Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review
September 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

My perspective is somewhat of an anomoly since I serve as a Board Member, but also oversee the operation that services the bulk of the flights in and out of the greater Atlanta area. I have never been witness to an organization that is so efficently sound and so well organized as Angel Flight Soars. The superior attention to detail is primarily attributed to the efforts of the Executive Director, Jeanine Chambers. Jeanine and her amazing staff tirelessly organize every aspect of the operation, while providing a true '' human touch '' element that has positively changed the lives of countless patients and their respective family members. It is a sincere and humble privilege to be associated with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing, the organization is run in an extremely efficient manner and organized very well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Networking

September 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been flying missions for Angel Flight Soars since summer 2002. Over that time, I have met many remarkable people, and I have been able to offer them some help in whatever condition they are battling. I have been able to fly with everyone from infants to WWII veterans. My passengers have been uniformly gracious and thankful for the opportunity flying for treatment has provided.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

WOW!!! What can I possibly say other than THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart . Without your organization my aunt would not have made it back home to live out her last few days. I heard about you guys from a story on the local news well over a year ago. I called your Alabama branch to see IF the need should arise that my aunt cannot make it back from seeing her elderly parents for the last time could Angel Flight help or could they recommend anyone. The first words were "YES, that is what we are here for". After explaining the situation more, Lauren in Alabama suggested I call Atlanta if it becomes clear my aunt simply cannot make it there or back. My aunt is not just a relative but one of my best friends. She had suffered for 17 months, first breast cancer then it metastasized to her liver. She was not given much time and her tumor was growing literally overnight. She was determined to see her family and who could blame her. Her oncologist at UAB told her not to fly commercial but to make the trip even if it took a week so she could rest along the way. It took her and my uncle 4 days to make it there, spend almost a week and she was ready to come home. She was feeling worse by the day. Fortunately they were aware I had made that call prior to them leaving for Pennsylvania. I was on my way to work in Alabama and received a call from my uncle saying "Pam, we are in the middle of GOD'S country and we need you to work a miracle...Diane can go no further and we need a way home" I told him I was 98% sure we could get him help, his response broke my heart, he said "Pam, for 17 months when there was only a 2% chance Diane had the worst possible diagnosis, she always fell in that 2%, please tell me you can 100% make this happen for her, she can't fall in to that 2% again". My heart sank but I immediately called Atlanta and much to my amazement they had talked to Lauren in Alabama the week before and were aware of the possibility of a call from our family. I told them she could make it no further and desperately wanted to be home. Commercial flights were not an option, She was in excruciating pain.My uncle drove to the nearest airport in Bristol, TN and got a hotel room to let her rest and the work began. The folks in Atlanta were even kind enough to converse with UAB to help me get a doctor's authorization for her to fly. We faxed the information to them, and myself and my husband headed out for the 6 hour trip to be with them and drive their car home. We gathered all the information Angel Flight and UAB needed and that very afternoon I received a call from Angel Flight saying "It is handled,100% she will be able to fly home tomorrow morning". Let me just say we pulled to the shoulder of the road for a good cry of happiness, my husband and I could not believe not only did they pull off a miracle but asked for NO money for their services. AMAZING!!! Who hears of that in this day and age? We knew then as did those who knew the urgent situation, that Angel Flight would become one of our "causes" for donations. I have never spoke to anyone for such a short period of time and felt so at ease and comforted as when I dealt with everyone I talked to at Angel Flight Soars in Atlanta. We made it to Bristol, spent time with my aunt and uncle and delivered them to the airport to meet the first pilot on the tarmac who was taking her on the first leg of her journey home. He was the most compassionate and kind man and treated my aunt with kindness and gentle care as she boarded her flight to Atlanta where she would switch to another pilot on the tarmac to make the final leg of her trip. The first pilot even called me the evening before to introduce himself and make us feel at ease that she would be in good hands. I have told everyone I know our story and how yes, angels do exist, they live in Atlanta, I spoke to them personally. I want to thank them for granting my aunt this wish and helping her home where she could pass away. What is so incredible is this is what they do daily, they make miracles happen and that's what they did for our family. We appreciate each of you so very much and want to tell you that our entire, huge family wants to thank all who had a part in making this happen. As we say in the south.."Love you guys"

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This organization truly makes a difference for the community. This is a grass-roots organization that serves thousands of people every year across several states in the Southeast. The impact that Angel Flight Soars has is clear - - they get people to life saving medical treatment. As importantly, through their volunteer pilots and "Earth Angels" they are able to lift the spirits of the patients that they fly. This organization makes a difference!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you are a pilot, you can fly a patient to their lifesaving medical treatment; You can also be an earth angel and help out with fundraisers or administrative duties at our office. Volunteer