Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

AngelCovers is an amazing organisation of volunteers supporting children. This is my way of giving back to the country where my adoptive girls were born. Knowing tha I am supporting minority girls has been wonderful and thanks to the assistance by AngelCovers I was able to meet the current sponsored students last year and my colleagues students and to visit their homes. It was AMAZING - the most amazing feeling was felt with those who had the least - to see them smile despite their difficulties was amazing. And their lifestyle is so simple and yet the hospitality was amazing offering you a homemade tiny stool next to their manure fired fuel stoves with home made breads and yak tea (OK they joke because yak is a male not female, the female yak has a more difficult name us Westerners can't easily say).
I can not say enough good things about AngelCovers and their support of Tibetan girls in their China program - it is top class. They keep focussed on supporting as many students as possible despite the limited facilities.
The hospitality, the anticipation for their futures, the gorgeous mountains, yaks and sheep running along the mountainsides are things I will never forget. And the AngelCover staff are so supportive - thank you Kari, Angela, Rinchen and others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We've supported Angel Covers for many years now. We are on our third college student now and have graduated two doctors! What a difference these girls will make in the world but also change the perspective in their small villages that believes girls should be married off at young ages. Angel Covers definitely has their heart in the right place and communicate well with their donors. I believe the best way to change the world is through education.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2011

Angel Covers is truly a nonprofit foundation. All the work accomplished by this organization is done with volunteers all over the world. I volunteer and regularly donate to this organization becaus... more

October 1, 2013

I've been a fan of this non profit since its inception. They never loose their enthusiasm, drive, and desire to seek out ways to help the suffering and disadvantaged children of the world. It's unbelievable all the good that is happening with a totally volunteer foundation. I know of no other non profit that contributes over 95% of all monies directly to its mission and vision.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2011

Angel Covers is truly a nonprofit foundation. All the work accomplished by this organization is done with volunteers all over the world. I volunteer and regularly donate to this organization because 96% of all monies find their way to children in desperate need throughout the world. The director is in close communication with all persons involved in receiving funds and requires reports and pictures of accomplishments. She in turn reports to an outstanding board of directors concerning how money is spent, the progress of projects, ongoing fund raising, and goals for the future. This foundation was born from a belief that all children, regardless of their circumstances in life, deserve to have hope for their futures. Because of the work of Angel Covers children are realizing hope through educational opportunities, better nutrition, medical help, and nurturing adult influences.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had two outstanding experiences traveling with Kari Fillmore, foundation director. In 2003 I traveled with her to China where we interacted in two separate orphanages providing them with much needed clothing, food, educational toys, etc. In Sept. 2010, I traveled again with Kari to Humble Hearts School for the Deaf located in a slum outside of Nairobi, Kenya. While there I was privileged to help with painting walls and working with students and teachers as I taught new math strategies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Angel Covers does not need to change as much as it needs to expand. With so much need for children in the world, this organization needs many more volunteers so that it can expand and bring further hope to children in destitute areas of the world. One of the greatest needs is for a volunteer grant writer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I spend several hours a week helping with the financial accountability of Angel Covers. If more people would learn of this foundation and it's wonderful work, my vounteer experience as financial secretary would improve by giving even more volunteer hours to recording, categorizing and accounting for more donations.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Look into the eyes of a child as they gaze at themselves on the screen of your digital camera, receive a hug from a child living in a slum as you hand them a new book, read a letter a sponsored child writes to you; then you understand love and compassion. All these and more have had a life changing effect on me!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

HUMBLE!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I discovered Angel Covers while researching my annual holiday charity (something my family does at Christmas in place of exchanging gifts.) I was initially impressed with the fact that 98 percent of the donations go directly to the children. My little girl is Blantina at the Humble Hearts School in Nairobi. I have her smiling photo tacked to my fridge. My monthly donation is automatically taken out of my PayPal account, and each month I get a heartfelt thank you note. When I sent Blantina a package, Ida emailed a personal acknowledgement with photos of the happy recipient holding her items. Helping others through monetary donations does not get any better than this. I intend to sponsor Blantina until she is a successful graduate!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

From my perspective, the organization could not be run more efficiently and in such a personal manner.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

Angel Covers does an amazing job in raising funds for a number of orphanages and other non-profits overseas. All staff are volunteer, so they operate with almost no overhead. In fact, if you donate ... more

