Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Until I began working with Angel Flight Soars I really had no appreciation of the amazing work they do. They save lives and change lives. I spoke with one pilot the other day. He had gotten a call while in the air that there was an emergency flight needed. He immediately rerouted. The massive coordination needed to pull off all of these flights and serve so many people in desperate need of healthcare assistance is staggering. And the pilots do all of it on their own. No one is paid to fly these missions. Everyone connected to this organization is truly an angel.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to make it bigger so it could help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 26, 2012

I have been involved as a volunteer pilot and airshow and fundraising representative for Angel Flight Soars for the past three years. Based in Atlanta, Angel Flight Soars' capable and passionate staf... more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In my role as a volunteer pilot for Angel Flight Soars, I have seen lives literally changed through the efforts of this organization, usually at a time when a family is particularly vulnerable because of illness, timing of medical care, financial issues, and other family pressures. A blind veteran helped into and out of a small plane near his destination rather than running the gamut of airline check-in, sprints through the terminal, and baggage check on the other side of the city... A baby burned in a Thanksgiving barbeque accident having to travel across the state for weekly specialty reconstructive care... A woman with cancer at the end of her life trying to come home from the hospital but stranded halfway, picked up by Angel Flight and delivered in hours to her family two states away... A man who, on very short notice, had to cross a state to be with his wife as their son underwent emergency heart surgery. These are just a few examples of the people who are helped by Angel Flight day in and day out, weekends and holidays included. For my part, I cannot conceive of a better way to spend my time than in helping provide these services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that more people are aware of its services and dedication. Get more pilots and ground volunteers involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved as a volunteer pilot and airshow and fundraising representative for Angel Flight Soars for the past three years. Based in Atlanta, Angel Flight Soars' capable and passionate staff coordinate medical and compassionate travel for people who would otherwise not have the means, financial or otherwise, to obtain specialty medical care, or to be with loved ones in times of family and personal distress. I have been a surgeon for over thirty years, yet Angel Flight has shown me aspects of care, and caring, that were previously beyond my awareness; like how my patients - some strangers but many also my neighbors - have to orchestrate their goings and comings, often on short notice and at inconvenient times, to address these needs. It is both humbling and immensely fulfilling for me to be a part of the Angel Flight family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My company was a sponsor of there Golf Tournament a few years ago. The last few years have been financially difficult for our company and wanted to help in some way! After seeing the dedication and the sparkle in the eyes of those providing services for Angel Flight, I realized there strive to help all those in need! Seeing this in the staff of this organization made me want to help out as well. It is a powerful thing to see pilots donate there time, planes, and other resources. Sponsors donating funds to help with the operational cost and the behind the scenes people that work hard because we all know that helping others puts a smile on their faces and makes all of us happy. Thanks! Angel Fight for all you do!!! L. Jay Ertley

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None!! Once you see this organization at work, it is satisfying!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been a real privilege to be an Angel Flight pilot. Although I have only flown a handful of missions it has already been a real blessing to get to know both the volunteers and staff of Angel Flight Soars but also to get to know some very interesting people going through some very difficult times.

I hope to be able to provide many more Angel Flights and I would encourage anyone familiar with this program to tell others about it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Piddly web site comment - I would like to see listing of missions showing missions that are not marked as taken. And ultimately an iPhone style App that would alert me when a mission is available in my area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Over the past 7+ years, our company has organized events to benefit Angel Flight Soars. We originally chose this organization due to a good friendship with one of the pilots. After the first event, we grew to appreciate the organization and what they stand for. Each member of the team demonstrates appreciation, dedication, flexibility and a passion for their joint mission. We have learned so much about the families and the assistance Angel flights soars have been able to provide. It has been truly rewarding to raise and donate funds to such a well-known nonprofit with great group of people dedicated to a common goal to help such a good cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My family and I have been associated with Angel Flight for the past 7+ years. We've assisted with volunteer events, fund raiser events, and have had the opportunity to be with families as Angel Flight pilots take people to and from their doctor appointments. This organization is truly amazing when you consider the coordination required to match a pilot, plane, and a person in need with hospital or doctor office schedules. 'Life Changing' is what I think of when I consider the service Angel Flight provides.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer pilot for Angel flight Soars for 7 years. The effect this organization has on the lives of families is amazing. I have flown numerous families for medical care that would never have been afford the transportation to get to medical facilities. Moreover, if they had to drive to the medical facility, they feared losing their job because of the added time off work. The organization works passionately to make sure every request for service can be filled. Matching patients to pilots is a challenging process because of short notice or changes in doctor appointments. For pilots, it is very satisfying to use your aircraft to help people in need that can have such an enormous effect on their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is the most compassionate group of volunteers helping others in dire need I have ever known. Bernadette has spent a good part of her life saving lives and getting burn victims and terminally ill patients for new treatments. Having flown patients missions over the past 10 years I can tell you this is much more than a job for them. Their hearts are determined to do everything they can to get patients to the best treatment centers, whatever it takes. It may be an 8 hour job but they work 24/7 to assure these patients get what they need. Thanks, Keith Kilgallen

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Imagine that you are a young mother with a seriously ill child, living in a rural area of the state far from the medical facility that provides your child special treatment. Often it is a day's drive to get there, a motel room, another day for treatment, another night in the motel room, and yet another day's drive to get home. Imagine the toll that this takes from both mother and child. But fortunately, through Angel Flight Soars, the mother and child are picked up that morning at their local airport and flown directly to the medical center. The child is treated and they are flown home...all in the same day. Angel Flight Soars has a number of pilot/aircraft owners that provide their personal airplane, free of charge, so that this senario can be carried out hundreds of times throughout the year. Their only payment is the grateful look on a tired mother's face at the end of the day, or the smile from a young patient who is glad to be back home. Angel Flight Soars maintains an office and a professional staff that coordinates these flights and schedules. What a blessing to have such an organization and the people who support it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Angel Flight Soars since 2002. Over that time period, I have met countless individuals whose lives have been touched by Angel Flight's mission. By combining the natural passion that pilot's have for their hobby with the dynamic leadership of Jeanine Chambers and Bernadette Darnell, Angel Flight Soars efficiently leverages the widespread compassion found in the aviation community to fill the logistical needs of thousands of medical patients. Also, Angel Flight was instrumental in establishing Georgia's first aviation park at PDK, which has become a irresistible hang out spot for local families with children. The park will certainly ensure that Angel Flight's pilot ranks will be filled for many generations to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you are a pilot, you can fly a patient to their lifesaving medical treatment; You can also be an earth angel and help out with fundraisers or administrative duties at our office. Volunteer