle from god!with the help of angel flight i have been able to get to the hospital to get the medical care that i needed!i would like to thank each and everyone from angel flight soars for there kindness and support!this comes from the bottom of my heart!without angel flight none of this would be possible.again thank you all,nicholas flynn.god bless!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son was born on Feb. 20th, 2013. He was diagnosed with Klippel Feil Syndrome on January 29th, 2014. It’s a rare syndrome since it occurs in 1 in 42,000 births worldwide. Chance’s condition requires that he visits the Children’s Hospital of Pennsylvania, throughout the year, to evaluate and assess his syndrome. Angel Flights allows our family to concentrate on Chance’s medical issues without the added stress of worrying how we are going to pay for flights to and from Philadelphia.
The personnel and pilots at Angel Flights treat us with the utmost respect and they are without a doubt, our angels in the sky. Angel Flighe is truly Chance's Angel! They provide our family with hope because without hope, you have nothing. Chance is receiving top-notch medical care with doctors who are the best and brightest in their fields. Thank you, Angel Flights, for being there for our son!
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Angel Flight has been such a blessing to our family. Our 87 year old uncle lives in Macon, GA, but has a couple of medical specialist in Atlanta, GA and Augusta, GA. It makes it so much easier on him to fly to these locations rather than a 2-3 hour car ride. Besides, he was in the Air Force during WWII and he LOVES the flying.

My husband and I try to help out his daughter by getting him to these appointments. Unfortunately, both of us have our own medical issues and having Angel Flight available has been so helpful. Anytime we have a need for a flight, the Angel Flight Staff is right on top of it. Even when the need is sometimes last minute. They are always pleasant and have treated our Uncle with such love and respect. The pilots have been unbelievably accommodating. One lives close to our Uncle and he picks him up and takes him to the airport. One actually drove from Atlanta picked him up in Macon and drove him back to Atlanta because weather would not permit a flight. That is just above and beyond.

God Bless Angel Flight, the staff and pilots!
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

On May 24th my life was forever changed in ways I couldn't imagine! My son Dylan was born with a very rare skin condition requiring multiple treatments to prevent cancer. To date Dylan has had 15 surgeries and countless other procedures up in Cincinnati OH. With out the help we have received from angel flight we wouldn't be able to treat his condition properly. I can't thank everyone enough for helping us get him to all of his appointments!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful




A Special Thank You to our Angel Flight Family

Without a doubt, you are truly angels. My son Samuel was born with an extremely rare chromosomal anomaly so unique that his geneticist had never seen it before and could only find two other cases in all of the medical journals.
As a result, he has a number of diagnosis, including cerebral palsy, which require ongoing medical treatment and therapies. When Samuel recently suffered extremely painful neurological complications following a routine surgery, he saw many local doctors and was treated with medicines that helped only minimally and had unbearable side effects. After much searching, we were blessed to find a doctor in Maryland who is pioneering a new procedure to treat similar neurological problems. I called him and talked with him, and he agreed to see Samuel. I knew I had to get my son to Maryland to see this doctor. We had a small local fundraiser and raised $304. We loaded up the van, took our $304 of gas money drove from Georgia to Maryland. It was an extremely long drive and we had to stop frequently for breaks along the way to allow Sam to get up and move around. We set up camp in a Maryland state park because it cost much less than a hotel room, and I knew that I would have to pay a minimum of $4800 up front for the Dr. to conduct the necessary tests and treat Samuel. The procedure, tests, brace, etc. were not covered at all by our insurance because the treatment is still in the experimental stage. And our $304 of gas money ran out long before we got to Maryland.
We thought that the procedure and bracing process would take about 5 days. We ended up having to spend ten days in Maryland before he was able to return home. Sam responded well to the procedure and began to show improvement. The drive home took a lot longer as we drove for two days through pouring rain. After getting home, Samuel continued to show improvement. While he was not 100% , he was definitely much better than he had been in months. After about four months, he began to regress some. I called the Dr, and he said that we needed to return to Maryland. Between the medical bills, gas money, camping fees, food, etc., I had depleted my savings and all resources. I had no idea how I was going to be able to get him back to Maryland and pay for a hotel. It was December and way too cold to camp with a sick child in Maryland. Knowing our plight, a coworker asked me if I had ever heard of Angel Flight. I had at some point heard of Angel Flight, but thought you only served in life or death situations. She said that it was worth a try. I contacted Angel Flight, and the staff made me feel so welcome, like they were truly excited to be able to help. It was short notice, but they worked tirelessly to get our flights scheduled. At the last minute, however, our flights had to be cancelled due to a strong snow storm moving in. Angel Flight did not abandon us. They helped us be able to arrange for Amtrak to transport us. It was a very cold 16 hour train ride, but it was an exciting experience to share with my son.
We had not been home but a couple of weeks when we had to rush back to Maryland. This time, even though it was New Years Day, Angel Flight pilots were able to fly us to Maryland on very short notice and between snow storms. When it came time for our scheduled return flights, there was a foot of snow on the ground, and it was about 6 degrees and still snowing. There was no way to fly in or out of the little airport in Maryland. Mr. Brian Wills, our first pilot on the trip up, called and offered to fly us the rest of the way home if we could rent a car and drive as far as North Carolina, where the weather was not as bad. I tried driving a little ways, but it was still snowing and the roads were treacherous. Mr. Wills worked with me for hours, calling back and forth trying to figure out how to get us home. He truly went above and beyond what would be expected. When he saw that the weather was supposed to improve the next day he decided that he would fly all the way to Maryland the next day and fly both legs of our flight home, even though it would take his entire Saturday. Late that night, Mr. Taylor, an Angel Flight East pilot, called and volunteered to fly the first leg home. He and Mr. Lindy Kirkland landed very skillfully on an icy runway, and soon we were on our way home. I was just so amazed and humbled that these men would spent a cold, snowy Saturday going out of their way to help us. It just absolutely meant the world to us.
After making a couple of driving trips in the spring, we had the pleasure of flying with Angel Flight again in August When we had to return again unexpectedly. Mr. Al Langerstrom flew our first leg up and Mr. Rapp, who also flew us into Maryland in January, flew our last leg in again. They were so kind and answered all of Sam's questions and even gave him little flying lessons. He loved it. Our pilot on the first leg home, Mr. John Wells took time off work to fly us. We found out late the evening before we were to fly out that Sam would need to see the Dr. again that morning. That put us behind, but Mr. Wells adjusted his schedule for us, even though it meant that he had to rush to work as soon as we landed. Our final flight was with Mr. Jason Prince. This time I got to be "copilot" and he very graciously answered my questions and taught me some things about flying.
Samuel will likely have to make many more trips to his Dr. in Maryland. It is very comforting to know that Angel Flight is there for us if we need them again.
Everyone at Angel Flight, Ms. Jett, Ms. Burnadette and all of the pilots have gone out of their way to make us feel cared for and important. By the time a flight ends, we feel like a part of the family. You are such a blessing to us and a true answer to prayers.