September 10, 2013

Angel Covers squeezes more benefit out of each dollar than any organization I've ever encountered. We sponsor a child at Humble Hearts School for the Deaf in Nairobi and every one of our dollars goes directly to that child; no one at Angel Covers takes any salary and other incidental overhead (credit card fees, etc.) are covered by other fund-raising activities. We visited Humble Hearts in 2009 and found the director and staff are incredibly dedicated individuals. Teaching staff is paid, but at rates likely well below the market rates. The school also has a number of outside projects such as raising maize (corn) that help in supporting the school's operations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more funds to serve more deaf children in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2011

Angel Covers does an amazing job in raising funds for a number of orphanages and other non-profits overseas. All staff are volunteer, so they operate with almost no overhead. In fact, if you donate via credit card, the fees they must pay are covered by sale of merchandise on their website, so 100% of your donation goes to the kids in need. Same with other unavoidable expenses like stamps.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the quality education the kids at Humble Hearts were receiving from the very dedicated (and humbly paid) staff at the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand its size so more schools like Humble Hearts could benefit from not only funding but from the very constructive relationship in other ways between the school and Angel Covers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is my wife's and my favorite charity. Their minimal overhead means that the funds go directly where the need is greatest. Their work aiding orphans from around the world is incredible! Kn... more

April 5, 2013

My wife and I are truly amazed at Angel Covers ability to help so many orphans around the world. Their Humble Hearts school in Kenya is a prime example of the ability to turn small donations into magnificent projects for the betterment of the children and the worl.ld

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is my wife's and my favorite charity. Their minimal overhead means that the funds go directly where the need is greatest. Their work aiding orphans from around the world is incredible! Knowing the founder personally, I understand and truly appreciate her commitment to continuing this great charitable effort. Looking forward to going to Kenya some day to actually see the benefit that my donations have made! I am sure that pictures don't do it justice. David and Laureen

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2011

“Angel Covers” started from a vision of two friends that wanted to provide nurturing help to disadvantaged children and to make a difference in the lives of children around the world and that seed... more

November 8, 2012

I am so amazed at what Angel Covers is able to accomplish every year for their Charity. You can truly rest in the truth that when you give to this organization your donation will be used 100% and more to help provide for orphaned and destitute children around the world. Angel Covers staff and their mission is Top Rate and many thanks you to them for all they do for others.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2011

“Angel Covers” started from a vision of two friends that wanted to provide nurturing help to disadvantaged children and to make a difference in the lives of children around the world and that seed of kindness has grown into an amazing non-profit organization that helps care for orphaned and destitute children around the world. It is so amazing to see what “Angel Covers” has done and continues to do for these Children with the donations to the organization. Thank you to “Angel Covers” for their belief that every child deserves access to quality medical care, education, nutrition and housing. They stand by that and continue to make that belief a reality for so many children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through all the website and personal communication they share.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing.

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

I have known about Angle Covers since its humble inception and I am in awe about how it is organized and the work that it accomplishes. Not many charitable organizations can accomplish their goals with an all-volunteer staff but Angle Covers manages to do that very nicely. One always has to wonder how much of what they give actually gets to the folks in need, but no worries with this wonderful organization. They are very careful how your gifts are distributed and travel to the orphanages they support insuring that there is little if any waste. We all understand the need and importance of supporting charities and without question, this group of volunteers will see that your gifts are placed where they can do the most good in orphanages around the world. Try them out as it will make you smile.
JAllen

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Angel Covers is an outstanding non profit that brings hope to so many. So many volunteer and Kari works tirelessly. The lives of many are greatly enhanced due to Angel Covers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

What is not to LOVE about this non profit foundation? With it's overhead of 3% or less, run by all volunteers, it brings hope to impoverished children throughout the world through education, shelter, nutrition, and medical help. The aim of this foundation is to help children in the short term as well as develop self sustaining projects and life changing skills. Since its inception in 2001, the board of exceptional professionals has directed donations and established programs for children in Africa, China, and Tibet as well as contributed needed supplies in many other regions of the world. I am proud to be both a volunteer and donor to the Angel Covers foundation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

create brochures, throw a party, research grants, or help with direct program development. Volunteer