Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
| 1 ... 4 5 6 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Never in my wildest dreams did I think we would be in need of an Angel Flight mission. My husband’s emergency carotid artery surgery in a city 300 miles from home gave me concerns for our return . Was my husband strong enough to withstand a seven-hour road trip? What would I do if he experienced stroke-like symptoms on an out of the way state highway? What would I do if we had car trouble? What if I had no cell phone service? The questions continued to haunt me.
They haunted me until our friend and Angel Flight pilot, Herb Entrekin, offered his help. Not only did he make the flight to get us home, he brought with him someone to drive our vehicle back. Herb strategically filed his flight plan with airports close to hospitals to take care of some of my “what ifs.”
I can’t begin to even explain the relief that came over me when my husband and I were greeted by our pilot and driver at the airport that morning. After being in charge of my husband’s care for a long ten days, I was SO GRATEFUL to turn everything over to two very caring men. When our flight landed, we were met by Herb's wife with bags of groceries, a chicken pot pie and flowers. She provided the last leg of our trip and delivered us safely to our home and our anxiously awaiting little dog.
Thank you Herb and Gail Entrekin. Thank you Butch Thurman. And thank you, Angel Flight Soars.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I work for JMS Burn Centers, Inc in Augusta GA. and have been blessed to have been connected with Angel Flight about 5 years ago. We started out with 1 mission and last year was up to over 300 flights. A 3-5 hour car ride would be very painful for our patients to endure. Thanks to these "Angels" we get to see and treat patients that otherwise would not have the funding or transportation for on going surgery and follow up appointments. These volunteer pilots go out of their way to help our patients - "Angels" is the perfect name for them. .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Recently my wife and I took a trip to Pennsylvania so she could see her family for the last time. She had been battling breast cancer for some time and she had a short period of time left . On the way back to our home in Alabama she took a turn for the worst and could not tolerate road travel anymore and could not have handled commercial airport travel. Within 24 hours of our relatives contacting Angel Flight we were on our way home and my wife never had to walk over 100 feet at any time. The pilots spent much of their time checking on my wife and the flights were coordinated better than I have ever seen in air travel. She is in a much better place now and one of her last wishes was for her loved ones to not buy flowers but to donate to Angel Flight. Thanks, from me and my wife.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Angel Flight Sores Inc. is a fantastic origination that is run incredibly efficiently and allows transportation to those that can not afford to otherwise make the trip. The funding that Angel Flight receives is solely for the logistics and out reach of the organization and does not fund a bunch of rich guys and their jets. as Angel Flight pilots- we volunteer our services and expertise. We are happy to be able to serve the Military with compassion missions or bringing a sick child in for cancer treatment. I believe that we make a difference in the lives we touch and the community’s we have served especially after 9/11 and hurricane Katrina.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

It is a pleasure to write a review on behalf of Angel Flight Soars. It is my honor to have been a volunteer pilot for this outstanding organization for the past ten and one half years. The dedicated people who coordinate these missions work selflessly and tirelessly to meet the needs of the patients we fly. These needs for infants to seniors may be for cancer, cardiovascular, burns or any number of special requirements. The pilots then remove the obstacles of transportation by providing at no cost to the patients flights for their treatments or fly them home afterward. One of the advantages for our patients is that not only do we use the larger airports, but we are also able to use General Aviation airports in the towns and communities where they live. Angel Flight Soars makes it possible for these patients to have access to some of the premier medical facilities our wonderful country has to offer. On our radar are The Mayo Clinic, Cleveland Clinic, St. Judes, St. Louis Children’s, M.D. Anderson, Emory, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, Duke, U. of North Carolina, U. of Va., U. of Ky., U. of Pittsburg, Sloan Kettering, Boston Women’s, Shands, The Joseph M. Still Burn Center in Augusta, GA, Vanderbilt, The Sarah Cannon Clinic, and U. of Alabama at Birmingham. This is to name just some of the destinations where we fly. This organization also stands ready when major crises arrive. Missions were flown after 9/11 and more recently hundreds of flights were flown after Katrina with food, medical supplies, and first responders as well as helping to relocate families. Again it is and has been an honor to fly for Angel Flight Soars.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I had a tumor in my skull and jaw. It caused many symptoms over many many years. I had seen several doctors but no one could give me a diagnosis or treatment options for this rare condition. Finally, I was referred to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. I needed to travel there multiple times for treatment. If it wasn't for Angel Flight Soars, I would not have been able to receive the treatment I needed. The staff at Angel Flight Soars worked so hard to coordinate my missions and accommodate changes in my treatment schedule. The pilots are selfless, comforting and understanding. Thank you to everyone who gave me hope during a most difficult time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I can not emphasize what a difference this organization has made in our lives as well as other families. My daughter was diagnosed with a rare bone cancer at age 14. She needed to see the best drs in the country and without Angel Flight, that would not have been possible. She has been to the best and because of them getting us to all these wonderful drs in CT, NY and TX she is still with us after 6 1/2 yrs of fighting. I know if she ever needs to get to the best medical care available, Angel Flight will get us there. God bless these wonderful people for all they do for those in need, fighting for their lives. Their are no words to express our gratitude to them yet they thank us for allowing them to provide their services. Truly amazing people and organization. Should you choose to see what they have done for my daughter log onto carepages.com and enter Kennedysplace. Also check the pictures.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This organization is full of wonderful, dedicated, and compassionate individuals who go above and beyond to make the lives of those who are sick and less fortunate much more comfortable. The service they provide for people all over the southeast seeking medical treatments at facilities they would otherwise have no or very limited access to, is above and beyond what you could imagine. The people I have had the pleasure to get to know, both in the office and otherwise, because of my involvement with Angel Flight, have given me such a depth of understanding of just what can be accomplished if you can organize the right people. Angel Flight Soars is an organization that I can be proud to be a part of and the individuals they help are lucky to have them as a resource during their times of need. Kudos to Angel Flight!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a pilot for Angel Flight Soars for over 10 years. It is a great organization because of the quality of people in it. The staff are always extremely appreciative and helpful with every mission which makes me want to conduct more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I bought my airplane in 1993. Took a friend for a ride about a month later. He suggested I join a group of volunteer pilots known back then as Angel Flight of Ga., now Angel Flight Soars. My first mission assigned was to take a little two year old and his father to Children's Hospital in Cincinnati. I was hooked!! I've done 89 missions to date. We, the volunteer pilots of AngelFlightSoars, transport patients of all ages to and from medical facilities who, for whatever reason, can't fly commercially. The gratitude shown by our passengers fills my heart with joy every time I climb into my airplane ready to take them wherever they need to go. It is my pleasure to be part of such a REMARKABLE organization being run so well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you are a pilot, you can fly a patient to their lifesaving medical treatment; You can also be an earth angel and help out with fundraisers or administrative duties at our office. Volunteer