God Bless You,
Julie and Samuel

For with God All Things are possible.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Super-Heroes-For-Sam/647802091960303






More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

My son was dx with anaplasticmedulloblastoma april 30, 2013. We were immediately sent to Atlanta CHOA by EMS from Valdosta. after surgery and recovery his treatment options were discussed with us. We opted to stay with CHOA for 6 weeks of chemo and radiation. We stayed at the Ronald McDonald House which put many miles between us and our Family. Our social worker told us about Angel Flight and I was immediately put in contact with the staff. The staff are amazing!!! They care so much about the needs of others going through pediatric cancer and other diseases. They know how difficult it is to be separated from your family and your child being so sick from treatment that driving any distance is to much especially when all you have is the weekend. With Angel Flight we were given the opportunity to fly home and fly back which put round trip travel time to 2 hours vs. 8 hrs. It was so rewarding to my son and I in many ways. One being that the two of us had never flown. It meant so much to have that opportunity to share with my son. I can never thank Angel Flight and their staff and Pilots that flew us safely to our family and back to treatment enough for your selfless act. My son is still in treatment once a month for 3 days as an impatient. Two more months left. Hes doing really good. We are forever grateful to Angel Flight and evertyone who we have shared a piece of our life with. Thank you for making it a little easier. God bless, Leslie & Brody

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldnt change a thing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To the Compassionate Staff, and Pilots of Angel Flight Soars,
Thank you for your kindness, compassion, and your help during a time in my life, when I needed someone's help more than any other time. Compassion is defined as, an internal feeling of sorrow for someone's situation that, is
followed by the desire to actively help. This feeling of sorrow is put into motion in an external manner. Compassion requires physical action. The word Compassion appears a total of forty times in the King James Holy Bible. Knowing this, we can conclude that having compassion was, and still is, an important attribute of the people of God. Psalms 86:15 "But thou, O Lord, art a God full of compassion, and gracious, longsuffering, and plenteous in mercy and truth". A God so full of compassion would expect that His people to be of the same likeness, 1st Peter 3:8 "Finally, be ye all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous".
I do struggle to put into words, the humbling gtatitude that I felt with your acts of compassion and help, during a time of need and darkness in my life. God Bless you the staff, and God Bless you the pilots, for showing love and compassion towards a man, who was certainly that of a stranger. The story of the Good Samaritan is what came to mind, when I learned of your willingness to help me. Luke 11:33 "But a Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was: and when he saw him, he had compassion on him". Your slogan of, "Where Hope Soars" seems to be certainly inspired, from a God of love. Just as the man who the Good Samaritan helped was given hope, I felt the weight of the world taken off of my shoulders when, I learned of your plans to fly me from Tennessee to Minnesota. I had prayed that God's will be done but, I knew that only a miracle could provide me with the answers to the problems that I faced. I can not thank you guys, in what seems to be an appropriate way, for being that of a servant of God. We do worship and serve a God of love, and a God who thru you, is still in the business of performing miracles. God Bless all of you, who make up the Staff of Angel Flight Soars. And, God Bless you, the Pilots of Angel Flight Soars.
Forever Touched by your Compassion,
Barry D. Arnold
10-24-2013

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can not think of any changes that would make your organization more helpful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you are a pilot, you can fly a patient to their lifesaving medical treatment; You can also be an earth angel and help out with fundraisers or administrative duties at our office. Volunteer